We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absoloutly to avoid!!! :-(”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lanterna Apartments
Ranked #6 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Porec
Reviewed June 25, 2012

It's the worst structure I stayed...great disorganisation at the reception (half an hour to have the keys, they weren't able to find out my booking, they were very ill-behaved!!!)...then dirty apartment (I found insects in my bed and in the bathroom!!!)...rubbish in the "gardens" of the structure...then drunk people screaming all the night and broiling without any control)...I suggest you to find other structures nearby, even if they could be a bit more expensive...

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank daviz1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 1, 2012

Dear Mr,

First of all let me thank you for choosing Lanterna apartments for your vacation. Your comments are of enormous importance for us and we take them very seriously. In this way we are able to improve our services and make our guests more satisfied.
I am very sorry to hear that we didn’t fulfil your expectations and that you left our apartments being not satisfied. As you noticed a big event was going on during your stay and that is maybe the reason of a slower service on the reception, although it is not an excuse for us.
Please accept our apologise one more time.
Best regards,


Lea Sošić
General Manager
Apartments Lanterna
Lanterna bb, 52465 Tar/Vabriga
T 052 402 000
F 052 402 091

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 216 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2011

Basic but nice apartment in September, for something like a quarter of the summer price, with fully equipped kitchen and a balcony with a nice view, no TV though. Lots of covered parking space in front of the apartment. Friendly staff put us in the building far away from young people with stereos, and changed our room without any fuss for the one with a see view.
Our only problem was annoying music in the evenings from the restaurant and/or disco, and another one from the neighbouring resort that we thought would be long gone by mid-September.
Beaches are fine, sea water warm enough, but lot of sea urchins, so do have some proper footwear.
Also, no A/C which is almost fine in September, but must be hellish in July/August - therefore only 2 stars, I suppose.
Haven't tried the local shops or restaurants, Trieste and it's fabulous Italian food and wine is just an hour to the north by car. Bring your own corkscrew.

Room Tip: Lots of trees that can block your view, so ask for a room with a see view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mighla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lea_sosic, Manager at Lanterna Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2011

Dear Mrs,

On behalf of the apartments Lanterna and me personally I would like to thank you very much for staying in our apartments. We are grateful that you have shared with us your impressions. Your comments are of tremendous importance to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services. We are very happy to read that we fulfilled your expectations, it is a great motivation for the whole team. Your satisfaction with our service is a validation of our mission and goal fulfilment. Thank you one more time for spending your vacation in Lanterna apartments. I am looking forward to meet you again.
Yours sincerely,

Lea Sošić
Hotel manager assistant
Apartments Lanterna
Lanterna bb, 52465 Tar/Vabriga
T 052 402 000
F 052 402 091
W -----------

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Fortunately we had wonderful dining experiences at Retaurant Delfin and that was the only good thing about the services here. Fantastic beaches, and this could be a real gem if there were any semblance of customer service.

We when we tried to speak with the manager early in our stay we were asked why and told we would get an evaluation form at the end of our stay. Having asked several times we have now waited 45 minutes for the form, and still no form.

We have a confirmation e-mail stating we booked a 3 bedroom apt, though before arrival we were told that have no such apt.

Had to ask to have the apt cleaned, and then they did a poor job.

Enjoyed our stay with Valamar last year, but cannot recommend them since the quality if service varies so greatly.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GuestJuly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2009

It was the first time that we were there. Overall I could say that it was a normal stay.
The beach is really wonderful and if you take your goggles you will see fishes and the rest of the beautiful submarine world.
Thongs are necessary.
Weather was really great too so we were at the beach every day.
The accommodation is okay, like i said before.
The only one thing that was negative was the noise.

Directed to my second part of the headline:
Even that the chance is really small i try ...
I met there a boy that was from Italy, I guess. He was there with his parents and with the not that big dogs of his father. We looked more than once at ourselves ...
If you feel something please write at this my e-mail: [--]

Well, that was the second aspect which left a feeling that hurts a little bit ...

But like i said nice place :)

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alexat254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

We stayed for nights and I have never stayed in a 2 star facility before. So basically, no A/C. However, we were looking for accomodation in peak season, which is now so for the cost of 64 Euros a night, we booked into the Lanterna Apartments. Note: Renovated apartments is misleading-- they are old apartments but basic and functional and more or less clean. The only difference between Lanterna Premium apartments and Lanterna Sunset apartments is that the Sunset has a microwave oven and a tv and will cost you more.

The Lanterna apartments are great for people with young kids if they want to have a beach holiday with activities and lots of places to run around. Vacationing at this time of year is expensive so really, this is the way to go-- and the way is follow the German/Austrian/Dutch travellers who vacation here every year.

The key to having a great time here is to bring up your 2 star apartment to a 4 star-- every apartment has a balcony or terrace. Families come equipped with... and I am not kidding... their own electric grills, microwaves, tv's, satellite dishes and small fans and A/C units which they use.

Instead of paying 24 Euros for a breakfast and dinner buffet per person per day, they cook in their units or have their own grill parties. You can really save a lot of money, enjoy flexible eating times and just conduct your holiday at your own time.

Groceries are expensive in the resort at the small supermarket so before arrival stock up on food and lug the perishables in coolers or even electric coolers.

The Europeans really have this routine down and I was in awe of their strategies... so to have a good time if you want a budget holiday and you have small kids who will make noise like all the others, bring the following:
- your own non-stick cookware
- sponges for dishwashing/ dish towels
- liquid dish detergent
- paper cups/ plates/ utensils
- hard cheese -- it keeps easily in a cooler when you transport it
- all spices like sugar, salt, pepper, garlic, chili flakes, oregano, basil, etc.....
- margarine/jams/nutella, etc......
- instant coffee/ creamer/ teabags
- tin foil, wax paper, saran wrap -- you can make sandwiches to take to the beach in your cooler
- paper towels
- alarm clock -- no clock in the apartment
- a swiffer
- some type of all purpose cleaner in a spray bottle
- laundry line to hang clothes on the balcony - they have a rack and have the hooks so that you can hang a wire-- and clothes pins if you want
- chocolates, chips, candy -- they are expensive at the resort to buy
-- tv or dvd player, cd player
-- electric fan or portable AC unit
-- condiments: ketchup, mustard, relish, mayonnaise etc....
- electric grill for a nice bbq
-- deep fryer
-- mosquito repellant
-- ice cube bags or trays
-- hand soap in a pump
-- napkins
-- hair dryer
-- wines of your choice
-- extension cord
-- canned tomatoes , tuna

there is a great bakery on site open from 7 am til 2pm selling fresh bread, baguettes, croissants -- affordable

there is also a small fruit/vegetable stand that sells great produce from local farms -- amazing grapes, watermelon, .....

ice - cream is cheap -- 7 Kunas per scoop (large scoops) and the pizza at the Zodiac restaurant is excellent with a salami pizza at about 45 Euros.

Internet wireless is available at the bar/lounge place so order your ice-cream drinks there and surf comfortably.

Delfin restaurant -- we ate there twice - very good and service is great -- wonderful view of watching the sunset. We ate the shark steak, the calamari, the mussels...... all delicious!

Water was clear and beach area was very clean -- no cigarette butts lying around -- they pick them up! Great snorkelling adventures and don't forget to bring your air matresses, tents, water boards, and yes, you have to wear water shoes so you don't cut your feet on any rocks or other stuff.

I would only recommend this hotel with young couples with young children who want to have a nice beach vacation -- the walls are paper thin so keep in mind to bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper.
But there are lots of kids there so your kids will make friends.

Basically everyone there is German -- it's like a German colony and they keep their kids in line and it is clean and orderly.
Staff all speak German.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank alpaca07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2009

We stayed here 30.4. - 3.5., so it was 10 C at night and if we didn't bring our heater, it would be pretty uncomfortable. There was enough room, there are towels, it is clean. We stayed in Helena, which is renovated. There is a huge difference between renovated and non renovated appartments. The glasses provided are tiny, other kitchenware was satisfactory. The teflon saucepan had several deep cuts. The lighting is poor and there are a lot of noisy drunken people playing loud music. I didn't like the scene and I don't think it's suitable for families with young children.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rabarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2009

We chose Lanterna as our place for family summer holidays in 2006, mainly for the on-line booking system and very flexible conditions of reservation. We have been making our reservations on-line ever since, and were explicit regarding our expectations when we made them, and I have to say we always got what we asked for (but it is essential to ask in advance). So far, we tried the 4 person app (renovated), got Gordana building, it was somewhat crowded (kitchen and sleeping in one room and another bedroom but up the stairs (ugly for the little ones), then the next year we upgraded to the Sunset version, got Gabriela, ground floor, much, much more comfortable, and finally last year, took 6 person sunset version in Branka, very roomy, large kitchen/dining room with a regular table for 6 adult people, a living room/bedroom and a small bathroom on the ground floor and two separate bedrooms and a big bathroom upstairs - each room had a balcony/terrace. The app building first row to the sea, beach and greenery fairly clean and well kept, parking free but somewhat crowded, shopping for supplies either 6 km north or 13 km south, local shops small and inadequate. Beaches shallow rock, no barefoot bathing, not even for the adults. Water clean, a lot of sea creatures to observe. Large, new and well positioned playgrounds, also a mini club (did not use it more than once, paranoid parents).
Service professional, yet, on an occasion, there were an unpleasant receptionist or two, or a long line to check in or out, and a mess-up with the reservations, but still within the limits of acceptable. Maintenance very good, however, it is expected that the guests clean themselves during their stay. Towels changed every two or three days.

Downside - someone already mentioned drunken teenagers, not a good idea to mingle with the population of party goers, spring homecomings etc. drunk and annoying. When it gets dark, it is best to either go to bed, or take the car and go to town - not enough lighting and rather deserted look makes it creepy to walk around. Not much to do except the bar, it even provides entertainment, but of the lowest sort, cocktail and "lesbian shows".
Serious downside - water heaters capacity seems to have been overloaded, so we had no hot water in the bathroom except around noon and again at 6 p.m. one night we even used the kettle to heat water for the kids - was fun for one night, but still, it I objected strongly to it.
All in all, the more money you're prepared to spend the better it becomes, and it is all in one place (serious upgrade is the hotel Valamar Tamaris and its villas, but last year there vere a lot, and I mean a lot, of Russians - as loud and annoying as the teenagers on the other side of the park).
All in all, a beautiful place for day time activities and rest.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anrimanrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porec
5.6 mi away
Valamar Rubin Hotel
Valamar Rubin Hotel
#11 of 33 in Porec
310 reviews
5 mi away
Hotel Porec
Hotel Porec
#23 of 33 in Porec
120 reviews
6 mi away
Villa Laguna Galijot
Villa Laguna Galijot
#13 of 33 in Porec
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hotel Laguna Mediteran
0.2 mi away
Valamar Club Tamaris
6.6 mi away
Hotel Plavi
Hotel Plavi
#21 of 33 in Porec
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanterna Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanterna Apartments

Address: Lanterna 1, Porec 52440, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Porec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Porec
Price Range: $26 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lanterna Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 694
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are searching for a place that combines endless activities and a great location, look no further. Surrounded by fragrant Mediterranean vegetation and a string of beautiful beaches with playgrounds, the 2 star Lanterna Apartments offer well equipped apartments for 3, 4 and 6 persons with half board service. Exceptional selection of activities include water sports and diving, nearby disco and bars within the apartment village as well as several a la carte terrace restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Lanterna Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartments Lanterna Porec
Apartments Lanterna Hotel Porec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing