We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over extended!”
Review of Allegro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Allegro Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Rabac
Adderbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Over extended!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Hotel location is very beautiful, down a narrow road on a hillside, and that caused the first problem. The approach road was steep, narrow and downhill, with cars parked everywhere. We actually drove past the hotel as the hotel entrance and the only hotel sign had cars parked all across the front of it and so we couldn't see it. The road was too narrow to turn around so we had to try to reverse up the hill, meeting other cars coming down. Not a good start.
The reception is quite plain and bland, but the reception staff were always very friendly and help. The rooms are so very narrow that there is only a small gap to walk past the bed. The beds are the type with wooden corners that stick out past the mattress. This meant we kept walking into the corners and left us with many bruises on our shins for the rest of our holiday. The pillows were the worst that I've ever come across in any hotel.The bathrooms are small, pain and functional. The best rooms have a lovely balcony and sea view.
The biggest problem is the restaurant. I have to say the restaurant manager is a lovely lady who was always cheerful, helpful and efficient. However, the restaurant is just too small. The hotel consists of 3 different sections, which look as if they were built at different times. The restaurant may have been big enough when the hotel first opened, but it is not sufficient now. There are a few tables for two or four, but the majority of the tables are for six or eight. This is fine for the large coach tour groups who want to sit together, but not for a couple or small family. The tables are also so close together that you can't push the chair back to get out. This is a major problem when you're in the middle and the meal is always a buffet. To compound the small restaurant problem, dinner was only from 7pm to 9pm. Other Valamar hotels serve dinner until 9.30pm, which could help here. For breakfast there was always a queue and a long wait for eggs. During dinner there was often a long queue for the freshly prepared foods and pizzas. The dining room was always very busy and noisy, and was not at all an enjoyable experience.
The hotel is in a nice location with lovely views and a short walk from the sea and promenade. The pool area is quite nice, but not very big, and it only manages to cope because so many people prefer to go down to the sea to lie and swim.
Overall. i can't recommend this hotel, and i wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OxfordTraveller888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allegro_GM, General Manager at Allegro Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Mr and Mrs Williams,

Thank you for letting us have your invaluable feedback following your recent stay with us.
Whilst I am pleased to note that you enjoyed our very beautiful hotel location, pool area and in particular our lovely restaurant manager and very friendly and helpful reception staff I am sorry to learn of your disappointments with narrow of room. Each one of our 180 rooms will vary slightly in size even within the same room category and we will always try and allocate the most spacious available room in the category booked. All of the rooms looks out over either the crystal-clear Adriatic and beautiful bay of Rabac or the Mediterranean parkland with its lush pines.

I very much appreciate the inconvenience of not getting right pillow. We have variety of pillows (Hypo-allergenic, Orthopaedic, Magnetic Therapy, Aromatic lavender, etc) and for the pillow which best meets your needs is just enought to contact reception. Please rest assured that this will be followed up to ensure that we are much more helpful in future in this respect.

I am highly concerned to read of your disappointments with your dining experience. Restaurant will probabbly remain the same even further, but we are continuosly improving and enlarging our facilities, so our guests can feel their part of privacy.

Besides the issues mentioned above I hope that you will give us the opportunity and the pleasure to welcome you back to All Inclusive Light Allegro Hotel.


Kind regards
Zoran Rajković
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    107
    51
    22
    10
See reviews for
104
94
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We spent 1 week in September in hotel Allegro. We had light all-inclusive service. The food was great, always fresh and there was enough of it even if you came at the end of breakfast, lunch or dinner. The staff was very friendly, helpful and nice. We felt really welcome. Although the room was small it was big enough for a family of three. The bathroom was ok, but the shower was absolutely great. However, we had a small problem because there was a water leakage from the ceiling and the floor was always wet. We mentioned that to the staff, but they didn't do anything about it.
It was really great that the sea is just 2-minutes away from the hotel.

The price is ok, the hotel is easy to find and I definitely recommend it to families with children.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ninanana556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allegro_GM, General Manager at Allegro Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Esteemed guest,

Thank you for recently being our guest and for taking the time to share your visit highlights!

We apologize for the lapse in service you experienced, but glad that you enjoyed your stay overall. I'm very happy that you found our staff to be consistently courteous and kind. I'll share your glowing feedback with all of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to All Inclusive Light Allegro Hotel soon.

Regards,
Zoran Rajković
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Lombardia, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Beautiful ... Very polite and helpful staff ... I can tell that I am very pleased
Food excellent, rooms clean, service in the hall and bar with excellent .
I can only thank very much for the wonderful personnel carried vacation
THANK YOU!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allegro_GM, General Manager at Allegro Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear Barbara,

On behalf of All Inclusive Light Allegro Hotel staff and me personally, I would like to thank you very much for sending your valuable review on our hotel.

We are glad that the hotel met all your expectations and that you had a memorable stay in Rabac.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back for another pleasant stay at All Inclusive Light Allegro Hotel.

Kind regards,
Zoran Rajković
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samobor, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Just back from our holidays and i must say we didn't send our usual postcards to family members( "nothing to write home about").
Anyway, where to start, where to start? Let's start with us coming to the hotel and not knowing where the main entrance is. I have uploaded couple of photos that clearly show lack of visible sign or hotel name on the main entrance to the hotel itself which was rather dissapointing and upseting since we were not sure where to go.
When we eventually figured out where to go, we entered the reception area which happened to be the ugliest reception area i have ever seen in my life.
It basically looked like a bus terminal or something,really horrible.
Temperature inside was around 35 or 40 degrees Celsius ( no air con).
Staff at the reception desk were OK and went quickly through the paperwork, we took our room key and left.
Room was nice, good beds, nice bath, everything worked perfectly, aircon has saved our life since this was hottest week of the year in Croatia with temperatures around 35-40 C.
Staff in the hotel was OK in general, but our cleaning lady must be applauded for being very friendly and helping when we needed help.
Bars and terraces were OK, night entertainment was OK and i won't comment on swimming pool since we don't travel to the sea to swim in the pool.
But....
Food was bad.
Main chef was really bad.
We care about our food and i must say we were shocked how tasteless the food was.
Kitchen was a mess. It was like two guys that never cooked before were left to their own devices, given cookbook and being told to try and do their best.
They even had a courage to put one of those "chefs" cook in the front of the restaurant, to make something really horrible in wok and called that "showcooking".
That trully was a ghastly experience.
But,also, everything else we tried tasted like crap.
I can imagine somebody making scrambled eggs taste like nothing, but how do you make authentic Istrian or Dalmatian dishes taste like nothing when they are supposed to have strong and specific flavours from wine, herbs and spices?
So, after a couple of days, when we realized that nothing they ever make will taste any good, we adopted a new technik, which was selecting food that even they couldn't screw up ( like parma ham, cheese, butter, fruit jams,joghurt, milk).
Only we didn't count on them serving that food so poorly it was off-putting, for instance joghurt being served in a big bowl so you had to take it from there with a spoon and put it into your glass, same goes for fruit jams or butter being cut into pieces and served instead of being served prepackaged.
Very unhygienic and very unappetizing.
To sum it up, ingredients were good, but badly cooked and served.
Another thumbs down go to all inclusive service which it is not, eventhough they call it "light all inc".
How can you put guy squeeze orange juice and charge 20kn for 0,3dcl in the middle of all- inc. buffett and keep a straight face?
And did i mention that no air con was present in the restaurant so we were soaking wet after every meal?
Anyway, i think this is a good and clean hotel with nice rooms, but food is bad and room with all inclusive is too pricey.
We won't be coming back

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the park side for they are quieter and cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jurodens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allegro_GM, General Manager at Allegro Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you so much for your recent review and for your stay with us. We pride ourselves on our very friendly and competent staff so thank you for mentioning it. I very much regret to read that we did not succeed in making your stay special because of some architectural and landscaping features of the property, which unfortunately cannot be influenced from our side at the moment.

Whilst I was pleased that you enjoyed our rooms and in particular our housekeeping service in general, I felt sorry to hear that our food quality in restaurant were unsatisfactory. I have discussed your comments regarding food quality with my chef in order to prevent any shortcomings and to make sure that we always keep all our services on the highest level. The quality of our food should never be of question, so I appreciate your feedback.

I very much hope that we can yet encourage you to stay with us again so I can put your above concerns to rest.

Zoran Rajković
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We had great 9 days in Allegro. Staff was really helpful, room that we stayed in was spotless thanks to Lorena :) and had wonderful sea view. Food was very good (always fresh vegetables and fruits), restaurant is nice, waiters were kind, always smiling as well as the restaurant manager Dragana.
Only minus for us was the fact that there were lots and lots of children, but thats great for family vacation. :) Hotel provides variety of activities- table tennis, aquabics, animators for kids, swimming lessons... Beach is nearby, but there is a small swimming pool with salty water- max. depth 1.6 m. :(
All in all- would come back next summer.
Dragan & Milana

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allegro_GM, General Manager at Allegro Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Milana & Dragan,

it feels good reading yours review and thank you for taking the time to write it.
I am glad you enjoyed all that the hotel has to offer and that everything was up to your expectations.
I sincerely hope you get the chance to visit us again.

All the very best from all the staff members!
Zoran Rajković
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We just came back from our vacation spend in Allegro Hotel which is situated in small peninsula with beautiful pebble beaches. Even these days temperatures in Istria were at maximum we absolutely loved our stay in this lovely hotel. We were impressed with hospitality personnel. They will do anything for you!
Rooms are clean, food is great. We loved Friday Mediterranean dinner accompanied with typical local music. During evening hours you can enjoy in animation programs at outside terrace. One evening we take part in Olympic pool games. It was funny! We recommend this hotel and we will be back!

.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goran P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allegro_GM, General Manager at Allegro Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Goran,

thank you very much for writing such a fantastic review. We are delighted that you recognized our efforts. This is what gives us a motivation for further satisfied guests.
See you back again!

Regards from Rabac!
Zoran & Allegro management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slovenia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

very nice option, you get a lot for what you have paid. We did not have any luck by reservation with a travel agency in our country, because they had stop booking for this hotel. So I wrote to Valamar e-mail, and they said that this hotel does not offer ALL INCLUSIVE in this periode. I did a reservation anyway - but when I arrived to hotel I saw people wearing bracelet for all inclusive! so this is very bad that people who works for Valamar does not what are they selling.

Overall it was great! Very nice staff in hotel, open minded people,good food and great location. We got fantastic room with wiev on the sea and pool.
Rooms are renovated, clean and big enough for great vacation. They have very small TV so if big TV is important for you, this is not a good choice :)

The only thing that I would change is wirelles internet. It did not worked!!! Not even in a lobby!! So if you need internet on vacation - you will not have it. I sugest to hotel that buy new and bigger modem :)

Beaches are very modern, clean and water also looked clean.

I would like to praise all staff for their smiles and patience when people in hotel were noisy, when they over eated - because of all inclusive and when they were rude.

I suggest people that when they see food and drink they do not act like they see them for the first time in their life, please be polite and take so much food they can eat :)) and that they move in hotel quietly because they are not allone in hotel¨!

Room Tip: rooms with sea side is worth of every EUR
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dejch83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allegro_GM, General Manager at Allegro Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Dear dejch83, thank you for taking your time for writing this review. We are happy to hear that you took a break from everyday stress and that you came at home relaxed and rested. Like you said, the internet access is possible only in the front office for the moment, but we assure you that our intention is to introduce free internet access also in rest of hotel public facilities. Thank you for staying at our hotel and for recognizing the effort of our employees to exceed the expectations of all guests. We do hope you will visit us again next time you are in Rabac.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rabac hotels
0.0 mi away
Miramar Hotel
Miramar Hotel
#2 of 13 in Rabac
328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valamar Sanfior
0.2 mi away
Casa Valamar Sanfior
Casa Valamar Sanfior
#6 of 13 in Rabac
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Amfora
Hotel Amfora
#11 of 13 in Rabac
92 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mimosa - Lido Palace
Mimosa - Lido Palace
#9 of 13 in Rabac
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marina Hotel
Marina Hotel
#13 of 13 in Rabac
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allegro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegro Hotel

Property: Allegro Hotel
Address: Sv.Andrija 4, Rabac 52221, Croatia (Formerly All Inclusive Light Allegro Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Rabac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Rabac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Allegro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Allegro Hotel combines peace and tranquility of nature with pure family fun. Scents of pine trees and Mediterranean flora fill its bright rooms while floor to ceiling windows ensure spectacular views. Exciting activities for kids of all ages offered by the nearby Maro Club give you a chance to unwind by the pool, take a biking tour or enjoy the delights prepared by our skilled chefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Allegro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort All Inclusive Castor Rabac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing