We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“20+ years later it still looks the same”
Review of Pical Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pical Hotel
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Porec
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Just browsing the net looking to book next years holiday...and although I have just come back from Tenerife I thought why not look at Croatia/Montenegro as I'd been 20+ years before and loved the country (Yugoslavia as was) as a whole. Shame, as the hotel in Montenegro seems to have gone...but surprisingly the Pical is still standing. As mentioned, it's been 23 ish years since I was there but other than new drapes in the dining room the place doesn't seem to have changed in the slightest.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank YZF36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
There are newer reviews for Pical Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 405 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had to sleep keeping the door open, too hot and no air conditioning. They rent us (we paid for it!) a dirty old fan to survive. We couldn't open the drawers, the bed was too close. On the other hand, the hotel is in an excellent position. Superb view, salt-water swimming pool, nice beach near pine trees, fantastic breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank svetlana13p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We read previous reviews before going to Croatia about the poor standard of the hotel, my wife and I went with an open mind to the Hotel Pical. However, on arrival we noticed that the exterior of the hotel was better than expected. Lobby and reception areas were fine, but once you go past that to the room area, 9 flights of stairs to the first floor (wife cannot use lifts), the quadrangle of landings and doors to the rooms, can only be compared to that of a prison wing, held up by unpainted concrete pillars. Garden view was of a load of trees, not really a garden at all. Housekeeping left a lot to be desired, using the same cloth to clean toilet and then onto the sink and work surface. Cleaner also didn't lock our door and it was left ajar for 14 hours while we were on a day trip to Venice. The food was not to our taste and resembled school dinners, with tables that were pushed together, with no chance of a quiet meal for two, other people enjoyed the food though. No dress code for meals and some people wore the same clothing from the pool for their evening meal, a personal dislike for us. Entertainment was very good down by the sea front, and the bands that played were excellent, although you could hear the music loudly from your room until the early hours of the morning. Aired our views to the Thomson rep, he stated that although the hotel was sold to us as a Thomson 3 star+ hotel, the pictures in the brochure were from 2011 and had been taken out of the Thomson brochure in early 2013 and was now Skytours, so could not expect the same standard, bit of a shock I must say. Porec is interesting but very busy in July. Fontana ice cream Parlour is the best in town and well worth a visit, especially when they throw and catch the Ice cream. Hire a fan in the summer as the rooms are stuffy and have no air conditioning. Book trips to Venice at the Marina as they are about £15 cheaper than through Thomson who only supply a coach to the port. Boat trip to Rovinj from Marina well worth the money, coastline is lovely. Croatia is a nice Country, we may well return to a different part, but would definitely not stop at the Pical again, not our cup of tea, although others thoroughly enjoy it, especially the Germans and Russians who return year after year.

Room Tip: Don't think we can give a tip for a room, only choose a low floor if you don't use lifts
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruff59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Everyone knows by now that the rooms need updating and airco, and that there is a parking issue with beach visitors; I'm sure the management is aware and it will be dealt with in due time - there were already surveyors in and out of the building while we were there. So the for the core business: the rooms are still clean and comfortable with a spacious balcony; the breakfast and dinner buffets are copious, varied and of good quality: you don't have to queue and if you get tired with something, you eat something else.
The staff are wonderful, nice and polite - even with the toughest of customers - and always helpful. There are great sports and leisure facilities - we almost had the whole tennis centre to ourselves, and the tennis manager Amedeo was very outgoing.
The walk to the old town is ONLY and exactly 10 mins. and does NOT go through a derelict industrial area, but past a historic railway building (if you care to read the signs) and one of the best seaside restaurants (Hrast - offering a nice change from the complimentary buffet). Very recommendable.

Room Tip: Get a room on the northeast top floor, looking out over the car park and partial seaside (#555). Sin...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AVG31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I was going back and forth on whether to rate this hotel a 2 or 3. I chose a three because based on other reviews I pretty much knew what to expect. We primarily chose this hotel because of location, free parking and free wifi.

I'll start with the good. The complimentary breakfast and dinner were a huge plus and pretty good too. The pool is nice and the beach is outstanding. I also enjoyed the walk to old town, very nice.

The bad: The parking situation is a horror. It's free but this hotel lets anybody going to the beach park there as well and I had to park far away. There was mold in the bathroom. The lobby is extremely noisy and wifi is so so. The room was hot but that's to be expected in a lot of European hotels since there are many without air conditioning. However, I asked if there was a fan available and there was (for a price) that should be free, in my opinion.

So my suggestions would be to spend some extra cash and update the rooms. Have some parking spaces available ONLY to guests. Fix the wifi problem so you don't have to hear kids running around screaming at the top of their lungs and constantly connecting and reconnecting. There are a lot of empty areas that are very creepy. A paint job would help. It still has the feeling of the old Yugoslavian days and a complete renovation could turn this hotel into a top notch resort! Despite it all, I would probably return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Quest I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Had a lovely 5 days in Porec at the Hotel Pical.

Yes - the exterior is a little concrete, the rooms are basic and the hallways need a paint job but on the whole it's a nice place to stay.

The staff are friendly and polite. We especially found that the staff in the restaurant were most helpful and efficient.

The food was good, plenty of choice including salads, meat, fish, pasta and pizza, The house white wine was quite nice, and reasonably priced. Breakfast was also good with fruit, eggs, meat, cheese, bread and pastries being available.

We didn't use the pool area, instead opting for the beach and the sea and we arranged our own trips and excursions when we were there. We did hire bikes though which were good value and quality.

Porec musts are the Basilica, Vinoteka Bacchus for truffle cheese and wine and Comitium for cocktails and live music.

I would certainly return.

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view room If you are a carnivore and like your red meat, go to dinner early as on...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wannabe_cowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed from 8th to 18th June and had a really good time. Yes, bits of paintwork in bedrooms/balcony do need attention but its nothing major. Bedrooms are basic yet comfortable and very clean. We requested a higher floor room (as a previous reviewer had recommended),and got 530 which had fantastic views over the bay. The public areas are well kept and spacious. The restaurant is light and airy and we never experienced trouble getting a table. Food was a good quality with plenty of choice. Drinks a reasonable price - on a par with the area- with a good house wine £9 a bottle. Staff, especially in restaurant/lounge, were very pleasant and helpful. Pool area very good and well maintained. On our first week the live music was in the lounge but this moved to the beach area in second week as the season was starting. The is worth its 3* rating. We hired bikes on 2 days, well worth it as the coastline is beautiful, cycle map from tourist info in Porec. Can recommend visiting the Basilica in Porec, also trip to caves at Postojna and horses at Lipica. All in all a very good holiday. The only downside for us was the lack of air conditioning in the hotel bedrooms as the temperatures day and night were high.

Room Tip: 4th and 5th floors for the views
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pam774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
efolo, General Manager at Pical Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and it was our pleasure to have been able to provide a pleasant stay Hotel Pical Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porec hotels
1.5 mi away
Valamar Rubin Hotel
Valamar Rubin Hotel
#12 of 33 in Porec
297 reviews
1.6 mi away
Valamar Diamant Hotel
1.6 mi away
Valamar Crystal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Valamar Zagreb Hotel
Valamar Zagreb Hotel
#6 of 33 in Porec
275 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Laguna Materada
0.7 mi away
Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pical Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pical Hotel

Address: Pical 2 | Borik bb, Porec 52440, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Porec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Porec
Price Range: $71 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pical Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A couples seaside hotel in Poreč that offers the sights and flavours of Istria Just minutes away from Poreč old town and surrounded by lush pine trees, the Pical hotel is tailor-made for a holiday for two. Along with a wide selection of rooms and an array of activities at the sports and tennis centre, the hotel offers congress facilities for up to 500 delegates. Chefs at the award winning show cooking restaurant will introduce you to flavours of Istria while one of the three bars will let you enjoy the sunset with a glass of the best of Istrian wine. Don't miss swimming in the hotel's 25-metre outdoor sea water pool or the all-day entertainment programme (free of charge) at the nearby Valamar Zagreb Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pical Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pical Hotel Porec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing