We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great find” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Eden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Eden
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A great find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We booked to go to the Eden with Thomson in 2011 and found it to be good value and in a superb location, as far as we were concerned. The hotel is on Lone Bay less than a mile from the centre of Rovinj (a pleasant stroll in the evening). It is on the edge of a "Natural Park", which is heavily wooded but has cycle paths criss-crossing it. The hotel facilities are excellent and the staff are very helpful. There is both an indoor pool and a large outdoor pool, which was shared with the new 5* Lone hotel, last summer. There is no sandy beach but there are lots of rocky platforms along the coast and the hotel has extensive lawns with sun beds.

I think that The Eden would suit families with children and older couples. It is a peaeful spot but only a twenty miute walk from the centre of Rovinj, which is a delightful old venetian town.

We were so impressd that we returned to the Eden again last year, something we rarely do.

Room Tip: We have had a room looking out over the garden and the sea and a room at the back, overlookig garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank dgmason519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    392
    115
    21
    16
See reviews for
221
452
16
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Spring Lake, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Very nice , large but quiet hotel, good service, clean room, great food,
mostly middle to older guests taking tours in Istria
Location excellent, town about one mile, overlooking the beach. Tennis courts walking distance,pool, dance at night. Short trips to other seaside towns near by.

Room Tip: Book eafrly for good room and specify as many rates are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bertalan1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

If you are looking for 5 star comfort and luxury, the Eden is not for you. If you want a modest, well run and spotlessly clean hotel, it will meet your needs. My wife and I holidayed there during the last week of September and had a really pleasant stay. The food was good, not brilliant but good and more than adequate. And the wines aren't bad either - quite a nice surprise, in fact.
The staff were efficient and helpful (although, as seems to be the Croatian habit, you need to ask but then you are served promptly and with pleasure).
The Eden Hotel has a good size outdoor pool and a nice heated indoor pool (with adjoining spa and therapy rooms).
The hotel is set within its own grounds on the edge of a coastal parkland and a healthy 20 minute walk from the ton square. So if you like an after dinner stroll, you can amble along the promenade taking in the vista across the harbour and bay along the way.
Likewise, if you like walking along beautiful coastal pathways with lots of bathing points along the way, your needs will be met. You can also hire bicycles at the hotel to ride around the coastal parkland.
As for Rovinj itself, it is a charming little town with a number of modest attractions. Shopping is as you might expect in a town with a winter population of about 10,000, however there are 87 restaurants to make up for any shortcomings on the retail side.
A number of excursions are available (including to Venice and Zagreb). Having visited both in the past, we confined ourselves to the Istrian peninsula.
Bad points? None that I can recall. Before booking, we read the Trip Advisor reviews and having experienced the place can say we were comfortable, well fed and content. Some of the less charmed reporters must be miserable or unlucky or both. Oh, yes that reminds me one poor point. The restaurant only serves bottled water for which you have to pay, which I felt was a poor show and just encouraged me to drink more wine than perhaps I should.
The Eden Hotel is not a 5 star establishment but I would be more than happy to stay there again, And again!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room - these overlook the parkland of the hotel grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Buccleuch69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on the way to Slovenia and wished we hadn't.

For a four star hotel we expected much better. On first appearance this place looks really nice in the lobby etc, but that was it. We were really disappointed with the room - we've stayed in bigger and better travel lodges in the uk.

We purposely chose this hotel for the pool and spa, but this was awful. Silly things like no bathrobes in the rooms so you had to dress after your swim when normally you'd be able to return to your room in a bathrobe. We asked reception who told us there were robes available in the spa but there wasn't, and not a member of staff in sight to even ask. The pool was very average, cold and busy, and the changing rooms were dirty, the showers were appalling - I had to try two to find one working, and even then the head fell down whilst using it, and i had to turn it off half way through washing my hair to let the water drain away as the shower tray was about to overflow. Don't even get me started on the ineffectual hair dryers...

After spending a lovely evening in Rovinj we walked the 15 min walk back to the hotel only to hear from at least 50m away, loud music coming from the function room of the hotel. This would've been fine if you could put the AC on in your room and block the noise out by closing the balcony door. Unfortunately, you could still hear the music at 1am despite the door being closed, and the AC was not working. We complained to reception twice only to be told the AC only worked when the door was shut - this was a total lie as I'm currently lying in room 533's bed, with the door shut, no AC, and listening to seriously bad music.

Oh and whilst getting ready for bed I pulled the towel off the towel rail to wipe my face - only to have the rail fall off onto my foot.

The same day as we booked this hotel, it was recommended to us by some Istrian friends to try out the neighbouring 5* Hotel Lone. We now wish we had. Rovinj is beautiful and we will definitely be back, but certainly not to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hpearse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maistra-Croatia, General Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Ms. Pearse,

Thank you for your review. Despite the overall score and really not nice title that you gave us, I was disappointed to read that your stay was not as good as I was hoping. First of all, at your arrival you didn't recive a comfortable room that you wanted ,so it's a pitty you didn't ask immediately at the reception desk and they 'll offer you changing the room. We have a mixture of available size our rooms and some are better than others. Unfortunately we don't provide using bathrobes in our room, we have bathrobes in the Spa centar, and I'm truly apologize that you didin't find our staff there, probably they had some treatment.

I was disappointed to read that you had troubles with our showers and hair dryser in your room. I sincerely apologise that we were unable to give you the service that you expected.
Please be assured that the room issues will be addressed with the Housekeeping Manager.
Regarding the loud music, that weekend we had organised evening entertaiment in our restaurant, but everytime if we had some complaints because of the noise we can find some quieter room on the other side of hotel.
Regarding the AC in your room, I'll address all your complaints to our Technical service Manager so they can check.
I'm really sorry for all this inconveniences. The team here are all aware of your comments and we will do our best in beating your expectations in the near future. I hope we have that pleasure.


Yours sincerely,

Nada Petrović Stepanov
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We have recently returned from the Eden Hotel, this is a lovely, clean friendly hotel which I throughly recommend. The staff are friendly and helpful, the hotel is clean, comfortable and situated in lovely surroundings. If I could fault the hotel at all, it would be that the meals did become a bit repeatitive after a while, however we found some gorgeous restaurants in the town, which were worth visiting. The hotel is about a 15 min walk from the hotel,along the coast and harbour.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lornaWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Very nice hotel in superb position next to a forested nature reserve & leisurely stroll along the shoreline to the lovely old town of Rovinj. Staff very hard working & friendly especially Nedan one of the animators whose guided walks in the forest, guided free trip to offshore Red Island, archery, rifle shooting & boules tuition made our holiday. His 'comedy role' in Mama Mia was a gem!! Extensive grounds to hotel, masses of sunbeds, nice indoor pool & small jacuzzi. The huge outdoor pool is being rebuilt for 2013 & by all accounts will be a stunning 3 pool area (the existing pool is the largest I have ever seen). Lots to do here. Nice gym, nice Spa (but I didn't get time to try it), table tennis, tennis courts over the road, rent Segways or bikes. Distinct lack of lunchtime fare at the hotel itself - only cheese/ham toasties or cheese/ham roll & a few pastries on offer. You could get a hamburger at the cafe in the forest but that was a fair walk away & the cafe by the outdoor pool only did main meals at lunchtime. There are a couple of small supermarkets about 8 mins walk away but they didn't have much in the way of snacks. You certainly won't go hungry in the main buffet style restaurant & although there was a good choice of food for all courses the food was never that hot & somehow lukewarm roast beef & gravy doesn't have much appeal. I have never been a fan of 'hot' buffet food & I know that continentals do not like their food too hot but I & the three others in my party found this aspect rather disappointing. It was the end of season so maybe there were staffing problems which caused this. The cooked to order omelettes & fried eggs at breakfast were the best hot choice but the very fatty bacon was not to our liking. You don't get any coffee after dinner unless you purchase it from the bar. The rooms were very nice with flat screen TV, minibar, very comfy beds with duvets, phone, sofa & two chairs plus table, balcony table & two chairs. Quiet air con. Nice bathroom BUT the bath is very deep & the shower is in the bath so you had to be very careful getting in & out & there was nothing to hold onto. We heard that some people had managed to get a step to help them & there maybe other rooms that have lower baths/showers. I would email the hotel if you have mobility difficulties. Everything in and around the hotel is spotlessly clean. Our rep Shirley from Thomson Holidays was superb. Overall we had a splendid relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the outdoor pool can be noisy if there is a late night show & you want to slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AnekaSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

This was our first visit to Croatia. The hotel and its location exceeded our expectations. Like other Tripadvisor reviewers you will not be disappointed. The hotel food was excellent. The staff were very friendly. The setting was perfect for relaxing or strolling in the adjacent park or a short walk to Rovinj. We stayed for a week half board from 25th September 2012 so the weather was not too hot. Temperatures during the day were about 24 degrees and sitting outside at night was comfortable. However if you like to swim brace yourself for a cool dip in the pools.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank brewpots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maistra-Croatia, General Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is a great pleasure for us to read that you really enjoyed your stay particularly because it was your first time here . We thank you for your great feedback. Such positive reviews do motivate us even more to provide our best service to our guests every day. We are glad to welcome our dear guests with a wide range of services and we are happy to read your appreciation.

We hope you had a safe trip back home and we are looking forward to your next stay with us!

Yours sincerely,

Nada Petrović Stepanov
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rovinj hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
5.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lone
Hotel Lone
#3 of 23 in Rovinj
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
1.3 mi away
Island Hotel Istra
Island Hotel Istra
#5 of 23 in Rovinj
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#2 of 23 in Rovinj
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.6 mi away
Island Hotel Katarina
Island Hotel Katarina
#10 of 23 in Rovinj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arupinum
Hotel Arupinum
#9 of 23 in Rovinj
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden

Property: Hotel Eden
Address: Ulica Luje Adamovica - Via Lujo Adamovic 33, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rovinj
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rovinj
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eden 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel of a unique position, premium service and rich tradition. Situated in the shade of the centuries-old Park Forest Zlatni Rt. The bay and beach are accessible through abundant greenery, a luscious lawn and beautiful outdoor swimming pools. Hotel Eden provides its guests with the opportunity to enjoy the all-round peace and relaxed atmosphere. It is characterized by exceptional quality and rich equipment of the rooms, ample and pleasant public areas, and terraces offering spectacular views. The hotel was last renovated in 2006 (halls and accommodation units). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Hotel Rovinj
Hotel Eden Rovinj

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing