We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Close to City Centre”
Review of Pical Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pical Apartments
Ranked #30 of 33 Hotels in Porec
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We stayed in these apartments for a few days, we did now know the locations was so close to the beach and city centre. They have a small outdoor patio to eat on, a decent sized living room and private bedroom. Really small kitchen but it is functional. The place was clean, nice a bit outdated maybe from Yugoslavian time? For the money it cannot be beat, we came staying in an expensive Italian hotels days before and were comfortable here. Note: Speak languages other than English when negotiating for a boat tour for the best price.

Room Tip: This is a cluster of condos on a circle type drive behind private drive you access with a security c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adriatic_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 66 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2011

My family stayed at Apartments Pical in June 2011. We had never been to Croatia and were excited to stay near the beach. When we arrived, it took a bit for us to find where to check in, because we weren't told.

Our room was on the second floor in a building on the far side of the complex. The room was a big disappointment, but it was due to my lack of research, not because the information was incorrect. The bathroom could have been cleaner. A window had been left open and the tub and sink had dead gnats all over them.

The apartment was small. No AC, no TV and tiny kitchen. However, the location more than made up for the unimpressive room. We (even my two year old) could walk down to the beach. At the beach there was boat rental, a playground, and a beautiful view of the old town.

We ate at the hotel's buffet several evening meals and it was good, but a bit overpriced. We used the hotel pool and game room which the kids enjoyed.

Overall this is a decent place to stay. If you want fancy or the extras of AC and TV, this is not for you. For us, it was a reasonably priced place to sleep at night. We were gone much of the day and spent only a little time in the room.

One last note, if I was a woman traveling alone, I would not choose these apartments. The room was not very secure and the locks were ancient skeleton keys on one of the doors. I kept things locked in the trunk of my car, because it would not have taken much effort to break in and steal from the room.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ladyfromkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

I've visited Apartments Pical with my family in July 2010. It was our second visit to Porec, Croatia. The Apartments are very conviniently located just 10-15 mins by walk from the historical center of Porec. It is possible to arrange breakfast and dinner in the nearby Zagreb hotel (pay attention - check-in is located also in the Zagreb Hotel).
Of course, this apartments are a little bit outdated. The furniture seems to be good only for summer-house. But anyway, they are very well equipped with kitchen amenities, refrigerator and kettle.
So if you are ready for some aestetical inconviniences ;0 - Pical Apartments is not bad choice

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aexander_M-1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

Recently stayed in Apartments Pical and was impressed by the location and cleanliness. It may be a little worn and dated, but this is offset by the price.

The apartment consists of a lounge, with two narrow sofas, two armchairs, coffee table, table and four chairs - a little cramped but adequate for two of us. The bedroom has ample wardrobe space and a very comfortable bed (actually two singles pushed together). The kitchen is small with a fridge with icebox, twin sinks, and twin hotplates which heat very quickly. There's no kettle, but the hotplates sufficed. There's a full, if mismatched, range of crockery, pans and utensils, again very clean. Finally, the bathroom has a small, but deep bath with shower over (a bit of a problem with water on the floor when used extensively, but dealt with promptly by the staff when reported). Water is hot and immediate.

We ate on the balcony, (table and four chairs) - the outlook suffered a little by the construction which felt enclosed when seated there.

Part of Hotel Zagreb complex (friedly, helpful staff), the apartments are set in a woodland park with ample carparking immediately but unobtrusively outside. The shore with bathing and other facilities are a short walk away and a 15 minutes pleasant walk takes you to attractive Porec Old Town, with its wide range of restaurants. Use of the Hotel Zagreb facilities is possible (eg. evening entertainment, pool etc.)

Apartments Pical represent good value and are a good base for exploring Istria.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Petalancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb_hotel, General Manager at Pical Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2011

Dear Petalancaster,
Thank You very much for taking time to write such a comprehensive and objective review. I am sure many future guests will find it helpful.
We're all hoping to see You again soon.

Kind regards
Hotel and apartments management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2010

From booking the trip, we were clearly instructed to check-in at the Zagreb Hotel. Using ID Riva Tours, their host was also at our service.

Reception was very helpful when it came to service, however when we asked for toilet paper we had ran out of, we were told we had to buy it ourselves (there is a small supermarket right next to the hotel, but I can imagine the prices there to be slightly higher than your average supermarket in Croatia). Though it was not to expensive at about £1, this is why I thought it should have been an included service.

When we booked apartments, we had already decided that we didn't want an all-inclusive stay, freedom to eat and go about however we pleased. We also knew that services would be limited as it is NOT an hotel, you are choosing apartments -- a bit of independence. Prior to our travel we were already advised to bring extra towels if we so pleased. Upon arrival in the appartments, there was a clear explainatory leaflet stating the towels would be refresed every 3 days, bed linnen every week, the apartments were cleaned upon arrival of new guests (so yes, no cleaning). We had brought 2 extra towels each, which -for us- was exactly enough to cover those 3 days.

The interior was indeed dated and basic, but very clean upon arrival. The kitchen was very small and I wouldn't want to cook there, but that was not the plan for us anyway. I have not checked out the kitchenware, as we did not need it, but I imagine it to be basic as well. The double bed room was fairly sized inclusive of plenty of storage space. Though we found the matrass too hard and the pillows were of an uncomfortable size (too big) and fabric. But that's very personal. The bathroom was of a fair size as well, but you cannot lock the door. We didn't need to as we never lock the door at home either.

The hotel, very near the apartments (<5 min walk), provides all sorts of conveniences - there is free Wi-Fi, a bar, a buffet-restaurant, a excursion desk and a kiosk where you can buy your chocolate and paper.

Food is cheaper if you go out and find a place downtown. Breakfast and dinner are not included when booking apartments (naturally) - breakfast goes at 40kn (~£5) per person and dinner is 100kn (~£12.50) per person (exclusive of drinks). Drinks are slightly overpriced. We wanted to enjoy a cheese platter at the bar one day at 25kn (~£3.50), which should have included 4 kinds of cheeses, however this one had only 3. Not being upset with this, we notified our waiter of this and he apoligized for the inconvenience - providing us with an additional platter, 4 kindes of cheeses this time. However, after this occurance, this waiter did not return to the level of service he had provided prior. We had to order at the bar and bring it to our table ourselves - which was just weird.

All and all, I found this stay comfortable but interesting.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlotteVLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2008

We got a fantastic deal on this apartment, paying only 22euros per night, so we were expecting basic. To be honest basic is what we got, but were pleasantly surprised to find the apartment spotlessly clean, the beds were really comfy with fresh white linen, the shower was powerful and hot and everything worked! The bath was rather small, but was adequate, and the kitchen comprised of a fridge with small freezer compartment and a 2 ring hob. If you intend to cater for yourselves I doubt this is the apartment for you, however if like us you like to eat out, the fridge and ability to make tea and coffee were more than adequate. The apartments are part of the Hotel Zagreb, which has a nice pool area with lots of beds and brollies, and a pool bar and restaurant which serves nice fresh well cooked food. The complex is approximately 15 minutes walk or a 5 minute cycle from the town centre and only about 100 meters from the sea. The decor in the apartments is dated and basic (see pics), but if all you want is a base to explore in a nice location then you really can't beat them. If however you want a bit of luxury give them a miss!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank elsiebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2007

Not sure who previous review writer booked with but we had no problems at all. We booked with valamar.com( they own the apartments and hotel chain) . we had a private transfer to and from the apartments which was free from valamar- excellent service. we knew to check in at hotel zagreb and the staff were always very polite and friendly. full use of all the hotel facilities included. The position of the apartments is excellent- near the beach and a short stroll to the town centre of porec. The apartments were very clean on arrival and all beds were made up. we had a 2 bedroomed apartment which also had a sitting area, terrace and a small kitchen. The apartments are in need of modernisation but i think the decor reflects the croatian way of life. There are so many excellent restaurants in porec we didnt cook in the place - mainly used the fridge. . if you want a resort which is full of english people and english bars then porec is not for you. Porec is a beatiful, safe place which attracts mainly families and couples of all ages. it was our second time to porec and can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank DerbyshireMoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porec hotels
0.1 mi away
Pical Hotel
Pical Hotel
#28 of 33 in Porec
412 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#25 of 33 in Porec
385 reviews
0.7 mi away
Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Valamar Zagreb Hotel
Valamar Zagreb Hotel
#6 of 33 in Porec
285 reviews
1.5 mi away
Valamar Diamant Hotel
1.2 mi away
Valamar Isabella Villas
Valamar Isabella Villas
#14 of 33 in Porec
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pical Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pical Apartments

Address: Borik bb, Porec 52440, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Porec
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Porec
Price Range: $67 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pical Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments in Poreč for the right blend of affordable price and great comfort. Situated in the beautiful Mediterranean landscape, Pical apartments offer spacious apartments with balconies at an affordable price making them a great choice for younger guests. Poreč sites and nightlife are only a short stroll away while the beach is just down the road. For a carefree stay, guests can use all of the restaurant and animation programs of the Valamar Zagreb Hotel. More active guests can enjoy the facilities of the sports centre nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Apartments Pical Porec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing