We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but small room, perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Porta Antica
Ranked #3 of 220 Specialty Lodging in Rovinj
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful but small room, perfect location”
Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for two nights in apartment 7, small but rustic and beautiful room with a tiny bathroom. No view of the sea, but the building itself is practically right on the riva, so why stay in the room? If you need it to be quiet then you need to find another place, but for us it was perfectly located with short walking distance to the best restaurants and the cafés with the best views. No breakfast included, but with 50 restaurants just outside the door that hardly matters. Otherwise clean, with working A. C. and a fridge.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dirr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    30
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
6
50
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Stayed only one night, for an overnight trip from Trieste. The apartment was lovely with a rustic feel, and had two comfortable beds (one up a spiral staircase from the other). One drawback of the particular apartment we stayed in, above the office, was that the windows looked directly across to the next building's - so aside from a curtain that could be pulled from beside the main bed, there was no privacy (the window curtains were sheer). Still, the space was terrific, with a small kitchen area. The staff stayed quite late to check us in (9pm) and was very helpful the next day after we had checked out. Though I'd recommend a seaside view for a longer stay, this was a great apartment at a good price.
I wish I could recommend the ground-floor restaurant as highly, because the staff, again, was very friendly and the service was good. Unfortunately, the seafood we had for our Saturday afternoon lunch was just okay. We found this to be the same with the late dinner we had at another spot along the shoreline. The heat of the day led us to the more comfortable seaside breezes, but I'd recommend going in away from the shore and choose a place other than those that have picture menus.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WritinFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Totally agree with Rebmax below on all accounts. location great, but has drawbacks as listed. Plus, we had to contend with a nauseating smell that wafted through the apartment from time to time. We think it may have been a drain issue and noticed numerous odour "negators" located about the building.
Not a good nights sleep as per the odours - when mentioned on leaving, was told that it can be caused by the water (sea) this time of year?

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 253Adelaideboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Mayo, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

My husband and I stayed for one night at Porta Antica. The apartment was spacious, clean, well equipped, had a good air conditioning system and was and beautifully decorated. It is located in the centre of Rovinj, just a couple of minutes walk to the pier and right beside a number of restaurants and bars. The owner was very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend Porta Antica to anyone visiting Rovinj who wants a central yet peaceful and quiet location.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Micsi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avalon, Catalina Island, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

We had not reserved accommodations in Rovinj but had read about Porta Antica Apartments in Rick Steve's guide book. We were shown two apartments, one with a view of the harbor, the other on a little side alley JUST off the Riva on a delightful little alley one floor up overlooking an upscale gallery with several harbor side restaurants within 10-50 feet. We chose the apartment without the harbor view on the little side alley because of the location and it's cosy charm. We had a fabulous time and stayed 3 nights instead of the one-night visit we had planned. We always enjoy having a kitchen - - shopping for local ingredients for a simple but delicious dinner in the local green markets. The night we happened to eat in the apartment, the skies decided to open up and just poured down sideways. We had the shuttered windows open where the rain would not come into the apartment - - it was an incredible evening. Once we had toured Rovinj's church, it's beautiful little alley ways jam packed with beautiful little galleries, shops and restaurants, we spent our days visiting the wine region and the hill towns of Groznjan, Motovun and Hum. We absolutly loved Porta Antica Apartment II and would definitly recommend it as a home base to tour the Istrian Peninsula

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredkelleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

We were offered 3 apartments by Marino the English speaking proprietor, each one was beautiful, expensively and luxuriously fitted. I had spent 18 nights in June 2010 travelling the area and these were by far the best accommodation I viewed. I paid 79euros per night for the apartment which made them excellent value. I suggest you view the porta antic web site to see just how lovely these apartments are (the photos are accurate).
I have and will continue to recommend these apartments to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 999guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2009

We regrettably spent 2 nights at Porta Antica 16-17 September 2009. It is too bad we have such a bad feeling about our stay because Rovinj itself is worth seeing. The spacious rooms and kunos prices advertised in the Rick Steves book and on the internet are not what you will get. Let me make this clear up-front, this is not a fault of Rick Steves. Two outrageous things occurred that require me to write my first totally negative review and warn travelers not to stay here. First, we were not placed in the advertised spacious rooms with sea view located over a restaurant. Instead, we were placed in a separate building which had been, we were told, recently acquired by the owners of Porta Antica. The room, using the term loosely, was tiny and crowded. The "sea view" was a glimpse over what appeared to be a location for storing trash for the entire building which was located below our second-floor window. I have been traveling in Europe for 10 years and have never experienced such a room nor did we elsewhere traveling throughout Croatia, Slovenia and Italy on this six-week trip. What also occurred and is totally outrageous is that Porta Antica is charging euros instead of advertised kunas (the official money of Croatia) for their room rates. An example is that instead of "n" kunos as advertised in Rick Steve's book, they are charging "n" euros. If it was 100 Kunos, it is now 100 euros which is quite a hefty jump in price. On checking out I refused to pay the euros price because I rented the room using the kunos rate advertised in Rick Steve's Croatia & Slovenia guide. Also, I would not pay the euros requested due to the switch and bait room we had been given.The Porta Antica representative tried to argue that they had the right to change rooms but relented after I raised the above issues in front of other customers and he made a phone call to his manager. I eventually paid the lesser amount equivalent of the advertised kunos in euros which even this was not really worth the room we were given.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TravelWithZim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rovinj hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#2 of 23 in Rovinj
256 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#6 of 23 in Rovinj
973 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Island Hotel Katarina
Island Hotel Katarina
#8 of 23 in Rovinj
239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Angelo d'Oro
Hotel Angelo d'Oro
#7 of 23 in Rovinj
151 reviews
1.6 mi away
Island Hotel Istra
Island Hotel Istra
#5 of 23 in Rovinj
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Porta Antica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Porta Antica

Property: Residence Porta Antica
Address: Vrata Pod Zidom - Porta Sotto Muro 1, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 220 Specialty Lodging in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Porta Antica 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer comfortable, air-conditioned apartments equipped with a TV set, situated in the center of the old town of Rovinj, just a few meters from the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residence Porta Antica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing