We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Atmosphere”
Review of Tipico Old Town

Tipico Old Town
Ranked #7 of 177 Restaurants in Rovinj
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Traditional Istrian cuisine with modern twist . We are closed for the season. We open 1st of April 2016.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level Contributor
129 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Friendly Atmosphere”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We tried this restaurant from the high rating from TripAdvisor. The people were very nice and took an interest in us. The food was a little better than average. I must admit that we didn't like the food in Croatia. We love Italian cooking and couldn't wait to get to Italy. If you like fresh fish, go there.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Renato7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    594
    194
    76
    25
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“nice atmosphere, great food”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Tipico is a charming restaurant and one of the few places in Rovinj that has kept it's charm and originality instead of being yet another tourist attraction with the same food and setting. Don't let it's simple facade mislead you, inside you'll find an elegant, yet simple setting and a feel-good atmosphere. Even if the menu is a little smaller than in other restaurants, the better it is. A small menu is usually a sign for good food and that you will get at Tipico, plus the service is great;) So go on and check it out, you won't regret it!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ManonCaillou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hmm bad”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Dont waste your money and time there! There is so many more beautiful places with great food , and bigger choice of fish and meet.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank john467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“An excellent choice off the poor fish grill path”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I liked this place so much I went back a second night. The coffee here is superb. The prices are great for the standard. Darijo has previously worked in Ireland and presents meals at a western standard.

The variety of traditional and modern cuisine was excellent. Darijo provides all service, so he is not always in front of you to refill glasses etc, but no request will go unanswered. I actually like this less in your face service.

Best food I had on all of Croatia (and Montenegro). And the most affordable in reference to standards.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Busybeejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Food was really average and small size for that price . Server was kind a slow and irritating with questions.for these prices you can have much much better food in town. Also atmosphere is so cold and borring.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank eliiio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tipico Old Town also viewed

 
Rovinj, Istria
 

Been to Tipico Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing