We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valalta, both fabulous and average!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rovinj
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Valalta Naturist Camp
Ranked #1 of 216 Specialty Lodging in Rovinj
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Valalta, both fabulous and average!”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from 5 days in June, 2012. This was the first time we have stayed in such a huge naturist resort. The weather was perfect blue sky and 30-32c. I absolutely loved it, total naturism and relaxation, you only covered up in the two shops, supermarket, reception and at the night restaurants and bars. The resort is ENORMOUS and would take at least 45 mins. to walk around the water frontage. The catering is terrific with at least 6 big and good restaurants, they vary in opening times. Also the food quality varies ( be ready for a German focus, as they are the biggest visitors) but is generally quite good. The supermarket is very big and there is a fresh fruit and vegie stall, so self catering is easy.
The atmosphere is completely relaxed and whereas my wife was not totally sold on the idea, by our first afternoon she was 200% relaxed. It is 99% couples/families and everyone is naked, in fact you would feel uncomfortable being clothed! The nights were quite the opposite with a good band usually playing in one of the restaurants and everyone dressing up! There are heaps of water activities, a big water slide, tennis, volley ball etc. The two shops have all the beach/water gear you would need and prices are cheap. There is a huge swimming pool area, although probably best suited for younger families.
They even have their own large brewery with great beer! There are four bars around the complex and prices are very reasonable, certainly cheaper than in Australia!
It is about 6 km out of Rovinj and a car is nearly a must have. We would normally drive into Rovinj for dinner, it is a fabulous town and one of the nicest we saw in Croatia.
So what was average? Basically there is no beach, most is sharp shingle and you must have water shoes ( cheap in the 2 stores) or it is off the rocks, also OK as there are plenty of ladders.
We were told that there were 4000 people in mid-June and we felt it was quite crowded. July-August increases to 7000! We had quite a bit of trouble finding a free sun lounge ( very necessary unless you lie on the grassy area or dirty sand near the harbour). You are not supposed to hold the lounges over-night but they still do, alternatively get up early or bring your own.
To keep the bride happy we went for more "up-market" apartment style accomodation, however it would still rate 2-3 star at best. It was hot at night and no air-conditioning made sleeping difficult ( I know tough life etc.!). There were renovated apartments but we did not know and missed out. Most accomodation is camping in vans and motor homes.
Overall I thought it was just perfect and can't wait until we return, but I just wanted to warn people not to expect too much of the "beach" and accomodation.
I hope this helps first time visitors, we went via Dubrovnik ( BIG drive), next time we will come from Venice. Would love to know if anyone has been here and knows of a better naturist resort??
Have fun!

Room Tip: ask for the renovated apartments, near the big pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank TonyinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    79
    19
    13
    18
See reviews for
87
151
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gottsunda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Valalta delivers on many expectations: safe, comfortable, family-friendly naturist environment, daily fresh towels and ample supply of toilet paper. We also could put up with a resident locust in our apartment, a high decibell refrigerator that woke us in the nights with a noise reminding of a tractor. and absence of not only AC but a fan, but it was harder to put up with the pro-smoking policy which allowed our chain-smoking neighbors to sit at their entrance few feet from ours and puff their tar and nicotine six hours a day.
The gym machines are old, undermaintained - some even need oiling - and do not feel safe.
The worst, however, was the water in the bay. One of us is allergy sensitive, and swimming there resulted in skin rushes that disappeared with help of antihistamine and staying in the pool instead. A good question is, with thousands of tenants, where does Valalta sewage go?
Another question is, with all its keenness on the family-oriented image, is Valalta so helpless about the mushrooming swinger establishments just beyond its gates? Or is it a hypocritical outsourcing?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Tammouz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meze, France
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Valalta is an enormous naturist resort all spread out along the Adriatic coast. it was fun to arrive in a naturist camp again for a relaxed holiday. But soon upon arrival we got very disappointed. We had booked an apartment Type LSA according to their website, but in no way it was like in the picture. First there was only single beds with the main bedroom uptsairs having the 2 single beds next to each other but with separate linen. Not the most romantic set up !! the worst part though was the kitchen. Considering that the canteen type restaurant in the complex was awful with very ordinary slapped up german food, we wanted to cook our own meals.! except that there was no room in the so called kitchen to even move a saucepan . We had to take the microwave oven out and into the bedroom so we could have enough bench space to cut a tomato .Even in the middle of the day the single light over the hotplate did not provide enough light to function properly. The place is so badly designed that it is almost grotesque. The 2 bathrooms were about the same size and you could not count on having a decent shower for the tap system was half broken. The verandah was handy and looking onto quiet gardens but facing west, it was so hot in the evening that we could hardly use it.
The place is full of Germans and you hardly hear any english around although the staff do understand it in the reception and the supermarket.
the website also promotes a sandy beach for most of the coast line is pebbles and one has to find a beach lounge to lay on when sunbathing. But the so called sandy beach is more like added dirty sand which does not invite for more laying naked on it. So we spent most of the time near the pool. In fact that is the best part of this resort. The pool is very big and the salt water and temperature with the umbrellas dotted all around is the best place to be in this resort. Another good point for this resort is the family style of naturism. kids playing in the pool and people generally comfortable with sharing a naturist time with each other makes Valalta a potentially fun holiday

Room Tip: don't rely on their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank platypus06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

after being in many naturist places in greece, spain, US Croatia and our home country (Israel) I can confirm this is the most sutible place for families with kids. our 5YO and 9 YO kids enjoyed everything and being in a camp with so many other kids, all natural, gave them the right atmosphire. there is no "Sex atmosphire" as we know from other places like France. pure nudist camp/ resort. the bad things: no A/C in the rooms, the swimming pool is with sea water (salt- the kids didn't like it), and about 80% of the visitors are German speakers, so it is not easy to work your way out just with English (but you can manage...). to sum up-
I truelly recomand families to try this place. for people with no kids- it is OK also, but not as peaceful or dinamic as other anturist arias we've been in

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank odedb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This was our first full time naturist holiday and we are a little bit dissapointed (we've been a naturists for years but we always used to go to FKK beaches only). This 'Naturist camp' should be called 'Clothes optional' camp - not FKK. The only place where clothes are not allowed is the swimming pool area. If you want to spend the WHOLE holidays clothed you will do it without anybody bothering you - which is not fair towards a real naturists. It took me a long time to accept the idea of spending the whole vacation naked and as I've said i'm a bit dissapointed by the amount of people clothed - especially in the evening when the sun is still up, it is hot you are on the walk with your husband and approx 70% people around you are clothed - feels really weird.
Next year we will try other camp.
However the camp itself is lovely!
The apartment (VC) that we stayed in was just perfect - clean and very well equipped.
The surroundings were cleanded and maintained daily.
Very nice place

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank marco1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Valalta is an ideal location for anyone who wants to try naturism for the first time or for the well-travelled naturist. Naturism is only compulsory at the swimming pool (a very clean saltwater pool). Most people are nude most of the time, but clothes are needed at the main restaurant, reception and supermarket (a towel or wrap works at these last two). A very friendly, relaxed atmosphere.
Those who take B&B or half-board eat in the main dining room; the food is ok, but quite canteen-like. About 80% of the visitors seem to be German or Austrian, so the food reflects this. Most staff will speak to you in German, but many know some English.
The mobile homes are well equipped, clean, but it can be easy to hear night-time noise; the bungalows would appear to be quieter.
Reasonable prices, many bars and one pizza restaurant. The supermarket on camp has the same prices as those in Rovinj, with fresh bread every morning.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Peter_Dawn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2010

It was my first time to ever visit a naturist resort so I did not not know what to expect.
But i must say I had the holiday of a life time It was wonderful to feel so free and relaxed
To live the naturist life for 10 days was so natural and relaxing the rsort is so big it was lovely to go walking every morning and enjoy the naturist life style. I'm looking forward to my next holiday at Valalta.
I just wish I had know about Valalta many years ago I would have loved to have taken my family there its a wonderful place for children so safe and friendly

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Peternaturist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rovinj
3.5 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#6 of 23 in Rovinj
922 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
721 reviews
1.1 mi away
Resort Amarin
Resort Amarin
#15 of 23 in Rovinj
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Island Hotel Istra
Island Hotel Istra
#5 of 23 in Rovinj
922 reviews
3.7 mi away
Pansion Comfort Exclusive
1.6 mi away
Naturist Park Koversada Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valalta Naturist Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valalta Naturist Camp

Property: Valalta Naturist Camp
Address: Cesta Za Valaltu - Lim - Strada Per Valalta - Leme 7, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 216 Specialty Lodging in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Valalta Naturist Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 2000
Also Known As:
Valalta Naturist Camp Hotel Rovinj

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing