We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Revisited 30years on.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pical Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pical Hotel
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Porec
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Hotel Revisited 30years on.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We initially visited The Pical the first year it was opened in the 70's then it was rated as a 5 * Hotel, it then lived up to this rating in every aspect with individual table waiter service for every table in the dining room. The country was then Yugoslavia and labour was cheap and the hotel was overflowing with staff.We decided to go down memory lane and revisit the Pical this year.The Picall is now rated as a 3* Hotel and priced very reasonably by most of the hotel agencies, externally it now appears dated with its pre-formed concrete construction, the external garden and parking areas are however all well maintained and presented. The rooms are in need of updating and could do with some TLC, however they were clean, serviced every day with new towels supplied, The communal areas had been re-decorated and updated. One could not fault the service levels in all areas within the Pical and we found that all the staff there were friendly and very helpful.We were pleased to find that the food, now from a buffet was still excellent and of a very high standard, far better than that offered in many other 4* Hotels.that we have experienced.The coastline here is fantastic and the water is crystal clear and full of fish that one can see by skin diving off the rocks.One can walk into the very beautiful town of Porec which has many small bars, restaurants and shops along the sea front in about 15 mins or alternatively catch the little motorised train that runs along the front terminating at the small car park on the out skirts of Porec, the train has a very frequent service with a train stop just to the front of the hotel.
I would recommend the Hotel Pical as a very good value for money hotel with excellent standards to anyone considering a vacation in this lovely area of Croatia.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Rayad45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
efolo, General Manager at Pical Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and it was our pleasure to have been able to provide a pleasant stay. And thank you for good suggestions. Hotel Pical Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    150
    87
    26
    19
See reviews for
94
190
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Once again a great holiday at the Pical Hotel. The hotel is a bit dated and could do with some TLC, but the friendly and very helpful staff more than make up the outdated hotel.The food is excellent, a good choice at the buffet table and the house wine was very drinkable and priced at about £9 a bottle!!!!
We have been to Porec on 5 occasions and still love the town. Very old and interesting, and only a 10-15 minute walk there.
The coastline is stunning and if you feel energetic, we did, hire a bike and cycle along the coast.
The food and drink are very reasonable.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room on 4th or 5th floor with a seaview. You can watch the amazing sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nanoap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
efolo, General Manager at Pical Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and it was our pleasure to have been able to provide a pleasant stay. And thank you for good suggestions. Hotel Pical Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Hotel Pical is a very nice place to stay, rooms are large, we had one that slept 3 even though there was only 2 of us, overlooking the garden area. Room was cleaned everyday and towels changed if you wanted them. Restaurant is the buffet type and I have to say I found the food to be excellent and the staff better than that. No problem is too small and the service is second to none - one thing to note there is no lift to the restaurant and that could present a problem to less able people. The bar area off the main reception is well presented and drinks are very reasonable, all drinks are charged to the room if you wish, taking away the need to carry cash with you. The swimming pool area has plenty of sunbeds, however we travelled at the end of the season so I dont know if this is true in peak season. The hotel is situtated a short walk from the beach and approx 10 minutes from the centre of Porec, a very pleasent walk along the front. Be aware that late in the season there is not much lighting along the front and whilst the area is 'safe' it could be a little tricky to negiotiate the paths and steps, would recommend taking a small torch or using your mobile to light the way, Porec itself is picture perfect with plenty of bars and reasonably priced restaurants. There is a little train that runs from Porec right to the Hotel Pinia at the other end of the resort and is priced at 10kuna for a one way trip. If you get the chance walk along the front the opposite way to Porec, past the Hotel Laguna and you will find more bars, restaurants and a beautiful sunbathing spot.

Room Tip: Dont worry if you dont have a sea view, the garden views are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tintagelwizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
efolo, General Manager at Pical Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and it was our pleasure to have been able to provide a pleasant stay. And thank you for good suggestions. Hotel Pical Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pula
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

I had a pleasant week in Pical. Food excellent, as always. Good selection of hot and cold dishes. Staff helpful and cooperative, each and every single one of them. I have received a warm welcome from the reception and felt very welcome to count on their help at any time. Thank you ever so much,your prompt help and the extra effort you put in this time is mostly appreciated!
The building in general could use some refurbishment as it's at the moment not particularly disabled friendly (nor for people with walking difficulties). mind I belive it's getting there soon as most of other Valamar properties in this town are properly done. Yet the staff is so understanding and happy to help to the guests when not being able to walk up and down stairs. The staff even occasionally lets the guests use the lift for service only and gladly go with them to show them way!
It is a great location! Good start for taking a midday stroll into town to get some of world's best food and wine! ;) mind it can be found in the hotel's restaurant too.
Having seen how hard workers these people are can't do other but wishing them to have a good winter brake. Do use it well for you have well deserved it!
t.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tangra_pu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
efolo, General Manager at Pical Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and it was our pleasure to have been able to provide a pleasant stay. And thank you for good suggestions. Hotel Pical Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

On arriving at the hotel the exterior is a bit drab and looks like a 1960's style hotel. The reception area is spotless, large and fairly modern as is the bar area which leads off it. There are three lifts to the upper floors but none to the dining room on the first floor which has to be accessed by a short staircase. The rooms are quite big with a large bathroom and they were spotlessly clean. There isn't any air conditioning but you do have a balcony with a door you can open. The balcony was a bit shabby though and quite small. The room does have a tv which you don't have to pay to use however most of the channels are in German with only a few in English. The only area which could be improved is the carpets in the corridors leading to the rooms as they were threadbare in places. The maids worked very hard and were really pleasant too.
One big plus with this hotel is the food. We had fussy eaters in our group and even they found something different to eat every day. At breakfast there is a huge choice on offer for example, if you wanted eggs you could have boiled, scrambled, freshly fried or have an omelette (plain, cheese, ham or mushroom!!). As well as this there was a full continental spread, full cooked breakfast options, pancakes, cakes, breads, fruit, fresh coffee in pots... It was the best breakfast selection we have had anywhere. Then at the evening meals there was a salad bar with pasta, salad, meat etc.., soups and a hot food selection which always had several fish options, several meat options, several vegetarian options, fresh pizzas being cooked and many lovely desserts on offer for after. The dining room had been refurbished and all of the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Of an evening there was entertainment on offer most nights in the bar. The staff were friendly and gave you table service and the prices were reasonable, slightly lower than English prices. The main swimming pool was a decent size and not too crowded.
The hotel is located in a pine forest near to the sea. It's about 15 mins walk to Porec town but if you fancy a drink nearby there are a few places to choose from 5 mins down the road to the right of the hotel. Our favourite was the Ma-Lu bar. Overall for a three star hotel we were very impressed and would recommend it to anyone as it is good value for money.

Room Tip: Try to get a room from the fourth floor up as this will give you a view of the sea which you are una...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeanutDotJU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
efolo, General Manager at Pical Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and it was our pleasure to have been able to provide a pleasant stay. And thank you for good suggestions. Hotel Pical Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
307 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

The hotel is about 10 minutes walk from the centre of the lovely resort of Porec. A 'tourist train' operates up and down the road outside every 40 minutes until late at night for £1 per trip. The hotel is a large 1960s hotel still in its communist 'retro' style. It has a good range of facilities - bar with entertainment, chilly pool, tennis etc. The self service restaurant offers a wide choice of food and it is of a good quality but in the evenings there are long queues at the meat/fish counter. There are lifts to the bedrooms but I don't think that there is a lift to the 1st floor restaurant. The rooms are nice and clean but ours had a view of a roof and dustbin area. Some rooms will have good views overlooking the sea. The staff were friendly and most spoke some english. A good place to stay for all age groups.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the front of the hotel as they will overlook the sea or the sides as they will overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angelaofcastleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
efolo, General Manager at Pical Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and it was our pleasure to have been able to provide a pleasant stay. And thank you for good suggestions. Hotel Pical Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We have just returned, today, from this hotel, our first visit to Croatia, and we were not disappointed, first impressions of the hotel were not good, all trees, was like the hotel was plopped in the middle of a forest, but, how wrong can you be, yes it is surrounded by mature pine trees, but a short walk about 2 mins and you were at the sea, the hotel itself is a bit dated, and could do with a make over, on saying this, it is spotlessly clean, comfortable beds, we were on the 5th floor with a wonderful view over porec,, both domestic staff and waiters were always polite and friendly, nothing to much trouble, the food is excellent and plentyfull, lots of choice and always freshly cooked, loads of fruit, and ice-cream, even fresh pizza`s, there was entertainment in the lounge bar most nights, and there was a nice little pub/cafe just 5 min walk away, really I can not think of a negative thing to say about this hotel,or the holiday itself it was absolutely wonderful, we will definately be going back,.

Room Tip: there are a a number of rooms overlooking a low roof so no view, ask for high floor to avoid this,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laurasgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
efolo, General Manager at Pical Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and it was our pleasure to have been able to provide a pleasant stay. And thank you for good suggestions. Hotel Pical Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porec hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Plavi
Hotel Plavi
#17 of 33 in Porec
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Laguna Materada
1.5 mi away
Valamar Rubin Hotel
Valamar Rubin Hotel
#14 of 33 in Porec
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Valamar Zagreb Hotel
Valamar Zagreb Hotel
#7 of 33 in Porec
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Porec
Hotel Porec
#23 of 33 in Porec
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
2.7 mi away
Laguna Istra Hotel
Laguna Istra Hotel
#22 of 33 in Porec
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pical Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pical Hotel

Property: Pical Hotel
Address: Pical 2 | Borik bb, Porec 52440, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Porec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Porec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pical Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A couples seaside hotel in Poreč that offers the sights and flavours of Istria Just minutes away from Poreč old town and surrounded by lush pine trees, the Pical hotel is tailor-made for a holiday for two. Along with a wide selection of rooms and an array of activities at the sports and tennis centre, the hotel offers congress facilities for up to 500 delegates. Chefs at the award winning show cooking restaurant will introduce you to flavours of Istria while one of the three bars will let you enjoy the sunset with a glass of the best of Istrian wine. Don't miss swimming in the hotel's 25-metre outdoor sea water pool or the all-day entertainment programme (free of charge) at the nearby Valamar Zagreb Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Pical Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pical Hotel Porec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing