We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Comfortable Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Valamar Sanfior

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Valamar Sanfior
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Rabac
Certificate of Excellence
Barnet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Comfortable Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Everything about the hotel was excellent - fantastic buffet food, warm and welcoming staff, great spa and pool and is in a really good location.

The only thing I would point out is that bedrooms differ greatly from room to room.

My room was comfortable, but had seen better days...

- The air-conditioner was ineffective and did not cool the room down.

- Furnishings were old and had knocks.

- Chairs were comfortable, but were old judging by the quality of the material.

- "Bath"/Shower was very odd. Instead of a full size shower or a bath, the "bath" was basically a raised seat inside the cubicle! It was also much higher than a regular bath, so getting in and out was a mission! I had to hold onto the towel rail to make sure I didn't slip - not very satisfactory.

- Some rooms, like mine, with a "sea view" offered great views of pine trees and if you lead out, you could see the Adriatic on one side and lean out even further and you could see part of the bay.

Other than the niggles with the room, I had a great stay.

To be fair, the hotel is actually due to be renovated next year, so that will be great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karmela_viskovic, Manager at Hotel Valamar Sanfior, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for your comment and for staying in Valamar Sanfior Hotel.
I am glad you found everything satisfactory end we are looking forward to hosting you in the future.
Lot of regards,
Karmela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    132
    16
    4
    5
See reviews for
108
168
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed here for four days, looking for a quiet relaxing break on my own. I think it's really important when you travel alone that the hotel is welcoming and treats you as well as couples or guests, and I certainly found this.
I would struggle to find fault with this place. Yes the bath is a little small, and the pillows thin, but you also have the option of choosing from a range of pillows. The rooms are modern, comfortable, and double glazed. Pool is clean, and stunnning with plenty of loungers (indoor and outdoor). Breakfast was amazing. I chose to eat at local restaurants rather than in the hotel, because I just prefer the experience, but there seemed to be a great variety of food on offer at dinner.
Service, everywhere from the restaurant to the bar to reception was very friendly.
The resort felt a little dated actually, but that was part of it's charm - it hasn't yet become pretentious or too sophisticated - just a simple place by the sea.
I had a wonderful break and would probably choose a Valamar for any other future trip to Croatia based on this experience.
I hear the hotel is being renovated in 2013, which is a shame, as I thought it quite perfect as it is!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SuziB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karmela_viskovic, Manager at Hotel Valamar Sanfior, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and are very proud you have awarded us top marks in your review. Your kind words encourage us to keep on providing the best possible services to our guests and we hope to be able to extend our warm hospitality to you on some other occasion.
Yours sincerely
Karmela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfsberg, Austria
Level Contributor
201 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

I've just stayed at this hotel for a long weekend away. I was rather sad to be leaving on the Sunday afternoon, which is always a good indication of a good stay. Situated right on the beach, this hotel looks to have been recently refurbished. The rooms are modern and comfortable although the pillows a bit thin. The half-bath/shower was somewhat odd, and I thought that the toilets with presentation trays were a thing of a by-gone era, but overall, the rooms were nice.
The hotel had an outdoor swimming pool, an indoor pool a spa and massage treatments. The bar area is nice although service could be a little more attentive. I loved the restaurant/breakfast hall. I took the half-board option with buffet breakfast and buffet dinner. It was really superb and the food was lovely and fresh. Chefs cook in front of you both at breakfast and dinner - so I can recommend the half-board option. The restaurant service was excellent and you can seemingly eat as much as you like. The wine choice is excellent and the local wine proved to be very good. The rocky beach with pebble shores is wonderful and the sea is crystal clear and inviting. perfect for swimming and snorkeling. A variety of outdoor activities is close by, such as boat trips, para-sailing etc. A variety of bars/restaurants are also on the sea front, just minutes walk from the hotel and the beach area. Beds can be hired for 30 kunar per day, or you can bring your own and sunbathe for free. Towels are provided by the hotel for free. There appears to be quite a lot of private parking too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ajt_austria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Hello,

We chose this hotel after reading many reviews.
Our expectations were confirmed:

Staff very attentive and welcoming. I think that is a characteristic of the people of Croatia or in that area at least. I say this because even outside the hotel, street vendors are smiling, attentive, respectful.

Food always fresh and diverse - both breakfast and dinner.

Cleanliness is a common thing and very well done in this hotel (room, restaurant, swimming pool, etc).

Room enough for space, clean, stylish. I really appreciated the comfort of the bed - very restful and healthy body.
The only thing not so good was the air conditioning. Fortunately the temperature outside does not required to use the device.

We liked the hotel and the area! From the terrace and the swimming pools (indoor and outdoor), the view is wonderful. The beaches are small, clean. Sea water is incredibly clear, perfect for diving. Aquatic landscape is wonderful.

I also chose this hotel so that we could visit nearby historic sites (and others): Labin, Rovinj, Pula.
Are also organized day trips to other destinations further away: Plitvice, Venice, nearby islands, etc.. We chose Venice - was great for a day.

I recommend this hotel especially families. It is a very good choice!

Sebastian, Romania

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebastian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Very nice, close to the sea, excellent food (lot of choice). Excellent service. The rooms are ok, not very big but confortable and clean. Swimming pool just perfect for the children. Great SPA to get massages at a very good price. We loved it (family with 4 children). Excellent 10 days.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Staff was friendly
Roomwas small (used to big rooms )
Cleaning personal was not good (never vacuumed)
Quality of food was avarage
Ammount of food was terrible
Accomodation arround the hotel and the location of the hotel was nice.
Rooms are verry silent wish was Exellent to be honest.
A.C. was giving heat instead of cold.
Bathrooms where clean
Didn't used the accomodations of the hotels
For young CouplesI suggest other hotels.

Its a good hotel if your on a road trip for for 2 weeks i cannot reccomend this one.

Room Tip: Ask for a big room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fl4M3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karmela_viskovic, Manager at Hotel Valamar Sanfior, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear Guest,
First of all I'd like to thank you for choosing Valamar Sanfior as your holiday destination.I'd like to thank you to have shared your toughts and opinions on our property.
I feel sorry we didn’t completely meet your expectations in the matter you comment to us.Your satisfaction is the goal we are trying to achieve and the reason for constant improvements regarding the quality of our services. I take this opportunity to invite you to visit us again next year to discover the news that we are preparing for 2013.
Best regards,
Karmela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
115 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Generally a pleasant and wonderful stay at Valemar Sanfior. Very good hotel, friendly staff, great location near the sea, and above all excellent food. The rooms are simple and without much additional equipment. Air conditioning worked poorly during our stay, there was still air and extremely hot in the room at night. Even though we told the front desk and asked that this was repaired or that we had other rooms, we achieved nothing but regrets that this was a general problem in the hotel .... just as if it would help us! We had expected us better follow-up by the hotel and felt that it destroyed much of oppholdet.The last nights we had to sleep with open windows, there were at least slightly better temperature, but a lot of noise from the neighboring hotel's music. Free wi-fi all over the hotel is great!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oddie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karmela_viskovic, Manager at Hotel Valamar Sanfior, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Dear Guests,
we would like to thank you for choosing Valamar Sanfior hotel. We are especially grateful for the time you have taken to give us a feedback. We appreciate your impressions regarding your stay in our facilities and we invite you next season to our new renovated hotel Valamar Sanfior ,
Best regards from Rabac,
Karmela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rabac hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#2 of 13 in Rabac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adoral
Adoral
#3 of 13 in Rabac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.8 mi away
Narcis
Narcis
#4 of 13 in Rabac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mimosa - Lido Palace
Mimosa - Lido Palace
#8 of 13 in Rabac
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Valamar Sanfior
Casa Valamar Sanfior
#6 of 13 in Rabac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hedera Hotel
Hedera Hotel
#10 of 13 in Rabac
3.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valamar Sanfior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valamar Sanfior

Property: Hotel Valamar Sanfior
Address: Lanterna 2, Rabac 52221, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Rabac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rabac
#1 Spa Hotel in Rabac
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rabac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valamar Sanfior 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premium Beachfront hotel in Rabac for Couples This renovated romantic hotel, which is this year's winner of the Luxury Travel Guide Global Awards in the category "Luxury Sea View Hotel of the Year" together with Casa Valamar Sanfior,occupies a prime waterfront position on a pine-covered peninsula overlooking Rabac Bay. Immersed in Mediterranean greenery, the hotel offers redesigned rooms with balconies showcasing the surrounding natural beauty, pampering in the wellness centre, and a quiet patio for a relaxing escape together. With the old town of Labin just minutes away and a selection of beaches at your fingertips, you can mix and match the activities you love to create your own unforgettable Croatian holiday. Rooms at Valamar Sanfior Hotel with their special romantic design touches, such as four poster beds and spacious terraces, provide a great atmosphere for your next romantic holiday. To make your stay with a loved one even more special, hotel offers a great selection of romantic DVDs, breakfast for two served on your terrace, signature wellness treatments for couples, sparkling wine and chocolates upon arrival as well as great candlelight dining experiences on the restaurant terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Valamar Sanfior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valamar Sanfior Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing