We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Croatian Holidays”
Review of Laguna Istra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Laguna Istra Hotel
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Porec
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“My Croatian Holidays”
Reviewed March 10, 2011

Hello,
I would like to tell you about Laguna Istra Hotel.

Laguna Istra is a really good place, if you want a good quite rest with your family or friends, and if you don't really need the nightlife. It is HB, but you can have a free snack (A sandwich and cake) in the lobby bar from 12:00 to 14:00. If to talk about the food - you can have a great variety of different courses, and everyone is very tasty. There is also a great amount of fruits.

The service there is perfect, especially I wouldlike to mark the way the reception works. You can obtain all the information you want rather fast, and have all your complaints handled.

As for the place it is situated in, it is needed to say that there are some restaurants and cafes, where you can have a snack, or lunch at the daytime. The prices there are reasonable, and the food is tasty too. you also can listen to live music there.

In Plava Laguna there are also some shops with food, souvenirs and dress, and a market with souvenirs and press.

So I recommend this hotel to everyone of you.

If you have any questions, please, feel free to contact me.

Anton Spitsyn

Skype: anton_spitsyn
E-mail: spiro89@mail.ru

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Anton_Spitsyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Laguna Istra Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having found the time to write a review about our Hotel Laguna Istra. We are very pleased to hear you have spent a great holiday with us and that you have enjoyed our food offer, the environment where the hotel is situated and most of all the efforts of our personnel.
Looking forward to your next visit we are sending you our best regards.
Laguna Poreč
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    62
    19
    10
    8
See reviews for
35
64
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Horten
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

We came down here on june 26th and we were greeted by a kind gentleman in the reception who spoke fluid english.

The hotel rooms included a breakfast bufeet , lunch and dinner bufeet. The food was absolutely perfect. They had everything one would want. Free dessert and FREE beer and wine (both red and white) ! ! !

I used the internet there for about 45min and it cost me 15kunas or so.. So pretty cheap. The tv's there are all in italian/german og croatian.. so thats a minus. But who goes to croatia to watch tv anyways :P except for the world cup :)

There are no sand beaches but there is no problem taking a bath in the water from the buildt out places. Its recommended to use swim shoes tho. Because of the rocks and i think they said some kind of shell/fish who could really hurt your foot if u step on it.

The area around the hotel is really clean and natur friendly. Lots of benches and trails. A must see is the sunset. Its a sight to remember for life! :)

There's a boat who leaves every hour or so to porec. ("which is the closest city"). Costs 15kuna each way. and takes about 15-30min ;)

Overall i would definitly come back to this hotel : )

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Darkzion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

I was staying in this hotel during a business visit to Porec and I have to say It was a realy beautiful resort. Very lively with good service and excellent food.
The interior decoration of the hotel is little out of date (multi-color granite floors, green chandeliers, glittering walls, etc.) but still very neat and well kept.
As for the exterior: it is impeccable! The landscape is perfectly maintained with large olive grows and lawns. There is a small golf court and a horse stable in the resort so you have many things to enjoy besides the sea and the beach.
The staff was very friendly and attentive and I loved when they knew which room I was in without me saying it:)
Would recommend definitely!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dolphin609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2008

My girlfriend and I have just returned from a week in Porec staying at the Laguna Istria and were very impressed with this hotel. The hotel is quite new and tastfully modern from the outside. Not that steps would be a problem for us just yet, but we were suprised to find a two way escalator as some reviewers had referred to access problems. The lobby and bar areas were quite grand for a three star hotel. We were greeted by a very friendly young Croatian who was very helpful and efficient. The bar area did not have a lot of atmospehere as there were never may people in it. The bar did not seem to be open very late either. The bedroom was much larger than expected and divided into two rooms. The bathroom was nice but a little small and you have to negotiate the toliets to get in and out of the shower. Our room had a partial seaview although we had not paid for one. The rooms were spotless as was the hotel in general. Room service was also very good. The resteraunt served a very varied sellection of food which was all very tasty. Beer wine and soft drinks were all free which was a welcome bonus and no one seemed to be counting. Breakfast is also very good with plenty of choice of warm and cold foods. The resteraunt staff are a bit miserable, but the free wine and beer outweigh that. The pool area was nice, but lots of rowdy kids when we visited. I would have liked a pool side bar and that would be the only real suggestion for improvement. Overall we were pleased with our choice and would definately recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank rc1blackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2007

We booked a week via Thomson at the Laguna Istra hotel in the Playa Laguna resort. We were keen to visit Dubrovnik and the Dalmatian region, but we couldn't find anything at the short notice so decided to give Istria a try.

We'd never been to Croatia before but have friends who raved about it, so our expectations were fairly high. Our holiday cost in the region of £1000 half board for the two of us flying from Manchester so wasn't what we would consider a very cheap holiday.

The flight etc with Thomson was fine and we arrived around 10:45pm at the hotel where we were told that a 'cold supper' was provided (more about that later).

The hotel itself was admittedly very clean (they are right about the steps though - if you have a problem with mobility, this is probably not the hotel for you) , but extremely dated. There was marble-effect plastic everywhere and peculiar green glass/plastic adorning the door handles, mirrors and chandeliers. It reminded a us a little of the hotel from 'The Shining'. Towels are absolutely minute so I'd advise you take your own. The swimming pool is also fairly small considering the size of the hotel.

They have a 'cocktail lounge' which is completely devoid of atmosphere with office-style lighting and a surly member of staff manning the bar. The restaurant is like a canteen and similarly completely lacking in any ambience. The range of food is ok, but we only ate in the hotel on about 2 nights out of the week. The restaurant does have a nice terrace and you can take your food out there, however at 10pm on the dot, a humourless old man comes around and starts taking the parasols down and stacking the chairs around you! It is pretty clear they don't want you to linger! This attitude was characteristic of the hotel staff who could really do with going on some customer service seminars.

Staff in general we found to be quite unhelpful and rude. While we had everything we needed, they were not particularly friendly and any efforts made to speak a few words of Croatian were met with a withering look and response in perfect English so we gave up and just spoke English in the end!

Another example of this bad attitude was at the end of the week, when our flight home was not until 8pm. We were advised by our Thomson rep that we could choose to keep our room for the day, for 'around £20'. In reality, this is £22 per person so would work out pretty expensive if there were a few of you.

When we asked if we could do this, we were told that we couldn't keep our existing room, but had to pack our bags and check out by ten am, only to be moved to another room to use for the day. We were already a bit annoyed by having to pay double the price we'd expected to and in my view this defeated the object of paying to keep the room. So we asked if we could move into the new room the night before and were told no. To cut a long story / argument short, we were basically stonewalled by the extremely rude, unhelpful and inflexible receptionist. This was the last straw for us in terms of the customer service at this hotel. The general atmosphere is rather sulky and mean-spirited. There is no effort made to accomodate the wishes of the guests, rather everything seems to be steered towards making the lives of the hotel staff easier.

If you stay halfboard, you are entitled to 'complimentary rolls and cakes in the cocktail lounge between 12pm and 2pm'. This sounded very nice but when you ask for these, 2 rolls and 2 cakes are slapped down on to one plate for the two of you to share. Hmm, very nice. The rolls themselves are hard and unbuttered, with a cheese slice and a slab of fatty ham shoved in!

Which leads neatly onto The Food. The cold supper we were given on arrival was a dollop of unidentified potato/pea stuff, a cheese slice and a piece of ham. Since we'd been travelling since midday, we could have done with something a bit more substantial. The food in the evenings is buffet-style and is okay.

There are lots of unidentifiable things on the hotel buffet which might, or might not have been Croatian-specialities - it would have been helpful if some of the food had been labelled, as I was really keen to try some Croatian dishes, but after a few brushes with liver and biting into something truly filthy I tended to stick to the fish, meat and vegetables. Actually - a point about the vegetables. Wherever you go - no matter how nice the restaurant is - if you order vegetables you will get a pile of overdone frozen vegetables (brocolli, cauliflower and carrot) such as you find in the freezer section of Sainsburys'.

Excursions

During our week we went to Rovinj on a Thomson guided tour - which was lovely and well worth a visit. We also went to the Brijuni National Park. I was really looking forward to this as the guide books had said it was well worth a visit for the 'Safari'. The island itself was okay, but I would certainly not go back, and it probably wouldn't recommend it. The Tito exhibition was quite interesting and Tito's collection of stuffed animals is worth seeing for the comedy value but the 'Safari' consisted of a few oxen, some horses, one zebra and two elephants in a cage. Hardly the Savanna. There was a noddy train which took you around but raced past the Roman Temple and Oldest Olive Tree in the world with only a passing reference by the guide. We would have liked a bit more time to have a look at some of these things.

Our Thomson guide was pretty unhelpful when it came to local knowledge. Basically, if you don't sign up for the Thomson excursions don't expect any help or advice about bus times or stuff to see and do on your own.

We had also planned to go to Pula by bus but we missed the 10:30am bus and there wasn't another one until 4:30pm! There were very few buses from Porec bus station to the surrounding area so, be warned, if you plan to take the bus somewhere, make sure you plan it properly. So, instead we went on a glass bottomed boat tour. This was absolutely rubbish. You could barely see anything except some rocks and it was pokey and hot in the tiny little glass bit. The only fish we saw were plastic toy fish they had tied to rocks. I kid you not.

The Resort of Playa Laguna itself is ok, but again, quite dated. The restaurants are all very samey. If you like Pizza you'll be fine but apart from that there is very little choice. There are only 2 or 3 bars, which are okay, but we certainly didn't want to go there every night.

Porec itself is a nice little town and we spent most of our days and evenings there. There is a lovely restaurant in one of the towers and on the main square which were both really gorgeous and there are a few good, reasonably priced places you can go for lunch. However, if we had been staying 2 weeks I think we would have really struggled to find enough places to eat. There are some nice bars where you can go for v.cheap cocktails.

We did think though that the resort should have run a free shuttle bus service from the resort to Porec Centre. Both the boat and the noddy train cost £1.50p per person each way, which is not admittedly a lot of money but if there are a few of you going to and from Porec maybe a couple of times a day it works out as a significant amount and I think it is pretty mean of the resort not to provide a service free of charge.

We did walk the 5km on a few occasions which was a nice walk but after dark you have to walk through an unlit pine forest which I would not have fancied doing on my own. The road is dark and deserted except for a regular stream of local kids on mopeds, despite the fact that the road was supposedly pedestrianised.

So, in summary. We certainly wouldn't go back to Istria again. In a week, I think we experienced probably everything the region has to offer. We would like to visit Dalmatia, Dubrovnik and the Islands down the coast as Croatia is very good value for money once you get there. I think we would probably book separate flights and hotel as in my opinion the Thomson prices are extremely high considering the standard of the hotel and resort.

  • Liked — It was clean and air conditioned
  • Disliked — The atmosphere, staff and price
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ManchesterVicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2007

My wife and I,being 'older parents',with two teenage children,left for our holiday in Croatia with the usual great expectations,expecting the usual great disappointment! We were pleasantly surprised by the good,quick flight,with plenty of legroom,and great on board food.

This was just the start of the best holiday ever spent by us! Pula airport was quick,uncrowded,and we were on board the airconditioned coach within half an hour!

More was to come,however; our arrival at the lovely Hotel Laguna Istra,with its friendly staff,high quality,clean rooms,and excellent food.

This is a wonderful hotel,and location for the perfect family holiday,so long as you do not have children whose sole aim in life is to spend their holiday on fairground attractions or swigging lager, which, fortunately we do'nt!

There is something here for every sane, peace loving person who wants to escape the madness and stress which is the UK today; walking through little towns with streets that are only wide enough for two people side by side, vivid flowers overhanging sunlit balconies, little shops selling locally made souvenirs that are not from China, and always the blue sea on all sides. Going to Porec on the little train and coming back in the moonlight by water taxi!!! The romance of the location,the warmth of the people,the absence of yobbery,all complimented by this wonderful hotel,which we cannot fault in any way.

It is the ultimate escape from our panic driven,humdrum lives, and we recommend it to all decent people, with the Laguna Istra and its wonderful staff and facilities always in the background to welcome you 'home'.

Our flight home was spent planning when we can go to the same location again!

Havala,Hotel Laguna Istra!

We'll be back in 2008!

The Morgan Family,Monmouth,UK

  • Liked — The peace and tranquility engendered by its friendly staff.
  • Disliked — We struggle to find any dislikes of this lovely hotel.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank MorganMonmouthUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loftie30
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2007

Having just returned from this wonderful place with my husband and two children, I feel i must write a review! On our arrival at the hotel I was worried a little as we had been told of the steps, however we were met by a two way escelator so please do not be put off, this was well received! Check in staff efficient and very helpful, we were in our room in no time at all. Having booked with Thomsons, we were told that a family room was not available, and due to the added cost of two rooms, we decided not to pay the extra for a balcony or a sea view. We were therefore thrilled when we received inter- connecting rooms, a double balcony and stunning views. This resort has everything a good relaxing holiday should be. Plenty of food options, shops a plenty, great shopping, and all at very reasonable prices. The food quality in the hotel was superb and plentiful, great to have free drinks at dinner too! take the mini train or ferry over to Porec itself, a beautiful, unspolit little town, great choice of little bars , and very reasonable prices again. Weather was delightful, and if you have the time a trip by ferry to Venice is a must. Top tip here do not book with your holiday company , go to the iformation centre and book locally with ATLAS , it is half the price! All in all , an excellent holiday, a lovely place, beautiful coastline, super watersports mini golf tennis etc. Very clean, no larger louts, and plenty of charm, Croatian people very friendly, and it made a refreshing change not to be ripped off! My only complaint is that we didnt book for two weeks! I am longing to go back already! However there will be no Bristol flights from next year which is a big shame.

  • Liked — value for money,food and amazing views
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank loftie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porec hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Laguna Gran Vista
0.0 mi away
Hotel Plavi
Hotel Plavi
#19 of 33 in Porec
153 reviews
0.5 mi away
Laguna Molindrio Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Laguna Mediteran
3.4 mi away
Hotel Laguna Materada
0.4 mi away
All Inclusive Hotel Laguna Albatros
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Istra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Istra Hotel

Property: Laguna Istra Hotel
Address: Zelena Laguna, Porec 52440, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Porec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Porec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Laguna Istra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your enjoyment in this unique piece of Mediterranean heaven may start as soon as you set foot in Hotel Laguna Istra. Luscious vegetation and proximity of the clean, warm sea offer a carefree and relaxing holiday. Only 200 m from the beach, the Hotel Laguna Istria is a perfect summer destination. You'll be able to enjoy a wide choice of sports activities, including water sports, tennis, volleyball and even horseback riding. You can rent a bicycle or take a stroll on the lovely promenade along the coast. Local specialties will tingle your palate while our entertainment team will take care that your family has the best vacation ever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laguna Istra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laguna Istra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing