We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“avoid their restaurant!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Laguna Mediteran
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Porec
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Booked through thompson for me and my partner, and the hotel is based in a beautiful place. absolutely love porec, the hotel is smart and clean. we booked a half board as it was a good deal.
The room was smart, we booked a standard room and as long as it is clean i am happy. i have no use for a balcony as we spent very little time in the room. Our maid was faultless, she had a challenging job each day servicing our room but she did a grand job.

The pool was freezing, to the point where i couldn't stay in it for too long. some days it was just ridiculous. they did aqua aerobics, every day, started to get a bit tiredsome after 6 days to be honest, same music each day.
the bar was lovely and the evening entertainment was well thought of, although we went out most nights.

the restaurant however irritated the life out of me, they said that dinner was served 6.30-9pm. It was sit yourself and help yourself, and i was not impressed at all, you spent half your time looking for a table, then you had to get up in turn to get your food so the table didn't get taken. no service what so ever, help yourself to drinks. Couldn't even get a gin and tonic as it was help yourself to soft drinks or beer or wine. literally nothing more.
it was heaving no matter what time you went, it was carnage and a constant battle to get a meal, children wandering around with bowls of hot soup desperately trying to fight the over flow of people.
It was awful and i was so annoyed id paid for it.
On the last night we walked into the restaurant at 8.50pm. (it shuts at 9) at 9.10pm they started taking food in!!!! we were completely rushed and there was no desserts left out as they had taken them in. and i wasn't the only one who had been disappointed by this rush as several people who saw the food been taken in started piling their plates high with food in order t make sure they got fed! At 9.40pm one of the clearers came over to us and told us the restaurant was closed and we had to get out. my partner was still eating and i still had a glass of wine! i couldnt believe how rude he was! we were doing no harm siting there as he had plenty more tables to clean before having to "kick us out."

i really was disgusted with the carnage that they called dinner. Eat out!!!!! there are beautiful restaurants in porec and lots of them!

hotel clean and facilities brilliant. based in a beautiful place. just avoid dinner!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: im sure rooms with balconies are lovely, but completely unnecessary for busy people like us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Laguna Mediteran, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for having chosen our Hotel Laguna Mediteran as your holiday structure in Porec. We are glad you have managed to spend some quality time within our place even if you had gone through quite a hassle with the restaurant during dinner time. We would like to inform you this critic has been already taken in consideration and used as a constructive one in order to see if there any possible solutions to solve this issue.

We hope this problem won't be the reason for you not to visit us again.

Best regards

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (598)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 598 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here as a part of a Thomson holiday. I must admit I was a bit anxious about our room having read the reviews as I knew we had a room with no balcony. However, our room (A258)was NOT "dingy" and " dark ". It was on the small side but very clean and comfortable. It reminded me a bit of a Travelodge room but with better furniture. The bathroom was fine with two showers to choose, a monsoon and "normal" shower head. The hairdryer is one of those "on the wall , with plastic extension tube which hinders movement when drying your hair. It provided a bit more than a puff of air though so I managed. (If a strong flow of air and a long lead are important to you take your own!). Our daughter had a single room which turned out to be a small double with a balcony overlooking the gardens (only one shower head) but this was more than adequate for one. This was room D233.
It is a 3 star hotel ( I think) and I would go along with that rating. The hotel is large but the service is good and there are plenty of staff, all spotless in their uniforms. Some of the staff in the restaurant at dinner are rather over zealous in their enthusiasm to clear the plates but it is rather harsh to criticise that aspect.
We arrived on Tuesday 27 August but the hotel's welcome drink was on the Monday following which was also the day of the themed dinner. There was a good selection of welcome drinks and you didn't seem to be restricted to one drink. There were also nibbles and some "traditional" singers who were rather good. The themed dinner was "the fisherman's dinner" but there was enough choice for the meat eaters/vegetarians too.
The buffet aspect for meals was a concern for me having experienced rather poor buffets in the past and not liking to queue for my food. However, the food here was rather good, so much choice and it really didn't matter if you came late on in the dinner service as the food is replenished and is on the hot side of warm. It was never lukewarm. Plates are hot or cold depending on what you are going to choose. The selection and quality of the fruit, salads and veg were excellent. There was always a choice of meats, fish, pasta, rice veggie options and local cuisine. There was on occasion, however, the feeling of being continually rushing to eat, often there was a queue for certain things (eg pizza, ice cream, certain fish/meat) and then you could be jostled by "over eager" people. This latter behaviour was rude and certainly not justified as there was enough food and space for all. If you want to sit outside though you will have to get there early and yes, probably queue at dinner for that. I would not say the dinner experience was always relaxing which was a little disappointing and was the only downside to this stay. However, that is a very subjective comment.
There is aqua aerobics (rather genteel) and evening entertainment. The walk to Porec town is lovely. We did however do two water taxis back to Brulo harbour from town . One in the afternoon and one late at night. Ok it was a treat but worth it and great fun - love the speed. Blankets were offered for the night trip as it was a little chilly which I thought was sweet. Hotel well placed for trips, buses and cycling to the nearby towns of Vrsar and Rovinj.
I did note that if you need a wheelchair or can't walk very far, this is probably not the best choice for you.
Staff are helpful and friendly.
It seems to be a good place for young children too.
Clientele mainly Germans and Russians with a few Italians , so, great to practise your language skills.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool will have a balcony but may hear the entertainment from this hotel and ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Wendy119186363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Laguna Mediteran, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for having chosen our Hotel Laguna Mediteran and for reviewing it here on Tripadvisor. It is our pleasure getting to read most of our services were up to your standards and expectations.

On the other hand we must also say your critics have already been taken into consideration in order to try and improve some of our services for our next summer season.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon either within this or any other Laguna Poreč facility we send our best regards.

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This could be a really good hotel - recently refurbed in a classy way (restaurant is like a cafe-but a good one and how else are you going to feed this many people?); good food with plenty of choice, plenty of sunbeds, all extra costs are very reasonable (food, drink, holiday goods, exchange), 20mins easy walk into porec through woods or along the 'beach' path.
Having booked thro Thomsoms there was no room choice, so we had a standard room. I recall staying in a similar room in Mongolia once, but never in a beach resort. The room itself is refurbed, light and airy with good ensuite shower room and comfy big bed - but the windows are covered with external grilles so you have NO view whatsoever and you cannot open the windows. There is a glazed door which opens on to a <1sqm size balcony, again grilled off and with direct views into the neighboring room. Bluntly, these Prison rooms should not be offered to holiday makers.
The restaurant staff need training, are not customer facing and after 2weeks it does get annoying when they stretch right across you when you are eating and are mildly 'surly'.
At peak holiday times the restaurant is crammed. The management should operate a 2 seat session instead of the free for all. It quietens down after 20 August.
The management should stop people taking glass on to the pool area - this is dangerous and broken glass was present. There is no restriction.
By mid afternoon most of the pool is in shade due to the trees.
Management should ask parents to keep their kids off the performance area when the professional acts are performing (after 9pm) - there is no request to do so. Acts are fairly standard - the elvis night is normal cheese but a good laugh, look out for accoustic duo Kashmir (but better still see them in Old Times in Porec).
Do take the speed boat water taxi into porech at least once (80kn for up to people).
The biggest gripe is that all of these comments have been made countless times before and the management simply have not acted upon them - no excuse.
Definately hire a bike for a couple of days - there are plenty of way marked trails as well as the noddy ones. For an adventure look at the Triest - Porec 128km cycle route 'Parenzana'
Definately book the Ravinj tour at the harbour with Victoria Tours

Room Tip: if you do not get a balcony avoid the hotel. There are others available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hemingwayaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Laguna Mediteran, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for reviewing our Hotel Mediteran here on Tripadvisor. We are glad to get to know you have chosen our facility for your holidays. Both your compliments and critics are very welcome.

We hope to be able to work on the issues you described (glass on the pool area, crowded restaurant during meal times etc.) and sort them out until the next summer season.

We are looking forward to seeing you again anytime soon and send our best regards until then.
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Access to restaurant, beach, pool areas, shop and bar are all by stairs. Any walking disability will cause extreme difficulty accessing any facilities. The balcony was never cleaned of seagull excrement during the entire seven day stay, Food items did run out occasionally. Hotel clean and comfortable otherwise.

Room Tip: Request room overlooking beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HR21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Laguna Mediteran, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for reviewing our Hotel Mediteran on Tripadvisor. We are sorry to hear you have encountered various problems regarding accessibility within our hotel. Your comment and critic about balcon cleanliness will be taken as constructive and for sure help us to improve this service for our future guests.
Hoping to be able to see you again trying to make our hotel more accessible we send you our best regards.
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I confirm most of the previous comments that this is an excellent and well run hotel. We stayed right at peak season and the hotel was full but nervetheless the staff looked after us well and things were well organised.They even managed to change one of rooms to provide more space for our family. This is a four starhotel by most standards and a good one at that.
The only slight issue is the food -it's pretty decent generally but often ran out but was refilled fairly quickly by the staff and can feel a bit the same at times! You can tell that despite their efforts the food is on a relatively tight budget. This is not helped by some of the clientele grabbing ridiculous amounts of food ( and drink) but you can't blame the hotel for this. I also thought they could offer a little more at lunch times which is restricted to the odd sandwhich. We also had a packed lunch one day which was not great.
Nevertheless this still an excellent hotel and is highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Laguna Mediteran, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for having chosen our Hotel Laguna Molindrio as your holiday facility. We are glad to get to know you have generally enjoyed your time spent here even if you did have some problems with the food offer. Satisfaction of our guests is definetely the most important thing for us and therefore we guarantee you this critic has already been taken into consideration.
Hoping to be able to welcome you again soon within this or any other hotel belonging to our hotel group Laguna Poreč we send our best regards.
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed here 13 July 2013 for one week in a single room. It was an absolutley fantastic experience for my first time in Croatia. What a fantastic hotel. The staff on reception, catering staff and cleaning staff did a fantastic job of keeping the tourists happy.
One improvement I could suggest is on the entertainment front but I'm not sure what is available for the hotel to choose from.
The temperature was 31 degrees in the day, which was a bit too hot for me and 26 degrees at night so if I when I go again it will be in September when it is more comfortable for me.

The only complaint I would have is that sunbeds were obviously reserved with towels by people who did not appear for two or three hours despite this being against hotel policy. Travelling on my own and the heat I only wanted a sunbed for two or three hours in the morning before finding some shade but found it difficult to do this because of the selfishness of other people. Maybe something for the hotel to look at in future.

Overall a fantastic hotel and a fantastic holiday.

Room Tip: My single room was at the back of the hotel and I think it would be better to have one overlooking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 1solo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Laguna Mediteran, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for having chosen our Hotel Molindrio as your holiday spot and especially for having reviewed it here on Tripadvisor. It is direct feedbacks from our guests like yours that help us the most when it comes to improving our services. We are very glad to get to know our hotel personnel was helpful and smiling and thus managed to “make you happy” as you quote.
We hope to be able to change and improve the entertainment and the sunbed issue until the next summer season and invite you to visit us again soon.
Best regards
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

A great hotel, spotlessly clean, super polite and friendly staff, lovely choice of food. Themed dinner was great too. Swimming pool was lovely, never had trouble getting a sunlounger. Walked into Porec several times, worth getting the speedboat back at night (20 kuna each) . Location good, two crazy golf courses (15 kuna each) . Inflatables to play on in the sea at 40 kuna for an hour which our teenagers really enjoyed. Small diving board round the headland, two higher ones on the way into Porec. Eating out at lunch was fine, Alan's grill did good value meals, or just chips or soup. Sandwiches available at the bar in the hotel. Jedro's restaurant on the way into Porec has great views and decent pizzas for around £4. We did the boat trip with Marco Polo to Rovinj, with a barbecue lunch, stop off at Rovinj and a trip down the Lim Fjord for swimming and snorkelling , which was a super day. We also did sunset kayaking with Fiore tours, which was great fun, but hard going in the wind!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Laguna Mediteran, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for having chosen our Hotel Mediteran and for reviewing it here on Tripadvisor. It is our pleasure to get to know you have enjoyed our various services like the food and drinks offer, pool facility and Porec in general.
We invite you to come back soon and visit this and/or other hotels belonging to Laguna Poreč and send our best regards until then.
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porec hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Laguna Parentium
0.2 mi away
Valamar Diamant Hotel
2.4 mi away
Hotel Laguna Materada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Valamar Crystal Hotel
0.8 mi away
Laguna Molindrio Hotel
0.2 mi away
Valamar Rubin Hotel
Valamar Rubin Hotel
#12 of 33 in Porec
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laguna Mediteran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laguna Mediteran

Address: Plava Laguna, Porec 52440, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Porec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Porec
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Porec
#7 Romantic Hotel in Porec
Price Range: $91 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Laguna Mediteran 3*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Laguna Mediteran is only an easy 15 minute walk away from Porec. It is surrounded by a natural forest of cedar and oak trees, and the newly renovated hotel rooms provide a comfortable shelter after days and nights filled with numerous activities. A vacation your family deserves - Hotel Laguna Mediteran. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Laguna Mediteran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediteran Hotel Porec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing