We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Jewel in Rovinj”
Review of Monte

Monte
Ranked #2 of 177 Restaurants in Rovinj
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $45 - $112
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Jewel in Rovinj”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

What an absolutely fabulous evening! The food, the service, the ambience.....perfection in every way. Located at the footsteps of the main Church with a look which is modern chic but with a classical soul. The range of tastes that Monte dishes out is remarkable in this part of the world. Besides the seafood and meat which are delicious they have an extensive vegetarian menu which is truly unique. I would strongly recommend their tasting menu as it gives you an excellent sampler of the variety they are able to whip up.
Kudos to the staff who are courteous, efficient, knowledgable and child friendly to boot! Compliments to the remarkable couple who have put in a lot of heart in making Monte a real Jewel. Michelin - are you listening?

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Richa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    568
    69
    29
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Москва, Россия
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“excellent!”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Monte is the best restaurant in Rovinj. Perfect service, impressing presentation, food is cooked to perfection, very tasty. Waiters are attentive, the owner of the restaurant personally meets guests and can help you in your choice if you like.

Not disadvantages but the points you should take into account:
- the prices are high, for example degustation set of 5 courses with glass of wine costs approx. 100 Euro, however it worse the cost.
- you should call and book the table preliminarily, at least one day before, for there could be no vacant tables;
- Monte is open in the evening only, so it is not possible to have a launch there.

Monte is open only in season, in off-season it is closed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank burbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Gourmet travellers' paradise”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The best restaurant in Croatia, ever! (I've dined in a lot of so-called best local restaurants in our 10 days holiday.) From the service to the food, to the sexy waiters and the wine, this is a great experience. It's worth 1-2 michelin stars if the guide ever come here to rate, The 7 course "essence" or tasting menu is well constructed. The only fault is the far too salty amuse bouche, but the rest is heaven.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Evivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Worth going for the theatre/entertainment value, but ...”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I don't think I would bill this as the best restaurant in Rovinj (I'd award that accolade to Wine Vaults at the Hotel Monte Mulini), but it is certainly an entertaining experience. Each course is served with a different theatrical touch in its service or presentation.

It's probably best value to have the 5 or 7-course gastronomic menu, but we didn't think we could do justice to so much food and I don't eat meat and OH doesn't much care for fish, so we ordered 3 courses from the a la carte.

Food is good, of course, but, for me, there was too much going on on the plate; too many foams and smears of this and that, so that you couldn't really taste all the ingredients properly. My real disappointment was my main course. Billed as scampi, it was in fact 2 scampis, butterflied, with a whole mackerel filleted. The scampi were overwhelmed by the mackerel and the dish was very much overpriced for the amount of scampi served.

Wines are excellent and service was friendly but professional and "bohemian" in style.

Worth one visit for the experience (even at £175 for two), but we probably wouldn't go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Etheldreda87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

One the best that I've been to in Croatia!!

Monte is located on the top of the hill underneath the Church - Nice little walk through the streets of Rovinj :)

Service, food, everything was great!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monte also viewed

 
Rovinj, Istria
 

Been to Monte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing