We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Casa & Hotel Valamar Sanfior” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Valamar Sanfior

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Valamar Sanfior
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Rabac
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Casa & Hotel Valamar Sanfior”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed late June 2013 at the newly renovated Casa Valamar Sanfior for 5 nights.
The resort is a combination of 2 hotels: Casa Valamar Sanfior (newly renovated in 2013) and Hotel Valamar Sanfior (also renovated in 2012 I believe)
The hotel grounds are very nice with a very good view on the sea.
We had a familiy room facing the sea which was large enough for 2 small children & 2 adults.
Parking is free. You also get towels for free.
We had breakfast every day the Hotel Valamar Sanfior even if you can also stay on the terrace at the Casa Valamar Sanfior enjoying the view and the swimming pool.
Breakfats and dinner were very good. There was a large selection of fruits, soups, deserts, ham, salads,... We really enjoyed it with a good bottle of night every night. You can get freshly squezed juice but you need to pay for that (as well as for Capuccino & Espresso)
Above all a very relaxing stay. We enjoyed it a lot.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank French121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karmela_viskovic, General Manager at Hotel Valamar Sanfior, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear French121,
Thank you for your comment. It is a pleasure for us to have you and your family as our guest and friends. We are always improving our service and we are delighted to see that we are doing it well. We look forward to welcoming you again in our Hotel & Casa Valamar Sanfior, and I hope we make your next vacation in our hotel even better.
Best regards,
Karmela Višković
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    132
    17
    5
    6
See reviews for
113
174
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Perfect hotel for vacation with family or weekend getaway for couples...Perfect hotel grounds... just few meters from the sea. Food is great! Fresh, good tasting & good looking. Also very healthy and a lot of different choises. Rooms are spacious and modern. Highly recommend it and would come back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karmela_viskovic, General Manager at Hotel Valamar Sanfior, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Bubolina,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your holidays and had a great experience.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Karmela Višković
Hotel Direktor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed at Casa Valamar Sanfior**** 10 nights in June. We are a family with the 2 small kids (1.6 years and 5.5 years). It is our 2nd visit to Croatia and Valamar, before we stayed at Valamar Club Tamaris (Porec)
.
Our impressions are quite controversial. On one hand, Club Tamaris was definitely more convenient in terms of service, full board meals and infrastructure. On the other hand, the sea and beaches in Rabac are just amazing, which overweigh many horeca deficiencies.

In general, Casa Valamar Sanfior is not bad, especially if you manage to get a good deal for it. There are no luxury hotels in Rabac and this one is probably one of the best. It’s new, clean and features tasty design. I would not say it’s premium but it looks better than many others around.

The location is unbeatable (like most Valamar properties in Rabac); it stays very close to the sea, there are plenty of cozy bays to the right and to the left; the white pebbled beach surrounding it is probably the best in Rabac.

The swimming pool is very small and basic but you do not really need it because the sea is beautiful.
The food in the main restaurant is quite good. The choice is not abundant but sufficient for various needs; everything is fresh and tasty. For dinner, we had good selection of fish (tuna, trout, makrel etc), seafood (squids, sometimes mussels and shrimps), meat (pork, beef, turkey, chicken), plenty of salads, fresh fruits, thin pizza, ice cream, sweets. There is no special kid’s menu but mostly we could find more or less suitable options even for the baby. Still, I wish they had vegetable soups, boiled vegetables and boiled meat for the smallest guests; bouillon and grilled/fried stuff is not the best solution.

Also, I am surprised why they do not serve lunches in the main restaurant. For lunch, there is only Bistro Delfino open where you can find mainly snacks. It’s more or less ok for adults and older kids but not suitable for the smaller ones (if you do care about healthy food, of course). In addition, there are no baby chairs and the service is quite slow there though the prices are more or less in line with Rabac bars / restaurants. The closest restaurant is 15-20 minute walk under the afternoon sun which is not a problem unless it’s too hot.

Our 5-year old daughter loved Maro club, the staff is great there and we are grateful to them for good job. Overall, Valamar staff was friendly, room cleaning was more or less ok. The hostess in Sentona restaurant (Dragana, I believe) is very pleasant and helpful, she is actually doing her best to make sure the guests are comfortable. There were times in the restaurant though when they could not cope with the quantity of guests, so we had to wait for the clean table, clean baby chair or for the particular food. This sort of things often happen in the restaurants serving buffet meals, so normally you can tolerate such nuisances provided you paid adequate price for it.

In our case, we overpaid for the level of comfort we did not actually get, so we left the hotel quite disappointed.

Beware about this when you book the rooms and if you have specific needs, better contact them and clarify whether you actually get what they promise. When we travel, we always order suites/family rooms which are more spacious and have separate bedroom. It’s convenient when you have kids who go to bed early, my husband also need privacy to work sometimes, so we are prepared to pay more for this particular feature. So, we ordered superior family room which cost us more than twice as much as the standard room. According to the information on their web-site, this type of accommodation has 2 separate bedrooms and is sized 40-67 sq.m. In our reservation it was also indicated we’ll get kid’s bunk bed.

I do not know how they measure the room but it’s hardly 36 sq.m. and, as we were told, they do not have bigger one in the hotel. The most critical thing is that there are no separate bedrooms at all! Basically, there is a living room with the small sofa (which they call a bedroom with the kid’s bunk bed) and adjacent bedroom with the double bed. The rooms are not isolated / separated with the doors; the whole apartment is basically an open space. At the reception they told us that by ‘separate’ room they understand the space half divided by wall. Also, they told us there are no doors between the bedrooms because it’s safer for the kids.

It’s the most stupid explanation I’ve ever heard. I told them the information on their web-site is apparently misleading and exaggerated but, as I see, they did not change it so far. That’s sad because it means the hotel is cheating on purpose. Deluxe family room they shown us is even worse (although it does have a separate bedroom) because it’s smaller, somewhat smoked and the seaview is only imaginable.

Superior family room is not bad at all and the sea view is magnificent but we did not get the most important features we paid for! They also did not try to do anything to accommodate our needs (e.g., by offering two standard interconnected rooms or offering a discount). De facto we paid USD 448 / night in June which is overtly too much for this place; we did not get the expected value for money. Next time we would probably opt for apartments.

Speaking about the other cons of the hotel, beware:
- If you need the cash machine in the hotel, the conversion rate is much worse than anywhere else. Try to find other cash machines in the town center;
- The hotel is only partly accessible for strollers and wheelchairs. There is a rampant to reach the entrance of Casa but from that point on, we had to carry the stroller. There is also one rampant hidden behind the pool (we found it on the fourth day of stay) but it’s narrow and inconvenient. Even to reach the playground and the kid’s club, you need to carry the stroller. Technically, there are possibilities to make more paved roads around the hotel to make access to the beach easier (the hills are not that steep) but they probably just did not care;
- Wi-fi connection (and even wired connection) is very slow and interrupts all the time. In our apartment, wi-fi worked in one corner only. Their internet connection made us crazy because it went down when we needed it most (e.g., to plan the route for travel etc).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maryna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karmela_viskovic, General Manager at Hotel Valamar Sanfior, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Maryna S,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. Your comments are of tremendous importance to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services. We are delighted to hear that you had a great time during your stay with us and we apologise for fiew inconvenience you had. We hope that we could have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.


Best Regards,
Karmela Višković
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celje, Slovenia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for a week. Our room was renovated and in excellent condition. The hotel it self is a very quiet and feng shui place. The best chill out vacation ever. Staff was very helpfull and kind. I recommend it to everyone, families and couples.

Room Tip: If you have the money it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NusaLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karmela_viskovic, General Manager at Hotel Valamar Sanfior, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Guest NusaLM,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Hotel & Casa Sanfior, and for choosing to stay with us recently.

I am delighted to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your wonderful feedback, particularly regarding our staff. It is very much appreciated. We are fortunate to have a wonderful team at Sanfior, and I am sure they will all be as thrilled with your fantastic comments as I was.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel & Casa Sanfior again in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Karmela Višković
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We spent 3 nights in Casa Sanfior at the end of May. The hotel is brand new, with high quality finishing. The views on the sea are beautiful. The staff is extremely kind and helpful, especially the Maro Club for children. The food was also good, taking into consideration that it is a buffet serving almost 500 people every night. The only negative surprise, at least for us, was that the room had no curtains with black-outs on one of the two windows, letting the light in in the morning. We had to cover the window with our swimming pool towel, as the emergency curtain provided by the hotel was very thin and clear, letting the light through. Also the music early in the morning and late at night coming from the hotel restaurant/bar did not help.
ANYWAY, THE CHILDREN LOVED THE HOTEL!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenwichMaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karmela_viskovic, Manager at Hotel Valamar Sanfior, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Herr GreenwichMaxi,
Ich möchte Ihnen ganz herzlich danken das Sie für Ihren Aufenthalt Hotel & Casa Valamar Sanfior ausgesucht haben. Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback, welches wir gerne an alle Kollegen weitergeben. Wir hoffen, dass Sie wieder für Ihren Urlaub Hotel & Casa Valamar Sanfior wählen und freuen uns sehr Sie bald wieder bei uns begrüssen zu dürfen.
Mit freundlichen Grüßen
Karmela Višković
Hotel Direktor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed for a long weekend at this hotel in May. We were in the Casa, which is newly renovated. Our room had a sea view and we could also see the swimming pools.
It happened to be my birthday and the hotel made a pleasant surprise with a nice gift which I greatly appreciated.
Food was excellent, a large selection to choose from.
I would gladly come there again.
Also, Rabac is a nice place where you can go for a walk along the sea.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank onlygod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karmela_viskovic, Manager at Hotel Valamar Sanfior, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Onlygod,

Thank you on your kind review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your holidays and had a great experience. We definitely look forward to welcome you again in our beautiful hotel.

Karmela Višković
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croatia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in May 2013 as family with small kid. Our room was in Casa, very, very big and clean, with spectacular sea and pool view. Hotel is newly renovated and decorated with style - they were really looked after details. All the staff was very kind and pleasant. Food was delicious with huge variety of dishes – the only problem can be if you easily gain weight. My 5,5 – years old son was thrilled with Maro club – girls were really funny and made big effort in animation. During this time my husband and I spent relaxing in the sauna - which was also clean and quiet.
I absolutely recommend this hotel – we already planning our next visit!

Room Tip: ask for rooms in Casa with sea and pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kikaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karmela_viskovic, Manager at Hotel Valamar Sanfior, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Kikaca,
Thank you for your recent stay and for your your valuable feedback. We greatly appreciate your kind comments and we are thrilled that you enjoyed all the great ammenities that make our hotel experience a great one.
We hope that you will visit us again soon.

Best Regards,
Karmela Višković
Hotel Direktor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rabac
0.2 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#2 of 13 in Rabac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Valamar Sanfior
Casa Valamar Sanfior
#6 of 13 in Rabac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adoral
Adoral
#3 of 13 in Rabac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mimosa - Lido Palace
Mimosa - Lido Palace
#8 of 13 in Rabac
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.8 mi away
Narcis
Narcis
#4 of 13 in Rabac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
21.1 mi away
Park Plaza Belvedere Medulin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valamar Sanfior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valamar Sanfior

Property: Hotel Valamar Sanfior
Address: Lanterna 2, Rabac 52221, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Rabac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rabac
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rabac
#1 Spa Hotel in Rabac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valamar Sanfior 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premium Beachfront hotel in Rabac for Couples This renovated romantic hotel, which is this year's winner of the Luxury Travel Guide Global Awards in the category "Luxury Sea View Hotel of the Year" together with Casa Valamar Sanfior,occupies a prime waterfront position on a pine-covered peninsula overlooking Rabac Bay. Immersed in Mediterranean greenery, the hotel offers redesigned rooms with balconies showcasing the surrounding natural beauty, pampering in the wellness centre, and a quiet patio for a relaxing escape together. With the old town of Labin just minutes away and a selection of beaches at your fingertips, you can mix and match the activities you love to create your own unforgettable Croatian holiday. Rooms at Valamar Sanfior Hotel with their special romantic design touches, such as four poster beds and spacious terraces, provide a great atmosphere for your next romantic holiday. To make your stay with a loved one even more special, hotel offers a great selection of romantic DVDs, breakfast for two served on your terrace, signature wellness treatments for couples, sparkling wine and chocolates upon arrival as well as great candlelight dining experiences on the restaurant terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Valamar Sanfior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valamar Sanfior Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing