We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best break ever”
Review of Hotel Amfora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Amfora
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Rabac
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
325 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Best break ever”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Just returned from two weeks staying at the Amfora hotel. The whole pace was relaxing. If you want a fast holiday then this is not or you. The staff were all brilliant, the rooms were adequate and clean. The food was varied and plentiful. We booked a sea view room which is well worth it because the views were great. The rooms at the back seemed rather dark.
The resort was beautiful with plenty of walks and swimming in the warm Adriatic sea. Plenty of trips available. We did the trip on glass bottom boat and saw a lot of the unspoilt coastline.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    31
    18
    9
    5
See reviews for
12
61
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

just had a wonderful holiday at the charming & unspoilt resort of Rabac.The Amfora Hotel's rooms are very clean & comfortable , the food plentiful & satisfying ,complete with a staff serviice that could not be faulted. On the plus side the hotel's central location is ideally placed to stroll the promenade in either direction to access the many beaches.( Sea temperature @ 24 degrees). the minus side however was the occassional early am noise from local delivery/suppliers?. Could recommend the walk from the Amfora to Labin,quite strenuous but well worth the effort for the veiws. With the noise issue only a minor niggle i would certainly like to pay a return to the Amfora in the future.

Room Tip: sea view supplement won't be wasted
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Seaside hotel on beautiful grounds, with stunning views, and a path that leads to the centre of Hvar.

Pros:
- clean, friendly staff, on-site parking, free wi-fi, free breakfast, free shuttle to town, pool

Cons:
- small rooms

Would definitely recommend as a place to stay in Hvar.

Room Tip: Take advantage of a seaside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller4245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

spotless clean, great staff, good food ,wonderfull views from sea view rooms - worth paying etra.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Anne48_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

just returned from 2 weeks at the amfora,i have to say it was one of the best holidays we've ever had,the food was excellent, something different every night,the staff were wonderful, all of them could'nt do enough for you and so was our rep,i would recommend the fish picnic,rovini,opatija and porec,we also went to venice for the day, tiring but worth it roughly about £55 each we didnt get back until 9.15pm, and there was a tray of food waiting for us in our room which i thought was a nice touch,also there is now a kettle in every room so take tea bags etc also we found a great little wine shop with wooden benches outside wine 30p a glass lovely

Room Tip: we did'nt pay the extra for a sea view so our room overlooked the carpark and houses on the hill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alexsarich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Amazing place, amazing hotel, what a view! We had a water facing balcony over the pool, it was perfect. Nice room, nice shower, bed, great big breakfast. 7 minute nice walk along the water to town.

Room Tip: facing over the pool area, otherwise you have a view of bushes and not too busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dgcolemans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

Last minute package with Thomson and no recent reviews, so I did not expect to much of the Amfora. All staff were excellent, nothing was to much trouble. The hotel is a little tired but the ugly concrete 70's type shopping boardwalk on the sea side of the hotel makes the Amfora look scruffy. Inside the hotel all public areas were spotless. We emailed the hotel for a sea view room as its cheaper doing that direct rather than through thomson. It's 60 kuna a day (£6) but well worth it. The hotel has 2 floors of accommodation so get top floor front for a fantastic view of Rabac harbour and bay. No lift at this hotel so climbing 3 floors from the small garden and small pool area is only for the fit. Disabled and elderly could struggle at this hotel. Nice big balcony in room but no balcony light. Only one spare electric socket in room. Plenty of wardrobe space and hangers. Great shower and bathroom and room beautifully cleaned each day. No wifi at this hotel, so it's a 5 minute walk to the harbour front for a free open rabac hotspot connection. Only 17 guests for our week and I suspect this affected the quality of the food which varied from excellent to poor. Biggest fault was get there after 7pm and the buffet selection was cold. Coffee in a urn at breakfast was always luke warm. The dining room does not have a bread toaster it provides a sandwich toaster to make toast with.... Hopeless. Orange juice and Grapefruit juice was probably the worse I have ever tasted at any hotel. The hotel staff are so nice it is inconceivable to complain to them about these small shortfalls. Rabac is quiet in May, most of the stalls and cafes are open but the restaurants are struggling to in early season. If it rains everything shuts early. The small pools at the hotel are not for serious swimmers and the biggest one is completely in the shade all day. Sea temp is 18c in mid may so we swam in the sea. Plenty of bars near the hotel and with the current exchange rate Croatia is still cheap and good value. Cup of coffee varies from 80p to £1.25p. Beer about £1.50 to £2 for half litre. I would stay at the Amfora again if the price was right. Its the only hotel close to rabac harbour and centre and the view and staff tip the balance in its favour.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank Invesure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rabac hotels
0.2 mi away
Adoral
Adoral
#3 of 13 in Rabac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#2 of 13 in Rabac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Valamar Sanfior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Narcis
Narcis
#4 of 13 in Rabac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Valamar Sanfior
Casa Valamar Sanfior
#5 of 13 in Rabac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hedera Hotel
Hedera Hotel
#9 of 13 in Rabac
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amfora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amfora

Property: Hotel Amfora
Address: Obala Marsala Tita 22, Rabac 52221, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Rabac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Rabac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amfora 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Amfora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amfora Hotel Rabac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing