We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in a great location!”
Review of Vila Romana

Vila Romana
Ranked #12 of 146 Restaurants in Porec
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $52
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food in a great location!”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

We chanced upon this restaurant after walking around the lagoons. What a great find for lunch! Overlooking the sea, the restaurant looks very inviting. We had pizzas, which were large, well-made and very reasonable in price by UK standards (£4.50- £5.50). It couldn't be any better!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sunseekers637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    50
    19
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Delicious mussels, great pizza, lovely location.”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We enjoyed our morning walks around the lagoons south of Porec and chanced to be passing here at lunchtime. The greeting was warm and we chose a table overlooking the jetty and clear blue water. My pizza Adriatica of tuna, anchovies and capers was great, with a thin charred base and tasty topping. My wife's dish of mussels came on a large serving platter and for the small price was a surprisingly large dish of mussels! They were perfect, served in a garlicky sauce and so juicy and sweet. They came with toasted bread to mop up the juices. We shared a jug of the house wine, Malvasia, as is usually the case in Istria, and this was crisp, citrussy and refreshing. Two good expressos rounded off a very enjoyable lunch. We would have returned for the advertised Istrian dinner menu at night but were unable to do so. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tramoia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good service”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

I've just dropped in twice for take-away pizzas, but those were delicious, service was great, can recommend

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank pkerekes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lunch in the sun.”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Wine and a beer....Pizza and grilled prawns.....blue sea and sun.....boats coming and going ....wine and a beer....good service ....wine and a beer.....move chair to maximise sun.....wine and a beer.....HEAVEN , try it !!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GlasgowStephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good place to dine during your holidays”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Vila Romana is a really good Mediterranian restaurant, situated at Zelena Laguna. It is the perfect place, if you want to spend the time, eating excellent food, and enjouing the sea view. I won't tell you how brilliant is this place, you will understand it yourselves, during your first meal there, but still, let me give you a few tips on what to try there:

1. Homemade wine: both, red and white. There are many reasons to come to Vila Romana, but the wine is the most important. The look, the smell, the taste - everything there is just a poem. So please, try it. Especially good is red wine.

2. Pizza. A great variety of sorts, big portions, great taste and the opportunity to order the take away pizza make a good combination to try that.

3. Meat dishes. I have tried the grilled beefstake, and it was really good, and (which as well, is important) - brilliantly served.

4. Fish dishes. Well, all of them deserve being tried, especially you do not have a chance to try fresh sea fish in your country, but what is more important - the waiters suggest you helping in getting rid of the fish bones, and they really do. It was the first and the only time I have seen anything like that.

As for the service - it, of course, is brilliant. There is nothing more to add.

So, try this restaurant, if you have a chance. You won't regret it for sure.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anton_Spitsyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vila Romana also viewed

 

Been to Vila Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing