We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Valamar Rubin Hotel
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Porec
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our week-long stay in the Valamar Rubin. We also enjoyed Porec and the Istrian Penisula in general.

Being on half-board was a new experience for us and one that we will repeat if the quantity, quality and variety of food on offer here is typical.The bedrooms were fairly basic but adequate. That, however, was the only three-star aspect of the hotel. Decor in the public areas was of a higher standard; service was excellent; staff helpful; the pool area large, clean and spacious; and there are good swimming facilities in the sea just 100 metres from the hotel. WiFi was only available in the lobby area.

We reported one small issue with the bedroom and that was dealt with immediately. Our neighbours in the adjacent room justifiably complained of excessive noise from the room above and that was also dealt with effectively.

I have a couple of minor gripes which others may dismiss. If you require a drink with your dinner, even water, you have to pay for it. In the same vein the orange juice on offer at breakfast was tasteless but it was possible to purchase freshly squeezed orange juice. We settled for the free apple juice.

Room Tip: We were allocated a room on floor 1, which gave ready access to the pool and sea although it was fou...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ConnachtRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdidioCekic, Manager at Valamar Rubin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Dear Mr.Stevenjak,

On behalf of Valamar Hotels and Resorts, and me personally, I thank you very much for staying in our hotel. Your comments are of tremendous importance to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services, and they provide us with objectives and directions towards continual improvements.
I feel sorry we didn’t completely meet your expectations in the matter you comment to us. We took this really seriously and we have immediately added the point into our training-program in order to develop our service quality and courtesy up to your total satisfaction.

Looking forward to meet you again.

Sincerely yours
Eđidio Čekić
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
There are newer reviews for Valamar Rubin Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 297 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2014

we upgraded to a romantic room as we did not like the room provided. as it had no safe rooms connected by a door you could hear all from the next room. that the bad bit out of the way. cost an extra100 euro but it was well worth it for a lovely seaview room with fantastic views. very clean hotel, the staff from the cleaners to the waiters an bar staff were exellent so friendly an some funny had a great repore with them well done to whoever choose them they a credit to your hotel. the food was also very good as much as you want with lots of choice. i read some reviews that were negative so i wondered did i make the right choice an my answer to that is yes i did choose right. and i would return again croatia and its people are lovely but as i said at the start it would have to be in a seaview romantic room. well done hotel rubin.

Room Tip: go for the upgraded seaview romantic rooms nothing less
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank steveanjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdidioCekic, Manager at Valamar Rubin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Dear Mr.Stevenjak,

On behalf of Valamar Hotels and Resorts, and me personally, I thank you very much for staying in our hotel. Your comments are of tremendous importance to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services, and they provide us with objectives and directions towards continual improvements.
I feel sorry we didn’t completely meet your expectations in the matter you comment to us. We took this really seriously and we have immediately added the point into our training-program in order to develop our service quality and courtesy up to your total satisfaction.

Looking forward to meet you again.

Sincerely yours
Eđidio Čekić
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We booked this hotel after reading the reviews on trip advisor some were good other not good here is my review.
First a few things to know before you book:-
The currency for Croatia is kuna at the time we went it was 9 kuna to a £. EUROS are NOT accepted. Don't change your money in UK or hotels in Croatia. Some charge as much as 3% commission . The banks give the best rate and don't charge some of them even open on Saturday.
Pay for any trips in kuna debit and credit cards charge and the exchange rate is very poor.
The Valamar Rubin is a 3* hotel located very close to the sea there is no beach but concrete sunbathing areas where you can hire chairs. The location of the hotel is very good you can walk into the main town of Porec along the coast in about 25minutes or through the woodland in 10 minutes. There is a tourist train that runs along the coast to all the hotels it costs 10 kuna (just over a pound )
The hotel is very clean and staff very helpful the food is excellent with plenty of choice every night all meals are buffet style so you can eat what you like or try something different. There was a local dish every night which was very good.
The cafe bars were very nice and the outside ones had a view over the sea. The beach bar was so good guests from other hotels in the area used it at night.
One thing to note if you have a late flight as we did ask at reception if you can keep your room on, if they are not full it is not a problem it cost us 200 kuna about £22.00 worth every penny as we got to rest and shower before we left.
There are some good trips out the trip to Pula to the arena is well worth a visit but is a long day the lunch at the farmhouse was excerlent as was the guide Tin.
We went with Jet2 holidays but other uk tour operators do this location. If you decide to go enjoy.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Valandrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdidioCekic, General Manager at Valamar Rubin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Dear Valandrine,

Thank you for taking time and writing such a nice comment.

The quality and variety of our food in the hotel restaurant is something we are really proud of, and it is refilled during all the meal time so we can satisfy all our guests. It makes us very happy to see that you enjoyed your overall stay in our hotel and in the local area. As you noticed, there are many ways to visit Poreč; with the touristic train, by boat, bus, car, bike, and there is a wonderful stroll directly from our hotel to the center. Poreč, as well as Pula with their many sightseeing attractions, cafes and restaurants are for sure great cities for vacation. Nice that you mentioned the Valamar Rubin stuff is helpful and professional because those kind words are motivating for all of us.

Hope to see you soon again.

Best wishes,
Valamar Rubin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We were on an organized tour and spent 3 nights. Our room was a bit tight - we had to walk sideways past the desk to get to one side of the bed, and not too much room to place 2 suitcases. Being on the first floor, we were happy to be able to open windows above the sliding door for cool air, since the a/c did not work.
This was another hotel room with no space in the bathroom for a shaving kit - let alone two - on the side of the sink; otherwise the b/r was of adequate size. We had breakfast and dinner included and quite enjoyed all the choices. However, they need to get better juices; the o.j. (free) was just flavored water, for instance. A jug of water might be nice instead of offering bottled water for pay.Wi-Fi without cable in the rooms would be nice, as would better sound proofing from the hall. For night entertainment in the bar area, a band played with amplifiers on full steam, forcing us to move to the seating area near the reception in order to be able to speak.
We had a nice, seaside room and also enjoyed being fairly close to the town. Staff was friendly enough.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Enamos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdidioCekic, General Manager at Valamar Rubin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Dear Enamos,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and suggestions.

Of course we already took into consideration your opinion and we will improve some of the mentioned issues. We are sorry for the inconvenience with the evening loud music. We always try to do our best to make every guests' holiday memorable. Our food offer is something we are really proud of, and we are happy you enjoyed the meal time.

Hopefully you will visit us and enjoy in our hotel again.

Greetings from Poreč,
Valamar Rubin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This was not the hotel we expected. The rooms are not too large and the carpets are dirty and the AC does not work real well.

The pool closes at 7 p.m. which is not ideal for guests. The staff is not real helpful. When I compare it against the other hotels we stayed at in Croatia and Slovenia this hotel is the bottom. The dinner is good but drinks are not included in the half board.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RenandIssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdidioCekic, Manager at Valamar Rubin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear familia,

On behalf of Valamar Hotels and Resorts, and me personally, I thank you very much for staying in our hotel. Your comments are of tremendous importance to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services, and they provide us with objectives and directions towards continual improvements.
I feel sorry we didn’t completely meet your expectations in the matter you comment to us. We took this really seriously and we have immediately added the point into our training-program in order to develop our service quality and courtesy up to your total satisfaction.

Looking forward to meet you again.

Sincerely yours
Eđidio Čekić
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spent 3 nights in the last week of August. The only downside to this hotel is that it is obviously jam-packed at this time of year, the pool area being rather crowded and the hotel can charge whatever it wants and the rates were far too high for the minimalist "romantic" rooms overlooking the pool (though they come with a well-stocked mini-bar and a superb view). It is, however, a fabulous hotel for families and far superior to the average 3-star hotel (in my opinion), having superb sports and outdoor facilities, smart indoor bar and recreational areas, two outdoor bars with live music and lovely pool areas. It is set in exquisite grounds sloping to a small bay, just a short walk through shady pine trees on a rambling coast path that leads to Porec, a town gradually turning into the chicest resort in Istria (and much nicer than grungy Rovinj). A major plus is the excellent huge breakfast selection. General view: avoid high season if you can, otherwise a first-rate family hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid high season
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank frankthring2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdidioCekic, Manager at Valamar Rubin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear family,

On behalf of Valamar Hotels and Resorts, and me personally, I thank you very much for staying in our hotel. Your comments are of tremendous importance to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services, and they provide us with objectives and directions towards continual improvements.
I feel sorry we didn’t completely meet your expectations in the matter you comment to us. We took this really seriously and we have immediately added the point into our training-program in order to develop our service quality and courtesy up to your total satisfaction.

Looking forward to meet you again.

Sincerely yours
Eđidio Čekić
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The hotel is in Brulo outside of Porec with about a ten minute walk into porec, really ideally located. The pool area is lovely surrounded by trees but onlooking the sea. The choice of food was really good, lots of fish, meat, salad etc i think most people would find something they would like and it was all fresh and piping hot, it was really a 4 star standard. Room was slightly dated but is the least of my concerns when going on holiday. All staff were friendly, the guests tended to be german or scandinavian or croatian which was a nice mix. Sometimes the local people were not as polite as you would expect but there were really nice people in porec in some places. The country itself was perhaps not as 'happy to see you' as you sort of expect but it was scenic

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kaela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdidioCekic, Manager at Valamar Rubin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear family,
On behalf of Valamar Hotels and Resorts, and me personally, I thank you very much for staying in our hotel. Your comments are of tremendous importance to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services, and they provide us with objectives and directions towards continual improvements.
I feel sorry we didn’t completely meet your expectations in the matter you comment to us. We took this really seriously and we have immediately added the point into our training-program in order to develop our service quality and courtesy up to your total satisfaction.

Looking forward to meet you again.

Sincerely yours
Eđidio Čekić
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porec hotels
0.2 mi away
Valamar Diamant Hotel
0.1 mi away
Valamar Crystal Hotel
0.8 mi away
Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Valamar Zagreb Hotel
Valamar Zagreb Hotel
#6 of 33 in Porec
275 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Laguna Mediteran
1.5 mi away
Pical Hotel
Pical Hotel
#28 of 33 in Porec
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Rubin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Rubin Hotel

Address: Brulo 3, Porec 52440, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Porec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Porec
Price Range: $78 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Valamar Rubin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic hotel in Porec with just the right blend of relaxation, fun and gourmet experiences! Elegant features like a canopy bed in the room, the water massages in the outdoor pool and the terrace buffet restaurant with its view of the sunset, all make the Valamar Rubin Hotel in Porec the ideal place for a romantic getaway. Surrounded by fragrant Mediterranean plants near Brulo Beach, the shade of its pine trees and just a pleasant ten-minute walk from Porec old town, this hotel allows you to explore the sights, experience superb cuisine in the buffet restaurant and enjoy complete relaxation by the sea and pool. The hotel is located in the Brulo tourist resort, so you can take advantage of the fantastic facilities in the two neighbouring Valamar hotels: an all-day entertainment programme in the Valamar Crystal Hotel, and the superb wellness centre and fitness facilities in the Valamar Diamant Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Valamar Rubin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Valamar Rubin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing