We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday”
Review of Hotel Eden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Eden
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Certificate of Excellence
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Myself and my wife went to Rovinj from 14th-24 September. The Hotel Eden was excellent and we could have not wanted anymore from it. We stayed half board and for breakfast and evening meal there was a great selection always of a very high standard. We were lucky enough to have a room overlooking the grounds and swimming pool which was superb.
All of the staff were both helpful and very professional and I would to thank them for that. Rovinj itself is a stunning town and is captivating with it's narrow cobbled streets with a photo opportunity around every corner. Many of the streets lead up to St Euphemia Church, we worth a visit, you can actually climb up the bell tower and it is certainly worth doing as the views are stunning. Don't be up there on the hour, that is when the bells toll. There are many bars and a very varied choice of Restaurants, something for everyone. We found one called Balbi in the Piassa Grande which was outstanding. Rovinj also boasts an excellent harbour with many cafe's around it, we often just sat and watched the world go by.
All in all a fabulous holiday, we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GarBev2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    415
    120
    21
    16
See reviews for
235
479
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This was our first visit to Croatia and we had heard good reports of the country beforehand but were still apprehensive whether we would disappointed. We needed have worried, both the hotel and the country were everything we hoped for. The hotel provided excellent accommodation and service. The food both at breakfast and for the evening meal provided something for all tastes and was varied and plentiful. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The facilities at the hotel were great with super pool plus excellent spa with indoor pool. I enjoyed a lovely pedicure whilst there. The walk into Rovinj along the coastal path was really pretty and most enjoyable whilst the town was a delight to explore with lots of narrow streets and shops galore. Although we were there in July and it was really busy it was spotlessly clean everywhere and felt a really safe environment for families to enjoy .The sunsets were beautiful and cameras were very much in evidence . We would definitely go back to Rovinj and to the Hotel Eden with its perfect location and beautiful grounds. Thanks to all who helped make our holiday so enjoyable !

Room Tip: We asked for a high sea view room which we got and were delighted with
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I have mixed feelings about Hotel Eden. I have been reading all the reports on tripadvisor so I was well informed. Upon arrival We had to wait for our room to be cleaned, which was not a problem as we waited at the bar in the hotel. The Hotel (inside) does not have any draught beer so we went to the swimming pool bar. The beer at the hotel is expensive, so a walk along to the bars on the seafront is a must. The room was clean ,tidy & had a good shower, but the balcony is small . There is a fridge in the room stocked with drinks, again the drinks are expensive. We bought our own drinks & put them in the fridge. There are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room, but you can have room service bring your drinks to you (for a charge).
The resturant I thought was excellent, breakfasts were exceptional, with food for all tastes.
The evening sitting for dinner was good , again there is food for all tastes. if you have any drinks with your main meal you will have to pay for them. ( drinks at breakfast are free ).
The swimming pool area has been renovated & is brilliant! We never seen any "towels on the beds" but we were in the last week of their season! The grass area outside the hotel had sunbeds all around & the trees acted as natural brollies.
The hotel itself is situated next to a National Park, which is well worth a visit if you like walking or cycling. You can hire bikes from the hotel (80 kunas for the day, roughly £10).
We walked or cycled around the park for a few hours most days, even in the rain!
Rovinj is a nice walk after dinner & is well worth a visit.
As it was the last week of their season when we stayed & their were fewer people there every day & they were running out of beer , it felt like the end of season blues. However I would reccomend staying at the Hotel Eden.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robkimNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks at the end of august, the hotel is in a excellent location the walk to Rovinj centre takes about 15 to 20 minutes taking in pretty views out to the sea. The Hotel is very well presented and every area is spotlessly clean. We were welcomed on arrival at the hotel with drinks. Rooms - We stayed in room 118 The room was spacious for 2 people with very comfortable twin beds, and a small sofa bed settee, the TV is small and has only BBC world news in English, Wifi is free you need to get a code from reception and this is valid for 14 days we found it was hit and miss in our room but for the most part it worked ok. The bathroom is small but had plenty of space to put toiletries, wardrobes 2 small ones with 5 coat hangers in each. The safe is free of charge, rooms were cleaned daily. Food - we were on a half board basis food is served in the main restaurant in the lobby area and is of buffet style, the choice was fantastic breakfast you could have toast, pastries, bacon, egg, omelette ,cheeses, meats, fruit, yogurt, cereals, Evening meals varied every night with lots of options, there was a large salad selection, a soup starter main dish options were fish and different meat dishes including lamb, duck, veal, pork, beef with a selection of vegetables and potatoes, a different pasta dish every night, pizza and chips were also served. Dessert was a variety of cakes, ice cream and mousse we never got bored of the food on offer and it was always cooked well and tasted delicious. Drinks were served at your table by the waiter. Through the day time if you want a bite to eat you have various options, the vitality bar which serves sandwiches pastries and has a massive drinks menu, a main restaurant by the pool that does delicious pizzas sandwiches or main meals, a snack bar by the pool that serves ice cream and sandwiches. Any meals, drinks, ice creams you have from any eatery in the hotel can be either paid by cash or put on your room bill to be paid at the end of your holiday. The pool was amazing as were the sun bathing areas you could chose pool side sun beds or grass area plenty of space with plenty of beds, pool towels are provided. To the left of the hotel there is a national forest which is lovely with stunning views out to sea, you can sun bathe have a drink or food in one of the café bars or just have a leisurely stroll. Rovinj - the town is absolutely beautiful you can have a leisurely stroll around or you can sit by the harbour and enjoy a meal, a drink or ice cream and watch the world go by. The old town is so pretty with narrow streets and picturesque old buildings, the cobbles are very shiny and can be slippery we just wore our flip flops and were fine, but you do have to be steady whilst walking as some areas are quite steep. The walk to the church is a must as is a visit to the top of the tower, the stairs are very steep and it is only thin wooden slats to walk on that again are very shiny it's a fair trek to the top but once you're there the views are amazing. Shopping- the market is on every day most stalls sell the same, jewellery, neck scarves, bags, cups and mobile phone covers, however it's well worth a visit as it is lovely to walk around. Most shops in the old town are of art and jewellery, the main shopping strip consists of bags, clothes and shoes and souvenirs these are all small independent shops with a lot of beautiful hand crafted items. Overall we had a fabulous holiday in a fantastic hotel in a beautiful resort with lots happy memories.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CazWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mladen B, General Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear CazWestYorkshire,
thank you for your recent visit and your review. It is our great pleasure to see that you had a wonderful time in our hotel. We look forward to seeing you back in Rovinj soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed for two weeks end May/early June 2013 this being our second visit to Croatia. Although brochures and web sites give you an indication of what to expect; there is always the feeling of potential disappointment as the airport transfer coach gets nearer to the hotel. Absolutely not so in this case. The approach off the main road is into a well presented large spacious lawn and tree area with extensive car parking. The rooms and public areas are very clean. Towels and bed linen are changed frequently. Lovely extensive lawn gardens to the rear with plenty of sun loungers. Good outside swimming pool area plus indoor pool and fitness centre. Gardens go down to seawater edge with a pleasant walk either one way into town (15mins) or the other way into a pleasant protected wooded park area with cycle and walking paths. Do not expect high class entertainment and the large dining room gets very busy for the buffet style food. The food is plentiful if rather repetitive. All in all a good hotel for relaxation and local amenities.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlook the car park and front gardens and have morning sun. Rooms at the back o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lowlander09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mladen B, General Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear lowlander09,
thank you very much for your review. We are really glad to read of your satisfaction with your stay at Hotel Eden. We look forward to seeing you back in Rovinj soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Just spent a week in the Hotel Eden - wish it could have been longer...

Built in the 70s and set on the edge of a national park the hotel is a short walk from the sea and a leisurely 15 -20 minutes stroll to the centre of Rovinj itself.

As a usually quite dry area (compared to the UK!) the rooms, facilities and grounds are exceptionally clean. All the staff are quite friendly and many engaged in conversation and jokes on a regular basis, despite the obvious language barriers.

The week we stayed was just days after the heaviest rain for a decade. The only outstanding problem from this downpour was the indoor pool being closed. A problem? No way! The outdoor salt-water pool area is excellent!

There is much to do if you actually want to do something. The options are not thrust in your face but are there if you look. Hire a bike for an hour for a few quid, take a dancing or archery lesson, walk the forrest paths, visit the beautiful town of Rovinj, sample the regions wines and countryside, take a trip to Pula or Porec, the list goes on...

Only a fussy eater could find anything wrong with the food. The buffet service allowed for dozens of combinations on the plate with every day bringing options for typical British meals for those with a restricted pallette and a range of local and regional foods for those who realise they are in a foreign country along side people from other countries.

The only time there was any problem was when an entire party of some 20 to 30 German tourists decended on the dining room at once, running the staff off their feet for some 20 minutes!

However, if you want a rich nightlife, disco and wall to wall action this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mladen B, General Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Neil R,
thank you for your detailed feedback and kind comments regarding our hotel and staff. I am delighted to read about your enjoyable vacation with us in Rovinj.
We look forward to having you back with us again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleaford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Just returned for a wonderful week at this hotel. Lets be clear, if you are looking for fun filled nightlife, top of the range amenities and activities from dusk till dawn then you are going to be disapointed. However, if you are looking for a clean, comfortable, relaxing, friendly hotel you cant go wrong. We were lucky, it was beautiful weather, however the indoor pool wasnt working due to the worse rain they have had in twn years a frew days before we arrived. Hardly their fault!
We cant fault the food, the choice was amazing! and the saltwater pools are a piece of heaven themselves. If the entertainment laid on each evening had been a bit more varied and the air conditioning worked better, this would have been a five stars from us. It has been 20 years since I was last in this part of the world, and then I had lived there for 18 months. I went back worried that memories were making me think Rovinj was better than it actually is, all I can say is Ive falled in love with the area again and my stay at the Eden contributed. Thank you, I wont be leaving it 20 years before coming back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mladen B, General Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Helen M,
thank you for your recent visit and your review. It is our great pleasure to see that you had a wonderful time in our hotel. We look forward to seeing you back in Rovinj soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rovinj hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
721 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lone
Hotel Lone
#3 of 23 in Rovinj
1,311 reviews
1.2 mi away
Island Hotel Istra
Island Hotel Istra
#5 of 23 in Rovinj
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Resort Amarin
Resort Amarin
#15 of 23 in Rovinj
262 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#2 of 23 in Rovinj
231 reviews
0.6 mi away
Island Hotel Katarina
Island Hotel Katarina
#10 of 23 in Rovinj
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden

Property: Hotel Eden
Address: Ulica Luje Adamovica - Via Lujo Adamovic 33, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rovinj
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rovinj
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eden 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel of a unique position, premium service and rich tradition. Situated in the shade of the centuries-old Park Forest Zlatni Rt. The bay and beach are accessible through abundant greenery, a luscious lawn and beautiful outdoor swimming pools. Hotel Eden provides its guests with the opportunity to enjoy the all-round peace and relaxed atmosphere. It is characterized by exceptional quality and rich equipment of the rooms, ample and pleasant public areas, and terraces offering spectacular views. The hotel was last renovated in 2006 (halls and accommodation units). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Hotel Rovinj
Hotel Eden Rovinj

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing