We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveler rating
37
69
34
27
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
37
69
34
27
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews premium apartment taxi boat great swimming hired a car enjoyable stay sea water private beach living room supermarket tennis pools upgrading playground venice boats
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 187 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2018

We travelled all over Istria and beyond and as we progressed we felt more and more taken advantage of by Maistra and their Amarin resort. It is overpriced and second rate. Here are the facts, not opinion:

• Maistra cram a whole campsite of people into the studio/apartments facilities with no mention of this small detail in the website for the studio/apartments. You pay for a resort for a level of exclusivity to facilities and services – otherwise just go to a public pool or beach for free. The place is place is packed. Therefore I wonder why Maistra choose photos of the resort with the campsite to right missing?

The numbers speak for themselves from Maistra's about us page on their corporate website: The resort has 461 rooms with a max of 1868 guests but then you have a campsite of 800 plots with 2,400 guests and it feels/sounds/smells like it

• Air conditioning – At no point do you mention that your air conditioning is controlled to 5/6 degrees below the prevailing temperature. It was 33/34 degrees when we stayed and therefore the rooms were at 28C which is grim for people who have selected you for air conditioning. Maistra is saving money on electricity but getting the marketing benefits of attracting customers selling the concept of air conditioning. No mention of this “environmental policy” in your published environmental statement before you state it.

• You expect different levels of experience when you have two grades of apartment available but I do not expect basics like fresh smelling toilets to be one. The sewage system was foul in our apartment. With rain came even more powerful and pungent smells

My opinion (not fact) however includes that it is overpriced compared with other independent resorts and hotels in Croatia and in the Med. Simple things like ice creams and pizzas are 20/30% more expensive than in Rovinj and 40% with Pula.

The staff are fantastic and the Croatian people just brilliant but my complaints are 100% levelled at Maistra and its holding company Adris Group.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OxfordAv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaistraCroatia, Manager at Amarin Studio and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2018

Dear OxfordAv,

I would like to thank you for sharing your comments and feedback with us.
We truly regret not having met your expectations .The experiences you described are not characteristic of the level of service our team strives to provide, and we apologise that your stay was unsatisfactory. Your feedback will serve as an incentive to continue improving the level of service we provide to our valued guests.
We hope you will return to experience the many enhancements we made. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and exceed your expectations.
Yours sincerely,

Josip Ružić Amarin Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

We booked a year before going in a premium apartment. Our flight was early and although arrived around 10.30am allowed us to check in early. Unfortunately the first apartment was too shady and when asked happy to move us and as had to wait treated us to a lunch. There is a rich mix of nationalities there and not too many English. We were worried about the campsite on the resort after reading reviews but without the campsite there would not be the supermarket, bakery until 12.00, take away pizza and 3 restaurants. You do have to pay for a sunbed but only 40 kaunas for each and an umbrella for all day. If you go down by 10 am leave a towel you can go back when need and it will remain untouched. The taxi boat can be very busy at some times so be aware people are unable to queue. We hired a car for 4 days as there for 10 days and went to Venice for a whole day. WiFi is good so kids happy. We felt very safe there and so did my teenagers. English was spoken everywhere and menus are usually translated. If go to pavin restaurants closed on Mondays. If going into sea take some waterproof shoes as coral can cut feet and beach is stony. Take inflatables as very safe area for them and kids will want them.
If want a culturally rich holiday then would highly recommend. If want a resort where not too far away from a roast and English breakfast and not too many Germans then probably would not enjoy as much. We loved it so beautiful and lovely people.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank lovesknitting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaistraCroatia, Manager at Amarin Studio and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2018

Dear guests,
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us. I am delighted to hear that your stay with us was such a success!
All our staff work very hard to meet our guests’ needs and exceed their expectations. I will therefore personally pass on your praise to our entire team.
Thank you again for such wonderful feedback. We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Kind regards,
Josip Ružić Amarin Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2018

I would not recommend this place, this place is overrated. they charge you for every thing , like bad in the hotel pool. the prices for simple soft drink in the pool is 10 euro . terrible service .
the beach , restaurant and pool is crowded , coming from all the different places .
the beach is not clean.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank attart757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaistraCroatia, Manager at Amarin Studio and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2018

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your comments and feedback with us.
We truly regret that certain aspects of your experience did not meet your expectations, and that the situations you described made a negative impression of our service. I have made sure to share your comments with our team so that we may improve the level of our service.
We hope you will return to experience the many enhancements we made. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and exceed your expectations.
Yours sincerely,
Josip Ružić Amarin Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2018 via mobile

I must be honest, when i booked I was expecting classic resort not to crowded with not much people, well I was completely wrong.
The resort share the area amd all internal structures (restaurant, swimming pool...) and beach with the camping which is in the same location leading to a variety and number of people that didn't make this enjoyable to me.

For sure the position of the apartment is ok, you are close to Rovinj and move and looking for a different beach is easy but it is not what you would like to do when you want to relax.

Rooms are ok even if air conditioning is managed centrally and makes difficult to set it up.
Wi-fi on and off and cleaning service with improvements margin.

If you are looking for a camp site perfect place but if you are looking for a resort (real resort) not crowded where to relax... let's think again

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank H2054PVfrancescoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaistraCroatia, Manager at Amarin Studio and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2018

Dear Mr Francesco C,
Thank you very much for sharing your comments and feedback with us.
We truly regret that certain aspects of your experience did not meet your expectations, and that the situations you described made a negative impression of our service. I have made sure to share your comments with our team so that we may improve the level of our service.
We hope you will return to experience the many enhancements we made. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and exceed your expectations.
Yours sincerely,
Josip Ružić Amarin Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2018

Absolutely lovely!
Would come back again, it was like paradise <3

The food, the staff and the location were all incredible!
If you get the chance, go there in the summer season ( the latest in September).

P.S Croats were awesome!

Date of stay: June 2018
Thank Wolciu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaistraCroatia, Manager at Amarin Studio and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2018

Dear Wolciu,
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us. I am delighted to hear that your stay with us was such a success!
All our staff work very hard to meet our guests’ needs and exceed their expectations. I will therefore personally pass on your praise to our entire team.
Thank you again for such wonderful feedback. We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Kind regards,
Josip Ružić Amarin Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews