We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great apartment in the centre of Rovinj” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Porta Antica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residence Porta Antica
Ranked #2 of 209 Specialty Lodging in Rovinj
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great apartment in the centre of Rovinj”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in one of the apartments during our holidays in Istria for a couple of nights and we can really recommend it.
The place was exactly as shown in the pictures, in the centre of the city and walking distance to everywhere. Furthermore, the host was really nice on recommending where to park, helping us find the cplace and coming to meet us and giving tips on what to do in the area.
We rented a couple of bikes and went biking on the national park just south of Rovinj, it was a great experience on a sunny day! We would really recommend it!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mireiafv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    29
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
42
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We arrived by ferry quite late at night but Claudia waited for us and even helped us with our luggage up the stairs . She was extremely helpful and very friendly. We stayed in a loft apartment on the 2nd floor. Very well fitted out and very comfortable. The apartments are right in the centre of town and close to everything. More eating choices than one knows what to do with. Would definitely recommend staying here. Sadly we only stayed one night in this beautiful little town on our way to somewhere else, but we'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneBR09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
643 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

The ever-sunny Claudia will take care of all your needs and questions. She has a broad sampling of apartments for rent. Some are not right on the water and are smaller, such as the 'Marco Polo'. Others are scattered throughout the Old Town. We immediately opted to upgrade to the Blue room atop the waterside building. That proved a wise choice and we now have fond memories. There are numerous really good eateries nearby and Claudia will share those addresses with you. The locale of this main building is truly the best in town, away from noisier, busier districts, yet right down on the waterfront, mere metres away from all those Pula-based fishing boats. *btw, skip the northerly market here, it is the single wost, most hideous tourist trap we have seen in all our travels! Locals wouldn't be caught dead there, trust me. I am done. The end.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zebecToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed there as a couple in September and did not regret our choice. The apartment on the first floor with a balcony and a lovely view over the old port was perfectly suited to our needs. It included a little kitchenette though we always ate out. It was noisy, extremely so on the weekend from the club next door even though it was not high season any more. The bedroom was a little bit more quiet. The lady we rented from was very helpful and friendly. She sent us directions and instructions beforehand how to get there and how to enter the inner city because it is closed off to traffic though we enter it so we could bring in the luggage. We can thoroughly recommend this place.

Room Tip: A room with a sea view and a balcony is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kai_vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed in apartments one and three ... both lovely atmospheric one bedroom apartments with beautiful sea views. Apartment one has a wonderful terrace as well. Both have small kitchenettes, with soap but not basic condiments (ie: salt, sugar) and no toiletries (shampoo/bath soap). We stayed Sunday through Wednesday so did not have the loud music some folks experienced.

The stonework, brick and wood beams in this historic building are just beautiful and I would highly recommend getting apartments one, three or five so you can enjoy sea views. All three were beautifully appointed and just so charming.

Staircases are narrow, so something to be aware of for small kids or those perhaps a bit older. There is a small entry way where we were able to store our strollers and next door is the managers office. Claudia was a nice as could be, a true delight.

I will say that their communications are a bit spotty, so when I went to their website to send some basic inquiries prior to booking I did not hear back on two occasions and when I did on the third it was rather brief. This made me doubt the place, but upon actually booking, they became more responsive to my emails. I think if they could improve their communications and add toiletries this would make the experience just that much better.

Sea views all the way! Enjoy Rovinj, it is an absolute treasure.

Room Tip: Apartments one, three and five...sea views!!!
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank blondeinbombay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svolvaer, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

we stayed here in september 2013 and we liked it a lot. Most because of the closenes to the old town but also everything were in a walking distance. And if you want to go longer and faster just rent a bike. There were several places to rent a bike and also some of the apartments offer bike to rent.We stayed 4 different places in Rovinj because we seldom book in advance we just book planetickets and just go but you always find room. Here Claudia at Porta Antica was fantastic helpfull when she could not help us this time with only 4 nights. She arranged a new place for us, she also walked us there: We really liked her and striongly recommend a stay at Porta antica!

Room Tip: We stayed in the first floor and there were no problem sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cato1637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Arrived last night at Porta Antica at 9 PM and would have bailed on our reservation if not for the 30% cancellation fee. There is a bar directly below the residence with music blasting so loud you can't hear your companions while standing on the street in front. We were told that this was just the cleaning crew and they would stop in an hour. Not true. Even with earplugs and good double-pane windows, the pounding bass kept us up until 1 AM.

On the positive side, everything else about the place seems really good. Attractive, comfortable, well-furnished apartments in a great location with a friendly, welcome from Claudia. If you like to party, or just stay up late, I guess this is your place. For us, we're just hoping the bar is closed on Sunday nights.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalDreaminSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rovinj hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#2 of 23 in Rovinj
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
5.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#6 of 23 in Rovinj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Lone
Hotel Lone
#3 of 23 in Rovinj
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Angelo d'Oro
Hotel Angelo d'Oro
#8 of 23 in Rovinj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
1.6 mi away
Island Hotel Istra
Island Hotel Istra
#5 of 23 in Rovinj
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Porta Antica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Porta Antica

Property: Residence Porta Antica
Address: Vrata Pod Zidom - Porta Sotto Muro 1, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 209 Specialty Lodging in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Porta Antica 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer comfortable, air-conditioned apartments equipped with a TV set, situated in the center of the old town of Rovinj, just a few meters from the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Residence Porta Antica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing