We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem”
Review of Camp Ulika Rovinj

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camp Ulika Rovinj
Ranked #4 of 216 Specialty Lodging in Rovinj
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

When you walk through the neighbouring enormous campsite (Polari) en route to the beach, you realise how right you were to book a pitch at Ulica. There are only 23 pitches for motorhomes, caravans and tents and the site has been beautifully landscaped with countless trees, shrubs and flowers enabling each pitch to feel very private. there is even a very pretty pool area (the pool is about 15m long, enough for length swimming if you are so inclined) and there are a good number of comfortable loungers for guest use. Near the pool is a lovely bar and excellent restaurant - Barba Danilo is more than a cut above your standard campsite fare, as evidenced by the large number of locals and visitors from other campsites who ate there during our 10 day stay. The shower/toilet block is kept immaculately clean and although there were only 3 showers in both the male and female sides, neither me nor my husband ever had to wait. The water is hot and very powerful.
There were only two downsides: 1 - no washing machine, and after 3 weeks of touring I had saved up a good bagful of laundry. However there were 4 sinks for hand-washing (no plugs, so take a universal plug or a big bucket) and after a quick turn through the mangle my washing took no time to dry.
2 - There was nowhere to empty our waste water. There is a designated place in a car park in Rovinj but because of buses parked nearby we could not access it and had to take our grey water all the way to Slovenia with us (where we had to pay 8 euros to empty it at a Stellplatz before travelling on!)
Despite these negatives I have to give Camp Ulika 5 stars because everything else about the place was perfec, and the staff were really friendly and helpful. At about £14 per night for the two of us, plus motorhome, plus hook-up in early June, it was a bargain. If you want to try it make sure you book in advance - they were turning away many who turned up on spec.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
31
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We absolutely loved the peaceful, friendly atmosphere at this small camp site. We were the only British family there, but it made no difference, all the kids played together - and our 11 year old daughter is now determined to learn German at school so she can go back and talk to her friends there next year.

The facilities are basic - compared to the (ghastly) mega camp down the road, there aren't any - but there's just enough. The kids enjoyed just hanging out, being outside, with freedom to roam. There's an above ground pool when it gets really hot, swings and best of all - outdoor space.

It was very nice that such a casual campsite had rather a sophisticated restaurant on it - as it meant I could have my Aperol Spritz every evening with plenty of ice in a nice glass.

But the thing that made this trip so great were Sara and Martina, who run the office. They are on site from 7am to 11pm and nothing is too much trouble for them - and they never forget when they have promised to do something. By the end they felt like friends. We would love to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggieA333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We spent almost 2 weeks at Ulika with our 2 Girls (6 and 9 yrs old). Already while booking online we exchanged about 15 e mails with the staff because I had so many questions concerning the camping place, the booking, the plot. Every single question was answered fast, friendly and with a lot of thought. by the staff.What can I say they earned their Money already beforehand and I thought this much Attention already beforehand would have been impossible at a big camping place. So our stay was really very nice. Ulika is great for Kids up to 10 or so. Our 6 yr old could go in the morning alone to the playground, showering etc. The place is small and feels homey and like a beautiful tended garden. The Kids Corner is great and our kinds found friends to play with. There were about 15 kids there at the time so nobody gets lost. So the staff is friendly, the place clean, we had a lot of shadow, fresh air because of the many trees, friendly neighbors at all times, quiet after 11 pm, the Restaurant is great Food, a bit too expensive for us to eat there all the time, but the atmosphere of the beautifule and romantic Restaurant Setting enhances the atmosphere of Ulika Camping. Polari, the big Camping around the Corner is llike Ballermann on Mallorca, lots of noise, dried grass fields, beer at midday, noise at night... Polar is good for the big pool once in a while and its Supermarket. Bring bikes because you can go alonside the beach wonderful with the bikes towards Rovinje with many swim Points in beetween. Cycling in our bathing clothes alongside the coast was great. Cyclepath is good also for Ages 8/9 yrs olds and older. Real bike tours are also possible in the fields and hills and well equipped with direction signs. That is fun too, but not in midday heat. We also visited Mutovan, a very nice hill village with fairlý reasonable truffle oil Prices and great atmosphere.The only negative Point is the road alongside Ulika where there is in high season motorbyke and car traffic also at night. Bring your favorite earplugs and all is good. In Croatia earplug choice is limited. All was great but the road. We can truthfully and honestly recommend the place and wish all the People there who made our vacation so nice many well wishes. Thank you. PS: Kids poo is also great

Room Tip: Shadow is important and Refrigerator is at Kids Corner if that is important tu use, street noise is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bettina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We spent there only a week but we felt in love with this camping. Great small campsite with a fascinting atmosphere, the most friendly staff you can only imagine and very clean. A place where we will be back for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sebastian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Nice small and quite campsite between Rovinj centre and the large campsite Polari. You can enjoy the beach facilities of the large campsite, while benefiting from a quite camp ground. The facilities were simple but sufficient. Although frequently cleaned, sometimes the toilets were a bit dirty. We had a very large spot in the shade.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pveldhoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s,hertogenbosch the netherland,s
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

On this always clean litle campsite away from the noisy big campsite,s on the beach we did
enjoy several time,s our vacation in a welness off rest.The pure nature or culture is everywere surroundings on a schort distance from the campsite.Whe did use the camsite as a base for our
trips to make pictures of this beautifull country with his splendid pure nature or culture. The hole crowd from the campsite is frendly and do now what real service mean,sThe restaurant is exellent with verry tastfull food from the regio for a payable price.I leave my heart in Croatica were I can escape from the pressure of dayly life.Rien and Bep.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rien v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Having spent the last 10 years being thoroughly ripped off by French and Italian campsites one of which not only charged me for everything, including, having paid nearly £60.00 a night to park our caravan, but then had the cheek to charge me another 2 euros to take a luke warm, 2 minute shower, you can imagine that finding Camping Ulika was a blessed relief.

The campsite itself is small and personal, i like small and personal as i am then treated as an individual and not just the man in pitch 1088, the staff actually knew, and used my name. They were friendly, knowledgeable and always more than happy to just have a chat, or a laugh and joke, they gave the place a sense of "your not just a guest but a new friend". When my wife an i wanted to spend some time in Venice we asked if they knew where we could book an excursion and were told that not only would they arrange for us to be taken from the campsite to the boat and back again but that they would arrange the sailing and negotiate a good price for us. A Dutch couple from the nearby large, impersonal mega site paid double what we did. they were collected by the same mini bus as us, sailed on the same boat and were returned on the same minibus, someone at megatropolis was making a nice commission out of that one.

As for the facilities, well this is a small site so don't expect the same standard as you would expect from a larger site. The showers were clean, hot and although there were only three, i never had to wait. There were washing facilities for clothes, no washing machine, but then i don't go on holiday to do the laundry, ideal for rinsing out swim suits and towels the odd tee shirt and shorts. Ok, you may want to do some laundry, if you put it in a bag the reception will send it to a laundrette for you, have it cleaned and returned for a very reasonable amount, why waste your holiday washing clothes thats what you do all year! There were sinks for washing pots and pans if you want to spend your holiday cooking. However given that there are many fantastic and very reasonable restaurants, my wife and I ate nicely for 20 euro a night including the odd beer, not 5 minutes walk from the site, including the best one the the area actually on the site, respect to Mario the best waiter in Croatia, why would you want to waste your holiday cooking and washing up. So as i said before don't expect the same facilities as a mega site these are far better maintained, cleaner and available.

In conclusion would my wife and i return to Camping Ulika: YES in a heart beat, in fact if your there at the back end of June 2013 ask for me, I'll buy you Gin and Tonic and we can have a good chat, looking forward to it already, see you then.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rovinj
1.7 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#6 of 23 in Rovinj
921 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
720 reviews
2.7 mi away
Camping Porton Biondi Rovinj
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Campsite Polari
Campsite Polari
#7 of 216 in Rovinj
211 reviews
9.2 mi away
Polidor Camping Park
Polidor Camping Park
#1 of 8 in Funtana
109 reviews
2.1 mi away
Campsite Vestar
Campsite Vestar
#11 of 216 in Rovinj
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Ulika Rovinj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Ulika Rovinj

Property: Camp Ulika Rovinj
Address: Polari 5, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 216 Specialty Lodging in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The camp Ulika is located in Rovinj (Croatia).Rovinj is only 100 km from Trieste (Italy) and is ideal for summer holidays as well as for short getaways on weekends and holidays in spring and autumn.The campground has 46 sites for tents, campers, trailers and caravans.We also have two mobile homes and a trailer we rent for those who want to enjoy a camping holiday but do not have any equipment to do that.This is a small family run campsite in with its own family restaurant.The main feature of our camp is its small size which makes it a quiet place without so much confusion and not too crowded. For this reason, our campsite is chosen by those who love sports and excursions. Our guests are free climbers, bikers, climbers, nature photographers, lovers of outdoor activities, who after days spent away from the camp in full swing choose to relax among quiet, friendly and helpful people.A great advantage is the fact that the camp is private, safe and fenced and guests can enter and exit only by the front desk, which allows people to leave their tents, chairs, garden tables and other properties safe, without worrying that someone will touch their things. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing