We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveler rating
49
67
41
4
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
67
41
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscounted stepsrelaxing holidaymobility problemsevening mealrooms are nicebeach shoesrestaurants and shopswater taxiwi fienjoyable staypool area isplenty of choiceexcellent locationper daysea viewcoastal pathnoddy train
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 167 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2014

just arrived back home from a weeks holiday in this hotel. I read all the trip advisor reports first. This hotel is very clean, bright and fresh. Our room was a mini suite, it had loads of room and cupboard space. the staff are very friendly. the bar man Livio, was fab, he told us where to go and see things. I would say it's more a 4 star ! . We over looked the chapel on the hill, it's bells rung at 9am, which we could here, but not too loud and it made us get up for breakfast ! Breakfast was very good, easy and calm, no huge queues.
The hotel is near to the town, a little train can take you there, cost about £2 . Town is beautiful. Weather was hot hot hot ! Sea was cold ! But very clean and clear. There are plenty of spaces to sunbath and swim and a lot to do in this resort. I'm going back next year....... Would recommend this hotel. There are a lot of stairs to climb, but what do you expect when the views you can see are stunning from this hotel ! There is also a long flat paved way up to the hotel. Croatia is a beautiful place, it's stunning, I've always been to Spain, but this beats it ! Try it and see for your self........thank you to all the staff . Ace holiday, see you next year......

Room Tip: Junior suite.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sadie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Gran Vista Plava Laguna, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for the stay in our hotel Laguna Gran Vista.

The whole tem is delighted to read your lovely review! We were especially proud to receive your compliments dedicated to all the service and our staff, thank you one more time.
Words like yours are giving us the best motivation. It will be our pleasure to host you again next year and till then we send our best regards from sunny Poreč.

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

My girlfriend and i stayed at the Gran Vista for a week from July 16th and really enjoyed the place. The hotel is of a high standard,exceptionally clean and well-attended and in my eyes goes beyond its 3-star rating.
As a base its location is excellent,Porec is easily reached via the inexpensive water taxi from the bay or by the tourist train or by a pleasant cycle ride but do not be mislead by travel agents' descriptions of being a '15 minute walk' to Porec...i myself walk a lot and i'm a keen runner and i reckon its at least a 50-60min trip on foot.
Food is good,buffet breakfast is varied and plentiful and the evening buffet was also of a high standard although we chose to eat out a lot as eating out here is good. The resort itself is very busy but very safe,perfect for families and is ridiculously clean & tidy,as are the hotel grounds..The hotel is set back from the main drag so the steps can be an issue for some but not for us,the main entrance has a long,flat drag with a few steps at the end. We had a week of mixed weather ranging from exceptionally hot to cloudy with light rain and the odd storm and we found plenty to do regardless. The pool area is nice,very clean,we spent some time here and there was never a battle for sun loungers which was nice to see and the adjacent terrace is very comfortable too with a wonderful view of the bay.
Our room was basic but comfortable with a small balcony and VERY clean but the bathroom is a bit of a squeeze and some people might find the small gap between the bathroom and the shower a potential problem.
Overall we felt this hotel was excellent,we go on holiday to see places,not to stay in hotel rooms or not venture beyond the hotel itself and it ticked all of the boxes for us when we were there,although i myself prefer family-run properties rather than the large places such as this.
I don't leave negative comments but there are a few things that i feel could be improved..firstly free wifi (it should be mandatory now),secondly the sun loungers are uncomfortable,thirdly checkout time is too early at 10am and lastly the positioning of the toilet in relation to the shower in the room.
Otherwise this place is great!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Gran Vista Plava Laguna, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing with us the feedback about the stay in our hotel Laguna Gran Vista.
We are sure that in your detailed comment our future guests will find many useful information. It’s a pleasure to hear that you were satisfied with our gastronomic offer, as well as our resort and the poll area.

We hope that on your sightseeing you have explored the countless beauties of our Istria and would like to invite you to stay again with us on your next visit to Poreč. To note, we have taken your suggestions already in consideration.

In the hope that we will have the honour of welcoming you again we send our warmest regards,

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We have just returned from two weeks at the Hotel Laguna Gran Vista and we had an excellent holiday despite mixed weather. The hotel is in a wonderful location just 5 kilometres from Porec and it ticked nearly all the boxes for us. My husband and I took our 16 year old son and we were worried that he might be bored. He wasn't. The staff were all very friendly and there must have been about twenty different nationalities (at least) in the hotel for them to deal with. I think the staff are amazing and the hotel is well managed and spotlessly clean. Our room was cleaned ever single day. It is also worth mentioning that the hotel is very quiet on an evening, no loud voices or people coming in late. If you want peace and quiet this is the place for you.

The buffet breakfasts and dinner were good with plenty of choice and the "free" wind was definitely most welcome. My only small complaint is that sometimes the food could have been hotter and a few things were hard to find.

There are a lot of steps, it is true (157 in total up to our room) so I would not recommend this hotel for anyone elderly or with mobility problems, bad knees etc. However, I am a 52 year old woman and I managed them perfectly well. In fact there was a certain sense of achievement on reaching our room every evening.

All in all, we had a lovely time at the hotel. It is in a great location next to a bus - and boat- stop and there are some lovely walks nearby as well as numerous sports activities. There are also good bars (wifi could be better) and restaurants. Porec, Rovinj and Vsar are all worth a visit as well as places further afield such as Venice and Lake Bled. Guests are spoilt for choice when it comes to places to visit and numerous excursions are available. We would definitely return here if there weren't so many other parts of the world we want to see.

Room Tip: We were in Block C and it was very peaceful.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Bowgetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Gran Vista Plava Laguna, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for this lovely review describing your stay in our hotel Laguna Gran Vista.

We are extremely happy to read that you had a nice, relaxing vacation and that we were able to meet your expectations. On this occasion, we especially thank you for the compliments dedicated to our staff. It’s very encouraging knowing that their effort is being recognized by our dear guests.

If you decide to visit Poreč again we will be more than happy to host you and provide you with one more great vacation.
Till then, we send our best,

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Nice view of the bay. Not far away there are a bike rental and street with restaurants and shops. Halfway to Porec you can find a cozy restaurant with home cooking and great slivovitz. The hotel is in a quiet, calm place, the road to the city is through the pine grove

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anychin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Gran Vista Plava Laguna, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear guest,

thank you for the stay in our hotel Laguna Gran Vista. We are glad to hear you spent a nice vacation in out facility and would use this opportunity to invite you to another visit.

We would be honored of welcoming you again as one of our guests and till then please accept our best regards from Poreč.

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

we have just got back from 2 weeks in porec, this was the second hotel we stayed in as purlpe travel messed up our holiday accomodation,, so this hotel was a breath of fresh air. from the first, fabulous sea views, even the garden views are very nice as you have a tower with church, in a huge garden, i would say anyone with any walking difficulties should avoind this hotel, as there are an awful lot of steps, actualy that goes for the whole of porec. still we like a nice walk so not a problem for us, we found the staff very professional, and pleasant, happy to pass the time of day, answer your questions and have a chat, to food was plentyfull, good choice, but always cold, very difficult to get a hot meal,once again, the bathroom was minute, and the shower cubicle needed a good scrub, i'm seriously thinking of taking a great big bottle of bleach with me on my next holiday. or the room staff. need more training, the room had an awful masky damp smell, but then , the ceiling in the bathroom had a leak from the upstairs room , so that's probably why,i must say, i think it should become law that if you have a hotel with a pool you should provide towles, with the air weight restrictions, an us thinking we were going into a 4 star hotel, we didn't pack towles, so we had to buy them, other countries manage to supply pool towles, either renting them, or free to use,
porec and croatia is a fabulous country to go to, i always felt very safe. i also left a bum bag in a bar/ restaurant with inhailers, and bit.s in, when i went back the next day, they had it, and kept it for me, i though t that was very nice and would highly recomment bar spacio.this hotel is in a very nice position, with lovely views, it would be worth spending the extra to get a balcony and view, once again in this hotel none of the local information from the travel agents was in english, so if you wnated to know something it was always the case of asking, or going to the information centre, we hired a car, very resonable, a recomendation from the hotel, ( had to pay in kunar, don,t take credit cards ) but it did enable us to see a lot of the country and visit lake bled, that was wonderful, chocolate box pretty. all in all not a bad hotel, but there were far more nicer 3 star hotels in porec.

Room Tip: a few small things could realy improve this hotel, i would have given sleep quality 5 if it wasn't for the hoards of teenagers, running around and knocking doors, and talking and shouting outside the rooms, but i can,t blame the hotel for that,
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Gran Vista Plava Laguna, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear guest,

We thank you for reviewing our Hotel Laguna Gran Vista here on Tripadvisor after having chosen it as your holiday facility in Croatia.

It is with delight we read your compliments about our hotel's position, food and drinks offer and Croatia in general. This doesn't mean we don't take seriously into consideration your critics about cleanliness. Thank you for them as well, we will use them as constructive ones in order to improve this service until the next season.

We would like to invite you to visit us again within any Laguna Porec structure.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews