We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Plavi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Plavi
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Porec
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A good find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Plavi for 5 nights. We got an excellent deal for half board and it was well worth the price we paid. The hotel is on a complex of hotels, water sports etc built around a lagoon and is in a very pretty area. Our room was very small but how much time do you spend in a room ? There was a small balcony with two chairs but no space for a table.The bathroom was tiny but very clean and towels changed every day. We were the only English people staying there, the majority were either Russian or German so , obviously, this was reflected in the food. Both breakfast and dinner had plenty to choose from but if you are expecting English food then this isn't the place for you. The food was always fresh and topped up regularly and we couldn't find any fault with it. There was no queuing and no pushing and shoving ! There is no free wi-fi in the hotel but if you go next door to the pub it is available there. The staff were great, very pleasant and helpful and all spoke good English . You can get the boat from the hotel to Porec from the hotel , or you can get the little train. There was entertainment in the hotel cocktail bar on Saturday night with lots of Croatians coming in and doing their traditional dances and having a great time,
There are lots of comfortable areas to sit around the hotel, the lounge, around the pool and on the terrace , all very pleasant. The only problem we could find , which didn't affect us but would bother some guests, is that the hotel is only partially served by a lift. There is plenty of space so I can't understand why they don't install a lift in the place where it is needed. All in all, we had a wonderful time there and would hope to go back and stay longer as there is such a lot to see and do in the area. We went to Porec, Pula and Rovinj but there were a lot more places that we would have loved to visit as it is a stunning area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank valamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Plavi, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for having chosen our Hotel Laguna Plavi for your holiday and especially for having written a review about it. We are glad to get to know you have enjoyed your stay here and liked our services such as the food offer and helpful staff. Hoping to be able to welcome you again within one of our facilities we send you our warmest greetings!
The hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    49
    34
    13
    5
See reviews for
26
64
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ramstein-Miesenbach, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights and loved it. The breakfast and dinner was diverse to eat at the hotel. The surrounding area was lovely to walk around and explore. Lastly, we liked the nearby pub to get some drinks in the late hours.

The only negatives is the wifi is not free and you can only get a good wifi connection in the lobby. Don't expect to have a great TV in your room. The pool was closed during our stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ryan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Plavi, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review about our Hotel Laguna Plavi. It is our pleasure to read you have chosen our facility as your holiday spot and thoroughly enjoyed its services such as the food and drinks offer. Hoping to be able to welcome you again within our company's structures we send you our best regards.
The hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

This hotel is somewhere we first visited back in the seventies when our son was small we loved it then and still do .
It has been refurbished a few times to update it every where is clean ,rooms are cleaned daily with fresh towels as i have worked in hotels i know what to look for rooms not huge but are adequate for your stay , if you are up early enough you will even see them out along the road in front of hotel cleaning and watering the plants along the road ,The food is good and there is plenty of it , Staff are great very helpful always have been, some we got to know well and are still there
Its near the beach so good for sunbathing ,
The town of Porec is not too far that's full of history with shops and restaurants also from there you can get a boat crossing to Venice have been there a couple of times it does not take long and you get the whole day there. So whether you want to just lay on beach and top up you tan or go out on trips this place is great for both we have always enjoyed or holidays here as a family and now just my husband and me did last august 2011 and going again this year .

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flower200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Plavi, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your overall positive review about our Hotel Plavi. We are glad to know you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay and liked our food offer as well as seen the efforts of our staff. Hoping to see you soon again in one of our hotels we send you our best regards from Poreč!
The hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velke Mezirici, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2011

A fine location but the beach in front of the hotel was bit rocky. I liked the tennis courts were nearby. The hotel is nice, there are elevators. The rooms are very small. The buffet at breakfast and dinner was the best I ever had.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

- perfect location
- reasonable prices and good service for an average+*** hotel
- unproblematic and quick reservation center (via e-mail works perfect!)
- directly at the beach
- we made a last minute reservation for 10 persons on a business trip - it was a sheer success - the reservation procedure a secretary´s dream!

http://www.plavalaguna.hr/de/Hotels/Plavi/Hotel
Adresse:
Zelena laguna, 52440 Poreč
[--]
GPS: N: 45° 12' 4.674, E: 13° 35' 26.298

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TintiZagreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Plavi, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear guest,
We are very glad that you have enjoyed your stay at Hotel Plavi managed by Laguna Poreč and that you were satisfied with the location of the hotel and its services.
We hope to have you as our guest in Poreč soon!
Kind regards,
Laguna Poreč
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2010

We stayed at Hotel Plavi in June 2010 as part of a Newmarket package. The hotel was assigned on arrival as per our previous visit to Porec. We were very happy with our 7 day stay at the Plavi. The hotel is clean and tidy (with a lift!) and the staff were very good - especially the restaurant manageress / maitre D. The hotel decor is slightly dated with an art deco look but is very comfortable. The food was very good - we were half board. Breakfasts were superb and set us up for the day. Dinner was buffet style and again very very good with an excellent choice of dishes - plus free wine and beer with your meal.
We previously stayed at the Daimant Hotel (again with Newmarket) which was a little closer to Porec but the Plavi is well served by water taxi or the noddy train - not really walkable if you need or wish to visit Porec every day but it didn't affect us.
Would recommend the Plavi for a relaxing holiday just sunbathing, swimming and watching the world go by, but plenty to do if you like water sports, waliking or cycling too.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris&Carole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2009

This is a big hotel with rooms over several floors but there is no lift to rooms. I dont understand why as there is lots of space in the hotel with big open spaces on ground and first floor and enough room for a lift to be installed. Food is buffet style it is plentiful with lots of choice but food is only basic. The hotel is about 5 kms from Porec so quite a way out and to get to Porec there is either a local bus service or a small train pulled by a tractor, fare around £2 each way. Hotel is situated in a nice position but there is very little to do here. No beach but sunbathing areas and access to the sea have been built out of the concrete. I would not return here and after seeing Porec which is only a very small town, I have no wish to return to Croatia. Very small balconies which can only fit 2 chairs on, not enough room for even a small table. Drinks are also quite expensive in the area but free red and white wine plus lager with dinner each evening.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank belmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plavalaguna1, Owner- Plava Laguna Management at Hotel Plavi, responded to this review, April 13, 2010
Dear customer,
We thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention as we use all feedback to help us in our ongoing quest to provide top quality service to our clients.
We do regret to learn of the inconvenience caused by the lack of lift in Hotel Plavi. Thus, if you give us another chance, we would be happy to serve you again in Poreč, in another Hotel from Plava Laguna that better suits your needs.
Best Regards
Plava Laguna Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porec hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#25 of 33 in Porec
3.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Laguna Parentium
0.1 mi away
Hotel Laguna Gran Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Laguna Molindrio Hotel
Laguna Molindrio Hotel
#10 of 33 in Porec
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Laguna Mediteran
3.1 mi away
Hotel Laguna Materada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plavi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plavi

Property: Hotel Plavi
Address: Zelena Laguna, Porec 52440, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Porec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Porec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plavi 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for an ideal blend of high quality services and affordable prices, Hotel Plavi is the right choice! Make use of all the advantages of accommodation right at the beach, in the hub of the excellently equipped Zelena Laguna Resort. The hotel offers attractive entertainment programs, as well as a sports centre and a number of restaurants and cafes in the resort. If you happen to be by the large glass walls overlooking the sea, or at the terrace in the late afternoon, you will be enchanted by the colourful fireworks of the sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Plavi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing