We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow wow wow”
Review of Monte

Monte
Ranked #2 of 177 Restaurants in Rovinj
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $45 - $112
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Yorkshire UK
Level Contributor
119 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Wow wow wow”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This really is fine dining at its best.
We ate twice here during our holiday and wished we had longer to go again
The food is an experience that you want to repeat
The service is excellent

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank appleacre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    568
    69
    29
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Good food and a lovely setting. We went for the Essence 5 course menu which was very good. Would not have eaten the 7 course as so much food.

Can see the "Modern" food influence and sometimes the combinations are a little strange. BNot cheap at £200 for two including wine. But worth trying

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewTBasingstoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top level on top of the city...”
Reviewed July 29, 2013


We planned to visit restaurant Monte one time while spending our holidays in Rovinj...but as the first visit was just perfect, great and wonderful in every part (cuisine, service, wines, athmosphere) - we decided to come again two days later, and it was another fantastic experience!

Very elaborated, authentic and sophisticated cuisine
in a stylish ambience, combined with a very professional and charming staff - we really had a great time there!

So: A place to be, see and enjoy!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Philipp-Vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reuver, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere”
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

This place you'd never expect in a tourist area where most of the other restaurants have menus with pictures of the food!

It is a must if you enjoy Michelin star like food and staff and all. Just go there!
Two minor comments:
1. When it's over 35 degrees outside,the airco could be set a little cooler
2. You'll be amazed about the starters, the only thing is that 3 "courses" of starters arrive within approx 5 minutes after arriving in the restaurant, a bit overwhelming. After that the pace went down to normal.

Very very good!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Renehorsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful night...”
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Hi, I was here yesterday with my boyfriend and it was the perfect night..., the food, the weather, the service... I can't wait to come again and I hope it will be soon.... Xxx

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SilvijaGranic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monte also viewed

 
Rovinj, Istria
 

Been to Monte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing