We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday, ideal place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Valamar Diamant Residence
Ranked #10 of 101 Specialty Lodging in Porec
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday, ideal place to stay”
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Had a fantastic holiday. Apartment was just as described but was quite roomy. Just a few minutes away was all amenities of hotel. Pool was quiet but imagine it isn't in peak season. Didn't eat in hotel restaurant just at poolside bar and that was cheaper than usual in hotels just didn't have everything on menu.
Entertainment was ok band or singer in lobby bar but spent most evenings in porec. Short walk into porec or ride on a train or even a water taxi (fantastic way to end an evening).
Only slight negative was noise from other apartments which seemed to be used for staff as well as holiday makers. But it would not put me off going again.

Perfect holiday modern amenities with quaint old town in walking distance

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pinklady68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    22
    14
    1
    4
See reviews for
41
15
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Absolutely loved our stay! Great apartment, with air con a real bonus. Arrived an hour before official check-in time but Toni pulled out all the stops to get us in more or less immediately. What we loved was the fact that you had your privacy and space in the apartment but could use all of the hotel's facilities, including the fabulous buffet breakfast (£5.50).
A word of praise for the staff - without exception they were so lovely - but in particular the wonderful Nada who looked after us over in H8. What a delightful lady - thank you so much for taking care of us! On her day off two younger girls were on duty - they had the most perfect manners and again we were so, so impressed.
My son loved the lady who ran the lobby bar; I think it may have had something to do with the giant pieces of cake she served him!
Our last visit to Croatia was 25 years ago (Toni was quick to point out that I must have been VERY young then - thanks Toni) and I had forgotten what a beautiful country it is. In particular its people are just so friendly and we cannot wait to return. See you next year!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carltona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waregem, belgie
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2012

It was our first time to croatia and we were positive surprised. Beautiful area (brulo), close to porec. Everything was super. The service of the hotel, you have a big place in the residence but al the service of the hotel. Very nice people from the beginning to the end. Professional shows, nice to sit. it gave you a feeling that you are on an island, very green and close to the sea. Everything was perfect. There were also little details that were nice, like candles on the way to another hotel, ... Everything is good organised. Just one little thing that can be better for us are the cocktails, in the beach bar by jedro they are good but not in the hotels but for the rest it was very good, we go certainly back next year.Istrie has also very good food like oysters, truffels, fish, grill, wine, olive oil( all the good things)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simoneWaregem_Belgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We have been to Croatia before and were very impressed with the country and its people. So when my wifes sixtieth birthday began to loom, we decided to find somewhere to go and celibrate, and Croatia came up again. The hotel Valamar Diamant exceeded our expectations in every respect, it was spacious, both the public areas and the room. It was very clean and the towels and bedding were changed daily, and the room cleaned. The dining room was huge, and the choice of food amazing, but the trick was not to arrive as it opened, and to take the food as it was cooked before your eyes, as it could be only warm at times.The staff throughout the hotel were helpful, friendly, and always had a smile. Most evenings there was live music, and it supplied an indoor pool, gym, hairdressers, and treatments salon, including a dentist. The town of Porec was a lovely walk along the seafront, of about ten minutes, or the little train.Lots of boat rides to be had, some with lunch, best to check them all out before taking the plunge as prices vary, including a trip to Venice, which could be had for as little as under thirty pounds, or as much as fifty. Lovely hotel, and surroundings, food was cheap a meal could be had for three to four pounds, coffee one fifty, a large beer one eighty.. Would I go again, most certainly yes, could not fault the hotel, and the area has much to offer, we only scratched the surface in a week, try a few words of Croatian, the locals light up when you make the effort.

Room Tip: Our room did not have the finest view as it overlooked the rooftops, but it was ok it had a view in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidJohnwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Best buy in Poreč if you are on budget. I got it 40€ per night.

Did like: spacious apartment and good equipped (no oven, but dish washer and microwave), A/C (we used it for heating) and nice, big teracce with lots of sun. You can use wellness and fitness (from 8am till 10pm) of Hotel Diamant which is 300m away.Great location; cca 1km from Poreč, nice stroll. Lots of sport activities nearby. Great for kids.

Didnt like: no internet in apartment (but free internet in Hotel lobby and in wellness), expensive food in Hotel restaurant (7€-15€-17€)

I recommend for that price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CrazyCroat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2011

This was our second visit (first time was in may 09, staying in the hotel) with our 2 young children.

We got a great deal at 29€ a night self catering. As we drove from the czech rep. it was a great budget hol for us.

The hotel on approach looks like a communist apt block/panelák but once inside things improve dramatically with a modern reception, helpful staff, a well maintained indoor pool and excellent spa. Although we stayed in the apartments self catering we opted to dine in the restaurant some evenings and the food was always great, with lots fresh fish & seafood (mussels were very good), a pizza bar, salad bar, Italian kitchen and lots of other choices (including british fried favourites...chips, chicken etc) we enjoyed breakfast too which always had freshly baked bread & pastries. The chefs behind the open kitchen did a great job of the eggs (made to order) and were also happy to make me specific items i requested (grilled tomatoes/mushrooms instead of the fried ones already on the buffet stand)

Back to the apartments...great value for money, spacious, not ad clean as hotel rooms but the reception were more than happy to have a cleaner come re-clean our floors. Topfloor apts would benefit from more sun on the terraces but we were happy with groundfloor for pram access. The apts are a little dated but are functional and an ideal base to explore Porec and Istria.

The location is great, a lovely 1míle coastal walk into Porec centre. When the kids were tired there is a little train which can transfer you along the coast to Porec.

The outdoor pool is lovely although sometimes we high-jacked the Crystals pool and outdoor jacuzzis for a change of scenery!

Overall our holiday was relaxing and enjoyable. We won't be back as we have been twice and it will be a little boring for the children as they get older. But i would definitely recommend for families with small children who just want to relax, enjoy nice food on the restaurant terrace and let their children enjoy the pools.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louiseprague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

We stayed in the apartments at the Diamant for four nights in June 2010 with our 3 year old and 1 year old.

Our heart sank when we first saw the hotel, with its sixties style communist architecture. However inside it was spacious and modern, with a great outdoor pool. The indoor pool was also very good, except the tiles were not non-slip, and it got frustrating to have my poor kids slipping over every time they got out of the pool.

Service at reception was mixed - very friendly in some instances (such as when the hotel's internet cafe was not working and so they let me use their PC on the reception desk) and less good in others (such as when one receptionist sent us on a wild goose chase insisting that all the local supermarkets were open on a Sunday afternoon, when in fact only one of them was).

The apartment itself was comfortable and it was great to have the outdoor space. But again, frustrating that we couldn't look the gate to our balcony - it would have saved a lot of toddler escapes out the door!

The mini disco for the toddlers each evening was excellent and our two thoroughly enjoyed it.

Overall this is a good hotel with a few annoying niggles. For the very reasonable price I would recommend it to a family travelling with young children.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RJMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porec hotels
0.0 mi away
Valamar Diamant Hotel
0.0 mi away
Valamar Crystal
Valamar Crystal
#7 of 33 in Porec
418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Laguna Mediteran
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Valamar Rubin Hotel
Valamar Rubin Hotel
#13 of 33 in Porec
266 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Laguna Galijot
Villa Laguna Galijot
#12 of 33 in Porec
150 reviews
1.0 mi away
Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Diamant Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Diamant Residence

Property: Valamar Diamant Residence
Address: Brulo 1, Porec 52440, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Porec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 101 Specialty Lodging in Porec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Valamar Diamant Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The picturesque red roofed Mediterranean style Valamar Diamant Residence are guarded by pine trees, just a short distance from the historic town of Porec and a pebble beach. Spacious and well equipped, they are perfect for families looking for a carefree holiday. Take advantage of the various sports and leisure facilities of the Valamar Diamant Hotel as well as their innovative Maro club for children of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Valamar Diamant Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing