We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Laguna Parentium

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Laguna Parentium
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Porec
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Hotel Laguna Parentium is located in Zelena Laguna, a resort village consisting of hotels, campings, vacation rentals, a marina, a small supermarket, souvenir stores and several bars and restaurants. Parking is at the hotel premises and costs 1 euro per night.
The center of Porec is about 6 km away and can be reached by car, by foot, by a little train (20 kuna per person, 1 way - approx 20 minutes), by bus (price unknown) and by water taxi (25 kuna per person, 1 way - 10-15 minutes). Just outside of Zelena Laguna are large grocery stores, restaurants, gas stations, etc.
Many excursions leave from Zelena Laguna by bus or by boat (Plitvice Lakes National Park, Venice, Brijuni Islands, Postojna Caves, Fish Picnic, ...). Nearest airport is in Pula.

We immediately loved the spacious, airy lounge area with comfortable seats and relaxing colors. There was an incident that involved a much delayed check-in but this was solved in a fair manner by the hotel manager. Our nicely decorated rooms were located on the third floor and both had full sea view with a good size balcony. Both room and bathroom were very clean and spacious with lots of space for clothes. The beds were super comfortable and the air conditioning could be regulated for a perfect temperature.
The pool area was perfect! There are 2 outdoor pools of very good size, at least 3 hot tubs, a pool bar, lots of sunbeds both near the pools (with plenty of umbrellas) and on the lawn under the pine trees and near the sea. Pool staff is very friendly and helpful. The grounds are kept immaculately clean! The whole area breaths luxury and relaxation and all staff go out of their way to make it perfect for the guests.
Animators organize some activities (Croatian lessons, Zumba, dance, yoga,..) in the background, one is not obliged at all to participate.

Breakfast and dinner are served buffet style in the hotel restaurant. Wide selection of cold and hot dishes for breakfast.
Dinner buffet has many different cold and hot dishes, and many of the dishes are cooked on the spot. However, the quality was not always very good and food tasted a bit bland at times. The buffet at gala evening (Friday) was of a much higher level and was truly 4 stars.
Note that instead of eating dinner buffet style, one can get a voucher to be used toward dinner at Bacchus, the a la carte restaurant. We very much enjoyed the wine dinner at the Bacchus restaurant and we highly recommend it! Wine Dinner takes place on selected dates and can be reserved at reception. We loved our evenings at the hotel, sipping from a nice glass of wine and listening to wonderful live music.
All in all a wonderful hotel with a relaxing atmosphere and pleasant and helpfull staff.
We will definitely return and we highly recommend the Parentium.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SP MD 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Laguna Parentium, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for having chosen our Hotel Parentium as your holiday destination and especially for recommending it here on Tripadvisor. It is certainly a great pleasure to get to know you have thoroughly enjoyed our stay and you are thinking of coming back another time. Direct feedbacks of our guests help us to improve our services and that’s why we seriously take into consideration not only your compliments but also your critics (in this case about the food offer).
We are looking forward to seeing you again at our Hotel Laguna Parentium or any other facility we manage.
Best regards
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    115
    29
    6
    2
See reviews for
105
206
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buadpest
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had a 3 day weekend. Recommended by a friend, and ha was right, perfect location, sea all around, service nice, not too many people around. Nice bar in the pool:) We took a private boat to Porec. Very nice small city, with restaurants and little shops. We will come back for sure!!!!

Room Tip: We had a suite, nice view, and value for money, big space
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viktoria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Laguna Parentium, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear guest,
What a short and lovely review! It is our pleasure to read you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our various services such as the location, the sea, pool bar and our town Poreč.
Hoping you will also spread the word with your friends just as your friend did by recommending us to you we would like to welcome you again any time soon in this or other hotels belonging to our company.
We are looking forward to your next visit and send our best regards until then!
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

The hotel is in a lovely position on a peninsula surrounded by pine trees with gardens going down to a very clear blue sea. The pool area was fabulous with two outdoor pools and one in door pool which was attached to the spa area. Loads of very comfy sunbeds and plenty of parasols which were definitely needed as the temperature topped 37 degrees when we were there. It was a bit of a pain having to 'bagsie' a couple of sunbeds each morning but it seemed that the whole hotel did this so if you can't beat them.........However it isn't really necessary as there are plenty to go around and there are fairly large grassy areas with the shade of the pine trees if you fancy getting away from the pool area. It was school summer holidays when we were there and lots of children in the pools but they were all so well behaved and a joy to watch. Our room was nice enough with a fairly good sea view and a large balcony. I was a bit disappointed to see that we only had a shower in the room and not a bath as I wasn't aware that there were rooms without baths. Very comfortable beds and good air conditioning. Corridors are a bit 'holiday inn(ish)' with very long boring corridors and unimaginative basic décor.

Our greeting on arrival could have been a bit more enthusiastic. I don't expect a fan fare but it would have been nice to have a bit of a smile and a hello. My husband thought that check in was very efficient as we were done and dusted in 5 minutes and he much prefers this to the usual prolonged check in that we have been subject to in many other hotels. However I would have preferred a little more warmth or even just a smile would have been nice!

I had a fabulous treatment in the spa and highly recommend this. It is all very professional and spotlessly clean. In fact the whole hotel is spotless. I don't know how it will age in years to come as some fixtures and fittings look as though they will only have a very short shelf life, such as the white canvas chairs in the a la carte restaurant and the shag pile carpet in the bedrooms so it will be interesting to see.

The hotel is 4 star and this is about right. Many of the areas of the hotel could definitely pass for 5 star but the main issue that lets it down is the quality of the food. We were on a half board basis (you can't swap dinner for lunch by the way). There is no problem in the quantity of the food but the quality does need to improve in my opinion. I would rate the food at 3 star in the main restaurants. There is an a la carte restaurant on the lower ground floor and we had lunch there each day and dinner there one evening. It was much nicer and I would recommend you try it. If you are on half board you can get a voucher which gives you 75 kuna per person towards the cost of the meal at the a la carte restaurant.

The hotel did make an effort with evening entertainment and at the very least there was a pianist in the main reception area. The animation team try their best also to get holidaymakers off their sunbeds with some success. We had a lovely relaxing holiday which did everything we expected it to.

Room Tip: Pay for a sea view room. The inside rooms do not have a view. Try and get a sea view room on the 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redbluebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Laguna Parentium, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for having chosen our hotel as your holiday destination and especially for reviewing it here on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to get to know most of our services satisfied your expectations and you managed to enjoy your holiday time. We do however have to thank you for your critic about our very busy and “not always smiling” hotel personnel during check in; we are aware of the fact that it is very difficult to please everyone but when it comes to that we do hope things can get better by the next summer season. Hoping to be able to welcome you again in this or any other hotel belonging to our Laguna Porec company we send you our best regards.
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

A re-visit after a break of almost 40 years. This area has had a dramatic makeover in the time we have been away.
This hotel has had a recent complete makeover. Some of it good, some of it not so.
Reception is in a large lounge area. This was our first surprise. To sit on a very low armchair with the receptionist sat on a higher seat behind a desk was not a happy feeling. We were initially surprised at the lac k of a welcoming smiling face. Just a grim look was all we got!
We had read the reviews so asked for a sea view room (at an extra cost of 10 Euro per day) This was, quite frankly a waste of money. All rooms, except for those at the front of the hotel had similar good views. We had a limited sea view, but were above the restaurant with cooking smell invading our room at meal times.
The rooms are good sized, with fully carpeted floors. Good sized bathroom with walk in shower. All areas of the hotel are kept VERY clean by the hotel staff with carpets vacuumed daily.
There are 2 large swimming pools, pool towels provided by a ‘towel card’ Although there are more than enough sunbeds and parasols, these are reserved by towels from 0630 hrs! Even at 1000hrs, sunbeds are easily available.
The lounge area has been spoilt by the uses of the dreaded ‘Interior designers’ All of the seating is most uncomfortable. The seat bases are twice as long as normal with a low seat back. The only way to avoid lying down on the seats is to use 4 or 5 cushions at the back. There are numerous standard lamps, a curious design with arching stands. These are positioned so that it is difficult to sit or stand up from the seats without colliding with them. They also have long, trailing cables which make terrible trip hazards.
Although the signage says there are 2 restaurants, these are connected so you can choose from both menus. The choice at breakfast is always the same. Continental style, meat cheese etc. Fruit, although the fruit salad is tinned. Very fatty bacon, horrible sausage and partly cooked eggs. Unfortunately the dinner menu was not to our taste. If anyone would like to know the menu choice, please contact me via Tripadvisor. I would not wish to insult those who thought the food acceptable.
One other thing, why does no-one here smile? This must be one of the most unfriendly hotels in Europe? Representatives from hotel management are constantly walking around, why do they not interact with the guests?

Room Tip: Any area except those at the front. Ask for a outside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Laguna Parentium, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for your review about our Hotel Laguna Parentium. We are glad to get to know you have chosen it as your holiday destination and appreciated its cleanliness and various facilities like for example at the pool area. Your critics about unpleasant feelings with our hotel personnel and their grim smiles and no interaction will be taken as constructive and as a basis for an improvement for our future guests.
We do hope this wasn't your last visit to our Hotel Parentium and send best regards.
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is a lovely hotel. Spacious, newly refurbished with wonderfully comfortable beds. The staff were really friendly and helpful and they gave great service. Any minor question / concern was resolved within minutes. When we arrived, we found we had been allocated rooms which looked over an internal sort of atrium - not what we were expecting from a holiday hotel. When we asked if a room change was possible, it was organised within minutes and we ended up with a lovely outlook over the lagoon.
There are two good sized swimming pools and a free towel service- the only concern about the pool was the temperature! It could be a bit bracing! There are however 5 jacuzzi dotted about which were much warmer. The ' beach' is just across a path at the foot of the garden. Typical of most of Croatia, there is no sand but paved areas with ladders to help you access the water. Much nicer than that sounds! You can sunbathe on loungers at the pools, on others beside the sea, or on lawn areas under trees.
The food was good with a wide variety - one whole area was devoted to fish dishes, while there was always a big selection of meats and pastas on offer too. Very good scrambled eggs at breakfast made fresh for each guest as required.
Although 5km from Porec, there is a coastal path which was a really pleasant walk in - but there is also a tourist train, a bus service and an hourly ferry service. The whole area is really pretty, beautifully maintained and scrupulously clean.
Although a good sized hotel, it was really quiet and peaceful - perhaps too much so for some! But there are livelier bars, restaurants and shops just a few hundred metres away.
We had a wonderfully relaxing time and would happily return.

Room Tip: Ask for an external facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1Hunter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Laguna Parentium, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear guest,
We appreciate the time you've taken to write a review about our Hotel Laguna Parentium but we are certainly glad you did so especially because we found out your experience was a positive one and you thoroughly enjoyed our local food and drinks offer, our hotel's location and environment as well as its cleanliness and hard-working personnel.
As you already said you would happily return we would like just like to add we hope this will happen soon!
Best regards
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

On first arrival we where greeted by an impressive reception and sitting area. My first thoughts were clean and spacious.
Sitting at reception we checked in and went to our room. We were a little disappointed that we were not offered help with our luggage.
We then came back down to reception after finding our room did not have a bath which we need for our baby.
This was sorted very quickly and a cot was delivered. Our room was 204, sea view and the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in!

At Dinner there was plenty of choice and we managed to find something each night for a 1 year old too.
One night we ate in the a la carte restaurant (which you can get a voucher for if you are half board) nobody told us this!
The food was superb but lacking atmosphere and we waited awhile, strange as we where the only ones there!
After dinner there is entertainment in the form a different band each night but we didn't feel this was well advertised and so missed it the first two nights. This is the lounge bar near the pool, with big comfy outdoor sofas, we were in our element sipping cocktails.The bar prices are very reasonable too.

The pool is very clean and quiet, there are a few children but mainly smaller babies. I didn't see much activities/clubs for the older ones.

A short walk leads you to other restaurant and bars which are all by the sea.
There is not a sand beach which we missed but the sea is lovely and warm.

Fantastic holiday.
Not many English but it didn't bother us!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Laguna Parentium, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear guest,
We thank you for having chosen our Hotel Laguna Parentium as your holiday destination. It is our pleasure to get to know you have enjoyed your time spent with us and appreciated our food and drinks offer as well as hotel's great location and sourroundings. Critics about night entertainment advertisement will be taken into consideration before the next season's reopening.
We hope this wasn't your one and only visit to our Hotel Parentium.
Best regards
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

we went in September and was worried after reading the previous reviews, but they were made before the place had been completely done up. what a lovely place, fantastic views, rooms where lovely. the only thing I would say is the pools where a bit cold but it may be down to going late Sept. overall a fantastic holiday

Room Tip: double room with pool/sea view on 4th floor the view is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Clarina69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Laguna Parentium, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review about our Hotel Laguna Parentium. It is our pleasure to get to know you have chosen our hotel as your holiday option and that you have enjoyed its services.
We hope to be able to welcome you again soon!
Best regards
The hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porec
1.4 mi away
Valamar Isabella Hotel
0.3 mi away
Laguna Molindrio Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Laguna Mediteran
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Valamar Diamant Hotel
9.4 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
5.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
1.7 mi away
Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laguna Parentium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laguna Parentium

Property: Hotel Laguna Parentium
Address: Zelena Laguna, Porec 52440, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Porec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Porec
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Porec
#2 Romantic Hotel in Porec
#2 Luxury Hotel in Porec
#4 Family Hotel in Porec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Laguna Parentium 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Istria and Porec are worth seeing at any time of the year, and whenever you come to Hotel Laguna Parentium you will find open doors, comfortable rooms and excellent service. Located on a green peninsula, it offers numerous amenities: two pools, wellness center, fitness, gourmet delicacies...The newly renovated Hotel Laguna Parentium offers through all the year a modern Mediterranean ambient for guests that are looking for special holidays. This hotel, with the longest tradition in the region, is located on a small green peninsula in fairy-tale natural surroundings, ideal for walks by the sea, tranquil lounging on the beach or sunbathing. Two new pools with massage and whirlpools in the terraces are exceptional experiences. You will be delighted by the variety and excellence of our gastronomic offer, which combined with SPA experiences, numerous sports and entertainment activities, will make your holidays unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Laguna Parentium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parentium Hotel Porec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing