We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great decor and ambience, very mediocre food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Veli Joze

Veli Joze
Ranked #42 of 175 Restaurants in Rovinj
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Soups, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Paris, France
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great decor and ambience, very mediocre food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

This place is full of character, with wonderful atmosphere and interesting pictures and other things on the walls. But the food was a bit disappointing the first time, and I would not have gone back except that we were invited by friends to go. The second time, the food was disappointing again, and the service a bit ungracious. If you want a fun meal you might be able to overlook the food (maybe get something very simple like cevapcici?)and just enjoy the atmosphere.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank suzannetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    125
    57
    24
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Big traffic-small joy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Situated just near old city with pleasure but little chaotic interior. Overcrowded in summer a local provides good presented food and a good quality istrian wines. Prices correct for presented food. To eat fish and schrimps, as well as other sea products. Wine on glass good choice for ok money. Can be boring to wait in nights at june-july terms for food. Staff can be better but fish is correct and atmosphere in generql also. Not certainly the first class but a kind of place where one can eat and drink without being afraid of surprises. Better than some other restaurants nearby...not to pronounce names...go and try

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ambrosio69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Simple food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

The menus are pretty much the same all over the city as well as the prices but this one was one of my favorites. Local dishes with little added flour the ingredients are fresh and it is just good Istrian food . The ambiance inside is old and rustic and by the time you check out all the things hanging from the walls, the food is ready. It is quite crowded in the summer.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zuirti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“great food, but terrible service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

We always eat at Veli Jože, because the food is really good, the prices average, but the service leaves a lot to be desired (rude, lazy and patronizing staff).

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Slovenia-Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springfield
Level Contributor
335 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

We visited over Easter Weekend, which is not high season. Restaurants t/o the town were surprising empty except for a few. This one was not. We ate there twice because of the lively atmosphere and good vibe; we liked the families and noise. The house wine was the best of our trip. The first night we had a seafood platter; the second mussels and steak with green pepper sauce. It was really great. I also appreciated the seasoned chards and potatoes, typically bland is Slovenia, in my opinion. Kids were there too, and they only charged maybe 5 Euros for our kid's pasta both nights which was very fare. We wanted to go back a third night, but thought it would be weird. In the end, we missed it and had trouble finding anything similar. I guess we really liked that it wasn't pretentious, touristy or exclusive--and we had good food.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aventine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Veli Joze also viewed

 

Been to Veli Joze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing