We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“superb holiday,”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pical Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pical Hotel
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Porec
wigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“superb holiday,”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We have just returned, today, from this hotel, our first visit to Croatia, and we were not disappointed, first impressions of the hotel were not good, all trees, was like the hotel was plopped in the middle of a forest, but, how wrong can you be, yes it is surrounded by mature pine trees, but a short walk about 2 mins and you were at the sea, the hotel itself is a bit dated, and could do with a make over, on saying this, it is spotlessly clean, comfortable beds, we were on the 5th floor with a wonderful view over porec,, both domestic staff and waiters were always polite and friendly, nothing to much trouble, the food is excellent and plentyfull, lots of choice and always freshly cooked, loads of fruit, and ice-cream, even fresh pizza`s, there was entertainment in the lounge bar most nights, and there was a nice little pub/cafe just 5 min walk away, really I can not think of a negative thing to say about this hotel,or the holiday itself it was absolutely wonderful, we will definately be going back,.

Room Tip: there are a a number of rooms overlooking a low roof so no view, ask for high floor to avoid this,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laurasgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
efolo, General Manager at Pical Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and it was our pleasure to have been able to provide a pleasant stay. And thank you for good suggestions. Hotel Pical Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    150
    88
    26
    19
See reviews for
95
190
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We spent first 2 weeks Sept 2012 at the Pical. The weather turned the day we got there - massive thunder storms and torrential rain, we had 6 dry days out of 14. The hotel was superb the food was very good, the price of drinks at the bar were as usual very expensive. When will hotels learn the lesson, keep the bar prices reasonable and people will use the bar. The bar had entertainment about 4 times per week but it was to a nearly empty space. Go on the caves and lippizaner trip to Slovenia also the trip to Pula and village in the clouds. The BBQ boat trip was a bit of a waste, the BBQ was fish and only if you said no thanks did they offer to cook a piece of chicken.
I offer 2 tips,
No1 - if you want a sea veiw/Porec veiw room e-mail Eugine at the hotel and ask for the 5th floor, you will get cooking smells from the kitchens at 0600hrs, the extractors are on the roof and the wind blows the smell downwards.
No 2 - the sunbeds don't have any padding, before you go and buy sunbed pads from the stalls outside get in the lift and press the SP button (swim pool) and look around the stair well, people buy pads and lilo's and then leave them at the end of their hol's. Do the same when you come home.

The Pical is a favorite with SAGA, (Sex And Games for the Aged) they even have their own eating area in the resturant and their own bar/lounge. They don't mix with other guests, maybe they are so old they have forgotten how too! I am 66, but I don't want to be surrounded by Blue Rinse when I'm on holiday.

Enjoy Isteria and the Pical, we did dispite the weather.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
efolo, General Manager at Pical Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and it was our pleasure to have been able to provide a pleasant stay. And thank you for good suggestions. Hotel Pical Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Went to the Pical Hotel for last 2 weeks of August with two kids aged 8 & 10. We went half board due to past reviews and we weren't disappointed with the food. Excellent quality freshly cooked food and the kids loved the choice (always freshly made pizzas if they didn't like anything else). The hotel has free wifi in the reception and the staff are always friendly and helpful. The hotel is very dated but still incredibly clean and we had a room with 2 bedrooms which is great when you have young kids. There was no air conditioning but we hired two fans which kept the room at the right temperature, could have done with a fridge in the room though. The hotel has seen better days and the kids weren't too impressed with the salt water swimming pool, but the sea was only a few yards away with lots to do.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
efolo, General Manager at Pical Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and it was our pleasure to have been able to provide a pleasant stay. And thank you for good suggestions. Hotel Pical Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We have just returned from Porec. We had a great holiday. Yes the look from the outside is not good, but the staff and the food make up for the look, The restaurant and the Bar are fine but the reception could do we a make over. The rooms are small and the beds are low but we did't spend a lot of time in there Location is great and an easy walk into the centre.
We went to Venice foir the day well worth the time and money.
We would go back again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan2130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
efolo, General Manager at Pical Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and it was our pleasure to have been able to provide a pleasant stay. And thank you for good suggestions. Hotel Pical Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Arrived back on 11th September from Hotel Pical in Croatia. I agree with previous reviews the Hotel is a little tired and needs some refurbishment. The public areas have been updated. The Hotel was very clean and the staff very pleasant and friendly. The food was extremely good with plenty of variety. I am vegetarian and found it very easy to eat here. I have to say that the Caffe Bar by the pool was exceptional. The chef cooked all lunch orders in a section in the middle of the restaurant. The food was always very good and it was impressive how many times the chefs washed their hands. The weather was very hot so we hired a fan and a fridge for the room. This Hotel is in a lovely location. A small train runs along the road into Porec. It is only 10 kuna per journey and a novel way to travel. Porec is a lovely old town and we were lucky enough to be there when the festival was on. The Hotel was very full and we were advised that there would be a party one night ending at 4 o'clock the next morning. Fortunately although we heard noise whilst on our balcony once the door was closed we managed to sleep. A most enjoyable relaxing stay. I hope Croatia will not be spoiled when it goes into Europe next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annr1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
efolo, General Manager at Pical Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and it was our pleasure to have been able to provide a pleasant stay. And thank you for good suggestions. Hotel Pical Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Hotel Pical is in a really good location and Porec area terrific. The Hotel is clean and has all of the ingredients for a super hoiliday. The hotel is in real need of refurbishment. The Restaurant has been updated and so the rest of the hotel needs to catch up. When we stayed the weather was warm (30 - 35degC) and to be in tired bedrooms with no air-con was not pleasant. With windows open all night the noise of nearby bars and Clubs made sleep hard to find.

The satff in the hotel were all very friendly and keen to help - except reception staff but thats always the same in a big hotel. The food was very good but a little repetitive - after a week we were getting bored with a very similar buffet each evening.

In all, our stay at Hotel Pical was enjoyable but some refurbishment work would make it a much better hotel fitting of its superb location. I would guess however that the owners would think that the full hotel speaks for itself.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJB_Berks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
efolo, General Manager at Pical Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and it was our pleasure to have been able to provide a pleasant stay. And thank you for good suggestions. Hotel Pical Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

With out a word of a lie this hotel lived up too, and more, to Thomsons brochure description. The rooms, although a little dated were spotless. The cleaners did a brilliant job. Towels and bed linen changes were when required you just had to leave a 'post card' on the bed.The balcony had a wooden bench, table, two chairs and a drying rack. Every other area both inside and outside the hotel was also extremely clean. We booked half board. The food was outstanding!!!! A huge buffet selection for breakfast and dinner and with such a large selection even the fussiest of eaters would be hard pressed not to find something suitable. All the staff were really nice and obliging and most of them spoke good english. The saltwater pool area was lovely. Plenty of sunbeds and parasols to go round. This hotel is set in a brilliant location. Its about 200yds through a wooded area to the crystal clear sea and bathing platforms. A 15/20 minute stroll or a ride on the noddy train along the path/ bathing platforms takes you into Porec. This is a beautiful old roman town. Very very pretty! The only downside to our holiday was the lack of air con in the rooms. It was really hot and we had to hire a fan. All other areas in the hotel, bar, dining room etc do have it. If youre not a beach loving party animal then this hotel and resort is definately for you. There is no loud music except during the hotels theme nights and even then it all finished around 11.30 to midnight. No McDonalds and Burger King! Give it a try .A truly brilliant chilled out holiday! We will be going back.
Jane and Keith Sheffield England.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
efolo, General Manager at Pical Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and it was our pleasure to have been able to provide a pleasant stay. And thank you for good suggestions. Hotel Pical Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porec hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel Plavi
Hotel Plavi
#18 of 33 in Porec
137 reviews
1.5 mi away
Valamar Rubin Hotel
Valamar Rubin Hotel
#13 of 33 in Porec
247 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Laguna Materada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Valamar Zagreb Hotel
Valamar Zagreb Hotel
#7 of 33 in Porec
219 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Porec
Hotel Porec
#22 of 33 in Porec
96 reviews
0.4 mi away
Light All Inclusive Hotel Laguna Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pical Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pical Hotel

Property: Pical Hotel
Address: Pical 2 | Borik bb, Porec 52440, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Porec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Porec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pical Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A couples seaside hotel in Poreč that offers the sights and flavours of Istria Just minutes away from Poreč old town and surrounded by lush pine trees, the Pical hotel is tailor-made for a holiday for two. Along with a wide selection of rooms and an array of activities at the sports and tennis centre, the hotel offers congress facilities for up to 500 delegates. Chefs at the award winning show cooking restaurant will introduce you to flavours of Istria while one of the three bars will let you enjoy the sunset with a glass of the best of Istrian wine. Don't miss swimming in the hotel's 25-metre outdoor sea water pool or the all-day entertainment programme (free of charge) at the nearby Valamar Zagreb Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pical Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pical Hotel Porec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing