We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little value-for-money hotel with glorious sea views.”
Review of Hotel Amfora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Amfora
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Rabac
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Having just returned from a weeks stay at the Amfora I can only sing its praises. All the staff were very welcoming and the waitresses especially were always smiling and worked very hard on providing a great service at meal times. We thought the food was very good with plenty of choice. We had a room on the second floor with a sea view and what a view it was! Well worth the relatively small fee to upgrade. The hotel just needs a bit of TLC to improve the outside appearance maybe. However this didn't detract from a glorious week in beautiful Rabac.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SouthWalesValleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Amfora
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 95 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2010

Members reading most of my reviews will,I hope agree that I dont tend to make a habit of downgrading hotels visited.In this particular instance let me begin by mentioning the plus points about Amfora :
I do believe that this hotel occupies the best position in the village,very central to all local aminities and enjoying great views of the harbour from many of the rooms.Internally the hotel is immaculate and our room was spacious,well furnished and the bathroom had been recently re furbished,as stated in the hotel blurb, there is no lift,and the absence of a porter made taking luggage up to the 2nd floor something of an ordeal. The grounds were well tended, strangely, the small pool is sited directly beneath the large sun terrace and as a consequence never sees the sun.
And the minus points? where to begin.
The shower mount in our bathroom was broken and took two days to repair.
There was no TV reception throughout the hotel during the first four days of our stay,the rather grim lady manning the reception during the mornings simply shrugged her shoulders and said there was "a fault on the roof."
( The young lady receptionist on duty during the afternoon/evening was lovely ! )
The manager,very accasionally left his " lair " behind reception, and we never once observed him exchange a pleasantry with his guests.
And finally, THE FOOD ! I can honestly state that I have never in all my travels been offered food of quite such poor quality,well,possibly during my stint in the regular Army,but never in a hotel.And to compound the problem,on the third day an entire coachload of tourists arrived from Hungary ,decending en-masse upon the tiny self service buffet on the stroke of seven like a swarm of locusts.We took one look at what remained and decided to give dinner in the hotel a miss for the remaining four evenings.The dining room opened to a fine,spacious sun terrace,well equipped eith tables and chairs,on one warm,sunny morning a father and his two teenage sons attempted to take breakfast on the terrace( as per the hotel brochure )only to be literally told that this was " not permitted ", the fathers face was a study!
In conclusion I can only believe that this hotel must be operating on a very tight budget and will need to up the stakes to survive the British market.The staff generally were great!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iaindinnes_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights en route from dubrovnik to venice. Hotel did not look much from the outside but inside was perfect, a nice clean room with balcony (make sure and request a sea view, well worth it), a modern bathroom, friendly staff, great buffet breakfast and dinner and a lovely pool area. This hotel is definitely value for money. It is in a very central location close to the harbor in rabac (handy for our ealy morning ferry to venice). I would recommend it to anyone wishing to visit the beautiful rabac and nearby labin.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pauljmcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2008

Stayed 2 nights at Amfora in Rabac. The hotel is situated very central to town and offer a great view out of the see.
The rooms are a bit dated but the batchroom was very fresh.
We booked halfboard and the food was OK, more or less the same food our 2 days but well-tasted.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank SSK56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2007

We stayed for two weeks at the Hotel Amfora recently. On first impressions, after a transfer round the hairpin bends from Pula airport, we felt disappointed as the hotel looks "tired"; very seventies and in definite need of a makeover. HOWEVER........ the staff were fantastic. Very friendly and they couldn't do enough for you. This welcoming attitude was one we experienced everywhere we went in Croatia. The hotel is spotless; our room was thoroughly cleaned with fresh towels daily and linen every couple of days. The air conditioning worked effectively too(and you didn't have to pay extra for it either). Make sure that you book a room with a sea view (otherwise you will have a balcony overlooking the wheelie bins) and the sea view is stunning.
Food in the hotel is fine on the whole; usual continental type breakfast and a buffet dinner. Fresh salads, vegetables, usually conspicuous by their absence on the continent make an appearance here and there is a good range of meats and fish. Vegetarians have to take their chance as the pasta or risottos sometimes had meat or fish in them and the chef couldn't always tell you which dishes were meat free. We ate out several times and can highly recomment the Vale Vista restaurant overlooking the beach and the Restaurant Rapcanka near the hotel. The pizza place, Il Clandestino, adjacent to the pool area does fabulous pizzas for around £3 and the staff in there are very friendly too.
The pool area is very quiet and there are always sunbeds free. We chose to go to the beach and hire a bed and brolly there each day. The beach is a blue flag beach worth a visit as the water is the most amazing turquoise colour and crystal clear. We will remember 2007 as "The year of the Croc" as these are essential items of footwear for the beach , not unwelcome amphibians!
Go to Rabac if you want a quiet, relaxing time in beautiful surroundings and friendly people. Stay at the Hotel Amfora for its central location. We will go back for a week next year. Definitely.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellingqueen35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2007

We stayed at the Hotel Amfora for 2 weeks and found the location excellent.
The hotel is situated above a small, pretty harbour with loads of bars, shops and beaches within walking distance. There is plenty to do at the harbour - from hiring boats to water sports and we do recommend the parasailing.
The hotel was clean and comfortable with most of the staff helpful and friendly. A word of warning: In the brochure we booked the holiday from, it stated there was a nightclub 500m away... however it was directly underneath the hotel! The nightclub started at 9pm and went on until 5am, 5 days a week.
The first room we were given meant that we could hear the noise from the club very clearly - after a few sleepless nights, we spoke to reception who kindly moved us to the other end of the hotel - and with a beautiful sea view!

Breakfast had a selection of hot and cold meats, fruit, eggs, bread etc and dinner was a strange variety of potatoes, veg, pasta and meat.
Although plenty of it, you may end up with pasta, chips and sprouts!
We are both vegetarian and didnt find it a problem eating there. (After a week and a half, we did begin to eat out however!)

There are plenty of excursions available and we highly recommend the trip to Venice which takes about 4.5hrs by catermeran which picks up and drops you off at the harbour.
The rep we had was very knowledable and friendly, she also spoke fluent croatian and lived there, making her a good person to talk to about the good trips to take and the best places to see.

The weather for us was very dissapointing - the second week it rained and thundered continually!
Overall - a lack of tan but a good holiday.

Stayed: August 2007
5  Thank roojuice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2007

If you want a hectic week clubbing in the sunshine then don't go to Rabac. However if you want a peaceful break in a stunning location, then head for Rabac. Hotel Amfora is perfectly described in the Thomson brochure as "small and friendly". It is situated about 25m from the seafront, and is the most central of all the hotels in Rabac - some of the others like the Neptune are at least 20 minutes walk from the main harbour. The hotel staff are exceptionally helpful and the hotel itself is spotless. Pay the extra and book a room with a sea view (beautiful!) as the back of the hotel faces out onto a very uninspiring car-park. Rabac has a handful of bars and restaurants, enough for a weeks variety. The night-life is very low-key and finishes around midnight. The beaches are within easy walking distance to either side of the hotel, but there's no sand so you need aqua-shoes to walk over the pebbles,but the upside of this is that the sea is crystal clear and SO warm! Beach umbrellas and sunbeds can be hired per day for 25 kuna each (£2.50).Take goggles or a snorkel to fully appreciate all the life under the waves! The Fish Picnic boat trip to the island of Cres was well worth the 170kuna (£17) for a fab day out. You can visit Venice from Rabac. Boats leave once or twice a week from the harbour, but be warned, it is a very long trip, as the boats leave at 6.30am and do not return until 10pm, so don't do this the day before you are due home!
This was our second visit to Croatia, and we fell in love with the place all over again.
Hope that this has been of some use to you.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank pillwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rabac hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Valamar Sanfior
0.5 mi away
Casa Valamar Sanfior
Casa Valamar Sanfior
#5 of 13 in Rabac
38 reviews
0.4 mi away
Miramar Hotel
Miramar Hotel
#3 of 13 in Rabac
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Adoral
Adoral
#4 of 13 in Rabac
88 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hedera Hotel
Hedera Hotel
#10 of 13 in Rabac
143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mimosa - Lido Palace
Mimosa - Lido Palace
#9 of 13 in Rabac
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amfora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amfora

Address: Obala Marsala Tita 22, Rabac 52221, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Rabac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Rabac
Price Range: $110 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amfora 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Amfora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amfora Hotel Rabac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing