We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A surly waiter” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ristorante Amfora

Ristorante Amfora
Ranked #93 of 172 Restaurants in Rovinj
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
172 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A surly waiter”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

The food at Amfora was great. The three of us were presented with a tray of fresh fish and chose one to be grilled. The fish was done perfectly, and the first courses were good. Service, up to the end, was impeccable. We paid with a credit card. Since the credit card slips in Croatia have no place for a tip, we always tipped in Kuna. After the credit card bill was settled, we made serial trips to the toilet, and hadn't yet put the cash into the folder, which lay on the table. As one of us was still in the toilet, the waiter walked over, pointed to the empty folder and said very sarcastically, "and THAT is for ME??". We left him a tip, but not as much as we would have.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank John_Schunhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    39
    20
    11
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Food and service was fine.........”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed near Rovinj and used this restaurant twice for lunch. As it was towards the end of the season, Rovinj was fairly quiet as were most of the restaurants. On both occasions, the service was fine. I think it was the owner who served us on both occasions and he was quite chheerful and witty although his English was average (still better than my Croatian though).

Food was served quickly and was very tasty. Drinks, dessert and coffees served promptly.

I would happily eat here again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cardboard_Cockney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Service, what service??”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

It was a bit of a gamble to go in, but we took the plunge which was a mistake.
After entering the restaurant the service really did seem to fall off a cliff, the food also varied from dreadful to decent. The beef soup had to be the worst thing I ate on the entire trip by a comfortable margin although the steak was pretty good in all fairness.
What seemed to stand out was the lack of service, once your in the restaurant and seated the level of service drops dramatically. Don't be fooled by the number of people in the restaurant I think that's mainly due to the location.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank waldy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor quality food. Don't be fooled by tripadvisor sign posted at restaurant entrance. Service poor. Tourist trap check all recei”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Do not be fooled by trip advisor sign posted at entrance. Poor quality food. Bad service rude manager. Tourist trap will charge for items not ordered and inflate prices of ordered items. When I queried the bill he said I was charged extra because the glasses were bigger but there was no glass sizes on the menu. Overall avoid the place as they will do what ghey can to charge you extra and then try and make a ridiculous excuse go justify it. There are a lot of other restaurants to choose from. But I must admit overcharging tourists seem to be the norm in this town. So check your bills.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank bos14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ansbach, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best food and service in Rovinj”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We ate at a different place every day for 4 days and we all agreed that the food and service here was by far the best! They use Bosnian feta cheese in their Greek salad, along with the only fresh tomatoes we had in Rovinj. It was by far the best Greek salad I have ever had. I also had the Ravioli with mushroom sauce and it was amazing. If I had to sum it up in a few words, I'd say clean, fresh, welcoming, and eyes in the back of your head delicious! Also, our waiter Nikola (not to be confused with Nikoli or Nikolaus) was professional, knowledgeable, and fun. The price is moderate but you are paying for excellence. Truly a dinner I will reminisce about for the rest of my life.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Amfora also viewed

 
Rovinj, Istria
Rovinj, Istria
 

Been to Ristorante Amfora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing