We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely holiday”
Review of Pical Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pical Hotel
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Porec
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We have just returned from Porec. We had a great holiday. Yes the look from the outside is not good, but the staff and the food make up for the look, The restaurant and the Bar are fine but the reception could do we a make over. The rooms are small and the beds are low but we did't spend a lot of time in there Location is great and an easy walk into the centre.
We went to Venice foir the day well worth the time and money.
We would go back again

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan2130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
efolo, General Manager at Pical Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and it was our pleasure to have been able to provide a pleasant stay. And thank you for good suggestions. Hotel Pical Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
There are newer reviews for Pical Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 406 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

Arrived back on 11th September from Hotel Pical in Croatia. I agree with previous reviews the Hotel is a little tired and needs some refurbishment. The public areas have been updated. The Hotel was very clean and the staff very pleasant and friendly. The food was extremely good with plenty of variety. I am vegetarian and found it very easy to eat here. I have to say that the Caffe Bar by the pool was exceptional. The chef cooked all lunch orders in a section in the middle of the restaurant. The food was always very good and it was impressive how many times the chefs washed their hands. The weather was very hot so we hired a fan and a fridge for the room. This Hotel is in a lovely location. A small train runs along the road into Porec. It is only 10 kuna per journey and a novel way to travel. Porec is a lovely old town and we were lucky enough to be there when the festival was on. The Hotel was very full and we were advised that there would be a party one night ending at 4 o'clock the next morning. Fortunately although we heard noise whilst on our balcony once the door was closed we managed to sleep. A most enjoyable relaxing stay. I hope Croatia will not be spoiled when it goes into Europe next year.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annr1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
efolo, General Manager at Pical Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and it was our pleasure to have been able to provide a pleasant stay. And thank you for good suggestions. Hotel Pical Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Hotel Pical is in a really good location and Porec area terrific. The Hotel is clean and has all of the ingredients for a super hoiliday. The hotel is in real need of refurbishment. The Restaurant has been updated and so the rest of the hotel needs to catch up. When we stayed the weather was warm (30 - 35degC) and to be in tired bedrooms with no air-con was not pleasant. With windows open all night the noise of nearby bars and Clubs made sleep hard to find.

The satff in the hotel were all very friendly and keen to help - except reception staff but thats always the same in a big hotel. The food was very good but a little repetitive - after a week we were getting bored with a very similar buffet each evening.

In all, our stay at Hotel Pical was enjoyable but some refurbishment work would make it a much better hotel fitting of its superb location. I would guess however that the owners would think that the full hotel speaks for itself.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJB_Berks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
efolo, General Manager at Pical Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and it was our pleasure to have been able to provide a pleasant stay. And thank you for good suggestions. Hotel Pical Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

With out a word of a lie this hotel lived up too, and more, to Thomsons brochure description. The rooms, although a little dated were spotless. The cleaners did a brilliant job. Towels and bed linen changes were when required you just had to leave a 'post card' on the bed.The balcony had a wooden bench, table, two chairs and a drying rack. Every other area both inside and outside the hotel was also extremely clean. We booked half board. The food was outstanding!!!! A huge buffet selection for breakfast and dinner and with such a large selection even the fussiest of eaters would be hard pressed not to find something suitable. All the staff were really nice and obliging and most of them spoke good english. The saltwater pool area was lovely. Plenty of sunbeds and parasols to go round. This hotel is set in a brilliant location. Its about 200yds through a wooded area to the crystal clear sea and bathing platforms. A 15/20 minute stroll or a ride on the noddy train along the path/ bathing platforms takes you into Porec. This is a beautiful old roman town. Very very pretty! The only downside to our holiday was the lack of air con in the rooms. It was really hot and we had to hire a fan. All other areas in the hotel, bar, dining room etc do have it. If youre not a beach loving party animal then this hotel and resort is definately for you. There is no loud music except during the hotels theme nights and even then it all finished around 11.30 to midnight. No McDonalds and Burger King! Give it a try .A truly brilliant chilled out holiday! We will be going back.
Jane and Keith Sheffield England.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
efolo, General Manager at Pical Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and it was our pleasure to have been able to provide a pleasant stay. And thank you for good suggestions. Hotel Pical Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We booked a family room 2 adults and 2 children aged 11 and a twin for my parents. The rooms were a little tired but extremely clean. Plenty of towels soap and shower gel were provided in the bathroom. We hired a fridge at a cost of approx £3 per day and the parents hired a fan at approx £2 per day. The rooms are without air con and shuttering so even keeping the doors and curtains closed all day they became very warm. Due to the heat the balcony door needed to be kept open all night which meant any late night party goers woke us up on their way home and the early risers also woke us up. The pool area was great with plenty of sun beds and a very clean pool. Every morning the animation team gathered the energetic for aqua aerobics and the children could spend time at the childrens maro club. There was some form of entertainment every evening either by the pool or at the beach bar local dancing, cocktail evening, beer fest and a range of singers. The food (half board) was amazing and after living for 4 years in 4-5 star hotels with my job I would say of 5 star standard although self service rather than waited on. Lunch could be bought at the terrace restaurant which was a very reasonable price and was waiter service. The staff were efficient and friendly, nothing was too much trouble for them. In my opinion the hotel is worth a second visit us.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
efolo, General Manager at Pical Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and it was our pleasure to have been able to provide a pleasant stay. And thank you for good suggestions. Hotel Pical Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed at Pical or about 4 nights and it was totally worth the money. We booked half board which included a masive buffet selection for breakfast and dinner. The food quality was outstanding. The dining room staff we really nice and did their best to please every guest. Working in the food & beverage division in an hotel myself, I could not be happier with the food and service provided. The check in/out was very smooth as well and we were even allowed a room change since we were not please with the first room offered. Went back to the front desk and they offered a room change the next morning, which happened very smoothly.

The package overall was worth the money. The only thing I have to say is that the hotel is really worn down and needs some serious investment in rooms- and public area renovations. But that is up to the owners and has nothing to do with the service provided by the hotel staff.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DInzinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
efolo, General Manager at Pical Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and it was our pleasure to have been able to provide a pleasant stay. And thank you for good suggestions. Hotel Pical Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

I had a horrible stay at this hotel! Up on arrival at the hotel, we tried to check-in. The hotel informed us that our triple room (the room we have booked and paid) was not available. The hotel gave us a down grade to a double room. My sister had to sleep on the ground with not even a matrass!!! I really don't recommend this hotel to any of you!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
efolo, General Manager at Pical Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

We are sorry that you have had such an experience with our hotel. We sincerely apologise for it and we honestly believe that you will give us the opportunity to make up for it and to show you our true quality
Hotel Pical Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porec hotels
1.5 mi away
Valamar Rubin Hotel
Valamar Rubin Hotel
#12 of 33 in Porec
297 reviews
1.6 mi away
Valamar Diamant Hotel
1.6 mi away
Valamar Crystal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Valamar Zagreb Hotel
Valamar Zagreb Hotel
#6 of 33 in Porec
275 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Laguna Materada
0.7 mi away
Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pical Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pical Hotel

Address: Pical 2 | Borik bb, Porec 52440, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Porec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Porec
Price Range: $71 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pical Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A couples seaside hotel in Poreč that offers the sights and flavours of Istria Just minutes away from Poreč old town and surrounded by lush pine trees, the Pical hotel is tailor-made for a holiday for two. Along with a wide selection of rooms and an array of activities at the sports and tennis centre, the hotel offers congress facilities for up to 500 delegates. Chefs at the award winning show cooking restaurant will introduce you to flavours of Istria while one of the three bars will let you enjoy the sunset with a glass of the best of Istrian wine. Don't miss swimming in the hotel's 25-metre outdoor sea water pool or the all-day entertainment programme (free of charge) at the nearby Valamar Zagreb Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pical Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pical Hotel Porec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing