We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice. Very nice!”
Review of Hotel Eden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Eden
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2014

This hotel really is a pearl. It's outdoor area is large and feels luxurious. Pool, beach and garden harmonious and nice. The smell of pines and carefully planned herb garden. Sea water is nice. The hotel is cheaper than her larger "sister" Lone. As a guest you get to use all facilities in both hotels. Service personnel are nice in both hotels; you are the one of their attention. Spa in Lone is outstanding. Food is exquisite. Prices are nice in restaurants, although a little more expensive than restaurants in the beautiful city of Rovinj. It takes 15 minutes to walk into the city - a nice (clean) promenade though. There is one word describing this: Absolutely Fantastic!

Rent a bike at the hotel and cycle a couple of kilometers; nice cliffs and swimming possibilities -all to yourself. Very nice.

I'll return for sure - I'm impressed.

Room Tip: There are rooms with ocean view - and some without... If that matters ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toneschj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mladen B, General Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Toneschj,
thank you very much for your review. It is our great pleasure to see that you had a wonderful time in our hotel. We look forward to seeing you back in Rovinj soon.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,017)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 1,017 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2014

Last week, my boyfriend and I stayed a week at Hotel Eden. We were immediately amazed by the fancy outdoor area: a big swimming pool surrounded by trees and with relaxing music. No annoying animation for the children, no fighting for sunbeds, friendly staff at the pool bar and towel service. We simply loved it!

The hotel is a 20min walk from the old town of Rovinj. It's a cozy town with plenty of art shops and the view you have from the top is definitely worth the climb! Tip: be sure that your shoe soles are not too slippery, or else it might be a risky descent!

Buses are the best way to travel through Istria. Name a city and there's a bus going to it (no joking, they have buses to Frankfurt, Budapest, Sofia,...). In Rovinj, we took the bus to Porec (a 40min ride, but apart from the basilica, there's not much to see) and there we took the bus to Pula. In other words: it's possible to do both towns in one day.

The other day, we took a bus to Triest. The trip went as planned, until we arrived at the Slovenian border control. When we had to show our passports, we realised that the reception at the hotel still had them. Result: we were forbidden to enter the country. After a whole afternoon of autostop (we were in the middle of nowhere) and a busride back, I decided to report this at the reception. It was partly of our own fault: we knew about the severe border control. On the other hand, why did they still have our passports? Without warning, they took them off at the check-in, but as there was a long queue behind us and as they gave us quickly 4 other cards (room- & towelcard), we totally forgot about it. Anyway, when I told her about our 'adventure', the receptionist simply said "yeah, it's like that" and gave our passports back. Not even a "sorry". No need to say that we were a bit disappointed.

For a good description of the unfriendly staff and the poor food, read Tripstaker's comment. It's describes exactly how we thought about it!

Overall experience: the outdoor area and location are the best parts of hotel Eden. Since the pools and beach are shared with the hotel next to Eden (hotel Lone, five stars), save some money and go there instead of staying at hotel Eden!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Segolene_db
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mladen B, General Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear xSegolicious,
thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay at Hotel Eden. I am very sorry to hear you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay and I apologize to you for these matters. All your comments have been noted and each will be addressed. Thank you for your kind compliments regarding the outdoor area. We hope you will consider staying with us again.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

A good hotel for a recommendation An excellent hotel in a beautiful location. A little slow staff. Room at altitude, lack of evening entertainment. More near, the old city on the twenty minute walk. A lot of pine trees around the hotel gives a feeling of freshness and sultry summer evenings. A well-maintained hotel, recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dubravko Č
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mladen B, General Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear Dubravko Č,
thank you for your recent visit and your review. We are really glad to read of your satisfaction with your stay at Hotel Eden. We look forward to welcoming you back soon again.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I have no cons about this hotel! its a great 4 star hotel. its located at the end of a port/harbour and next to a national park.
THE RESORT OF ROVINJ- it takes about 20-30mins to walk to the centre, but along the way you have a nice promenade. you also pass various restaurants/bars/ports/harbours and shops. you can stop along the way or go to a nearer bar/restaurant/shops about 5 minutes walk away. the resort centre is lovely, and you can find various trips from there too. everything seems quite cheap too (drink and food wise) also they were all friendly everywhere we went!
HOTEL EDEN- I love where this hotel is, on the edge of a national park along with it being a short walk from the centre along the beach/promenade. The park is lovely and you have a few different walks to do or bike rides.
the BEACH is new, its a pebble beach but lots of sunbeds and clean/tidy. clear water.
the POOL area is also new and is lovely too, set in the middle of the green/grass area its a large pool spilt on two levels and the surrounding is nice big trees. lots of sunbeds and umbrellas/shade etc can be find.
the hotel is clean and tidy, and the staff were all friendly and helpful. a special mention to ARIJAN who we did archery with, we found he was very friendly and talkative and also knew many languages.
also another special mention to GIANCARLO the Thomson rep - he was very helpful and gave us lots of information about the area.
the FOOD was good, I am fussy but my husband who isn't said it was really nice and liked the choices. we also had a couple of trips and couldn't make breakfast one day and dinner another day. we found a breakfast package that was huge waiting for us in the morning to take with us (we pre ordered) and had lots of food in it. and the dinner (again pre ordered) was left in our room for us to return. it was well presented and again lots there.
we eat at the SNACK/POOL Restaurant - it gets very busy at lunch time and people were waiting for seats- they seem to have quite a lot of room though that they could have used but it actually felt nice not being squashed in and seating on each others laps! - I would say the food was ok but not anything more than ok/average. the setting was nice and modern.
I cant say much about the evening entertainment- as the world cup was on they didn't have much entertainment on but showed the football on a large screen. one night there wasn't football and they had a Beatles band. we didn't stay but heard them in passing and they seemed good.
overall I would say this was a great 4 star hotel in a lovely resort - I would recommend it too friends.
people mentioned on here a lot of the guests being old (over 65's) I would say as it was coming in to season it was more of a mixture and didn't really notice too much.
the hotel shares its pool with hotel lone that is next door (they share the outside surroundings) and there was a large mixture of different people and ages around the pool/bar areas.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tash_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mladen B, General Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear tash_7,
thank you for your detailed feedback and kind comments regarding our hotel and staff. I am delighted to read about your enjoyable vacation with us in Rovinj and I will ensure our team members are acknowledged for their wonderful service. We look forward to having you back with us again.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Whether you like this hotel will depend on the value you place on swimming and a great location.
A beautiful new pools complex and sunbed area is the stuff of dreams here. The spotless little pebble beach completes the idyll and 20 minutes easy walking to Rovinj, along a brand new promenade, all rate a high five.

BUT if good food floats your boat, then reconsider!

Eating here is a joyless experience, with all the charm of a works canteen – minus the warmth! There’s something unmistakeably austere about this dining room and the servers clear around guests as if hardly registering they’re there. I’ve never stayed anywhere where the waiting staff was so grim faced and unsmiling. They don’t engage with guests and talk only to each other.
No sense of hospitality comes across.
There wasn’t even music to lighten the mood.
The range at breakfast and dinner is limited and the quality is four floors below adequate. This food tastes like it’s from the Value Range somewhere. Expect cloudy brown OJ, cheap cereals, bitter coffee and tinned fruit cocktail in place of fresh fruit salad. The quality of the food is poor and nothing has any taste.

The toasting machine works well. Beyond that, on a scale of 1 to 5 I’d give the food here a 2, because the bread and butter were nice enough.
The reception and housekeeping teams are well up to speed but the dining room lets the whole side down and is clearly not a happy work place.
We forgave a lot because of the location and the matchless pools but if food matters, the quality here is dire so prepare to be uninspired.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tripstaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mladen B, General Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear Tripstaker,
thank you for your recent visit and your review. We are sorry that you were not impressed with your experience during your stay with us. We always aim to ensure every guest enjoys their stay and we regret that on this occasion you were less than satisfied. Your feedback is important to us as it helps us to improve our service standards. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Wonderful staff. My husband suffered an injury to his knee while we were there. Many thanks to Daniel who helped with taxis to hospitals, translation of medical reports and even produced a wheelchair. All the hotel staff helped make a horrible time a lot more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beanyowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mladen B, General Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear Beanyowl,
thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff and I hope your husband is feeling better now. I will ensure Daniel and other team members are acknowledged for their wonderful service.
We look forward to having you back with us again.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Great thing about this hotel is that it is in business share with other new one beside itself, so those two share great location and outside pool, cool beach and some other goods like great great garden in front to rest your body and soul.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KomarR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mladen B, General Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear KomarR,
thank you for your recent visit and your review. We are really glad to read of your satisfaction with your stay at Hotel Eden. We look forward to welcoming you back soon again.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rovinj hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lone
Hotel Lone
#4 of 23 in Rovinj
1,463 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
833 reviews
1.2 mi away
Island Hotel Istra
Island Hotel Istra
#5 of 23 in Rovinj
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Island Hotel Katarina
Island Hotel Katarina
#8 of 23 in Rovinj
254 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#2 of 23 in Rovinj
283 reviews
2.2 mi away
Family Hotel Amarin
Family Hotel Amarin
#3 of 23 in Rovinj
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden

Address: Ulica Luje Adamovica - Via Lujo Adamovic 33, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rovinj
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rovinj
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range: $88 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eden 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel of a unique position, premium service and rich tradition. Situated in the shade of the centuries-old Park Forest Zlatni Rt. The bay and beach are accessible through abundant greenery, a luscious lawn and beautiful outdoor swimming pools. Hotel Eden provides its guests with the opportunity to enjoy the all-round peace and relaxed atmosphere. It is characterized by exceptional quality and rich equipment of the rooms, ample and pleasant public areas, and terraces offering spectacular views. The hotel was last renovated in 2006 (halls and accommodation units). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splitty, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Hotel Rovinj
Hotel Eden Rovinj

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing