We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap price - average expectations”
Review of Pical Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pical Apartments
Ranked #30 of 33 Hotels in Porec
Murom, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“cheap price - average expectations”
Reviewed November 24, 2011

I've visited Apartments Pical with my family in July 2010. It was our second visit to Porec, Croatia. The Apartments are very conviniently located just 10-15 mins by walk from the historical center of Porec. It is possible to arrange breakfast and dinner in the nearby Zagreb hotel (pay attention - check-in is located also in the Zagreb Hotel).
Of course, this apartments are a little bit outdated. The furniture seems to be good only for summer-house. But anyway, they are very well equipped with kitchen amenities, refrigerator and kettle.
So if you are ready for some aestetical inconviniences ;0 - Pical Apartments is not bad choice

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aexander_M-1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    23
    20
    5
    9
See reviews for
26
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2011

Recently stayed in Apartments Pical and was impressed by the location and cleanliness. It may be a little worn and dated, but this is offset by the price.

The apartment consists of a lounge, with two narrow sofas, two armchairs, coffee table, table and four chairs - a little cramped but adequate for two of us. The bedroom has ample wardrobe space and a very comfortable bed (actually two singles pushed together). The kitchen is small with a fridge with icebox, twin sinks, and twin hotplates which heat very quickly. There's no kettle, but the hotplates sufficed. There's a full, if mismatched, range of crockery, pans and utensils, again very clean. Finally, the bathroom has a small, but deep bath with shower over (a bit of a problem with water on the floor when used extensively, but dealt with promptly by the staff when reported). Water is hot and immediate.

We ate on the balcony, (table and four chairs) - the outlook suffered a little by the construction which felt enclosed when seated there.

Part of Hotel Zagreb complex (friedly, helpful staff), the apartments are set in a woodland park with ample carparking immediately but unobtrusively outside. The shore with bathing and other facilities are a short walk away and a 15 minutes pleasant walk takes you to attractive Porec Old Town, with its wide range of restaurants. Use of the Hotel Zagreb facilities is possible (eg. evening entertainment, pool etc.)

Apartments Pical represent good value and are a good base for exploring Istria.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Petalancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb_hotel, General Manager at Pical Apartments, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Dear Petalancaster,
Thank You very much for taking time to write such a comprehensive and objective review. I am sure many future guests will find it helpful.
We're all hoping to see You again soon.

Kind regards
Hotel and apartments management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2010

From booking the trip, we were clearly instructed to check-in at the Zagreb Hotel. Using ID Riva Tours, their host was also at our service.

Reception was very helpful when it came to service, however when we asked for toilet paper we had ran out of, we were told we had to buy it ourselves (there is a small supermarket right next to the hotel, but I can imagine the prices there to be slightly higher than your average supermarket in Croatia). Though it was not to expensive at about £1, this is why I thought it should have been an included service.

When we booked apartments, we had already decided that we didn't want an all-inclusive stay, freedom to eat and go about however we pleased. We also knew that services would be limited as it is NOT an hotel, you are choosing apartments -- a bit of independence. Prior to our travel we were already advised to bring extra towels if we so pleased. Upon arrival in the appartments, there was a clear explainatory leaflet stating the towels would be refresed every 3 days, bed linnen every week, the apartments were cleaned upon arrival of new guests (so yes, no cleaning). We had brought 2 extra towels each, which -for us- was exactly enough to cover those 3 days.

The interior was indeed dated and basic, but very clean upon arrival. The kitchen was very small and I wouldn't want to cook there, but that was not the plan for us anyway. I have not checked out the kitchenware, as we did not need it, but I imagine it to be basic as well. The double bed room was fairly sized inclusive of plenty of storage space. Though we found the matrass too hard and the pillows were of an uncomfortable size (too big) and fabric. But that's very personal. The bathroom was of a fair size as well, but you cannot lock the door. We didn't need to as we never lock the door at home either.

The hotel, very near the apartments (<5 min walk), provides all sorts of conveniences - there is free Wi-Fi, a bar, a buffet-restaurant, a excursion desk and a kiosk where you can buy your chocolate and paper.

Food is cheaper if you go out and find a place downtown. Breakfast and dinner are not included when booking apartments (naturally) - breakfast goes at 40kn (~£5) per person and dinner is 100kn (~£12.50) per person (exclusive of drinks). Drinks are slightly overpriced. We wanted to enjoy a cheese platter at the bar one day at 25kn (~£3.50), which should have included 4 kinds of cheeses, however this one had only 3. Not being upset with this, we notified our waiter of this and he apoligized for the inconvenience - providing us with an additional platter, 4 kindes of cheeses this time. However, after this occurance, this waiter did not return to the level of service he had provided prior. We had to order at the bar and bring it to our table ourselves - which was just weird.

All and all, I found this stay comfortable but interesting.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteVLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham uk
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2008

We got a fantastic deal on this apartment, paying only 22euros per night, so we were expecting basic. To be honest basic is what we got, but were pleasantly surprised to find the apartment spotlessly clean, the beds were really comfy with fresh white linen, the shower was powerful and hot and everything worked! The bath was rather small, but was adequate, and the kitchen comprised of a fridge with small freezer compartment and a 2 ring hob. If you intend to cater for yourselves I doubt this is the apartment for you, however if like us you like to eat out, the fridge and ability to make tea and coffee were more than adequate. The apartments are part of the Hotel Zagreb, which has a nice pool area with lots of beds and brollies, and a pool bar and restaurant which serves nice fresh well cooked food. The complex is approximately 15 minutes walk or a 5 minute cycle from the town centre and only about 100 meters from the sea. The decor in the apartments is dated and basic (see pics), but if all you want is a base to explore in a nice location then you really can't beat them. If however you want a bit of luxury give them a miss!

  • Liked — The price, the cleanliness and the location
  • Disliked — Basic furnishings
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elsiebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2007

Not sure who previous review writer booked with but we had no problems at all. We booked with valamar.com( they own the apartments and hotel chain) . we had a private transfer to and from the apartments which was free from valamar- excellent service. we knew to check in at hotel zagreb and the staff were always very polite and friendly. full use of all the hotel facilities included. The position of the apartments is excellent- near the beach and a short stroll to the town centre of porec. The apartments were very clean on arrival and all beds were made up. we had a 2 bedroomed apartment which also had a sitting area, terrace and a small kitchen. The apartments are in need of modernisation but i think the decor reflects the croatian way of life. There are so many excellent restaurants in porec we didnt cook in the place - mainly used the fridge. . if you want a resort which is full of english people and english bars then porec is not for you. Porec is a beatiful, safe place which attracts mainly families and couples of all ages. it was our second time to porec and can't wait to go again.

  • Liked — the location and hotel facilities attached to the apartments.
  • Disliked — dated furniture - in need of modernisation. ( however it was very clean)
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank DerbyshireMoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2007

on arrival,it was not clear where to check in. No mention of having to go to hotel next door.
The hotel staff were not very helpful or friendly.
On viewing our apartment which was booked for two adults and two teenages.We found it very small ,dated and not even basic. No kettle ,toaster ,microwave or tv . The furniture is in desperate need of updating.Beds were not even made up.
I complained to the hotel and was given the option of paying extra and having a slightly larger apartment but this was of a similar standard.We decided to make the best of a bad lot.
The apartment was not cleaned once during our 7 night stay .We did have a change of towels once.
There were no british people at the apartments. We had use of the pool at the hotel next door however towels were put on the loungers at midnight !!!!!
Overall the staff were very unfriendly.
The entertainment was dire to say the least.
Porec's beach was grit .The sea was however very clean.
Porec is quite expensive and commercialised
We did the one day trip to venice which was fab but beware the food and boat trip they offer are a rip off.
We enjoyed croatia and would return but to a different resort.

  • Disliked — dated scruffy lack of equipment
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank location125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Porec hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porec hotels
0.1 mi away
Pical Hotel
Pical Hotel
#28 of 33 in Porec
387 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Porec
Hotel Porec
#20 of 33 in Porec
106 reviews
0.7 mi away
Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#26 of 33 in Porec
355 reviews
0.1 mi away
Valamar Zagreb Hotel
Valamar Zagreb Hotel
#6 of 33 in Porec
251 reviews
1.5 mi away
Valamar Diamant Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pical Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pical Apartments

Property: Pical Apartments
Address: Borik bb, Porec 52440, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Porec
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Porec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pical Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments in Poreč for the right blend of affordable price and great comfort. Situated in the beautiful Mediterranean landscape, Pical apartments offer spacious apartments with balconies at an affordable price making them a great choice for younger guests. Poreč sites and nightlife are only a short stroll away while the beach is just down the road. For a carefree stay, guests can use all of the restaurant and animation programs of the Valamar Zagreb Hotel. More active guests can enjoy the facilities of the sports centre nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pical Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartments Pical Porec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing