We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valamar crystal hotel Porec”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Valamar Crystal Hotel
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Porec
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed for 10 nights beginning of September. Hot & sunny every day.Booked this hotel after reading good reviews we were not disappointed. The staff were very helpful & polite, swift check in. Room clean with very comfortable beds bathroom a good size with easy to use shower over the bath.The food was of good quality with plenty of choice. We thought the Live bands put on in the evenings were very good. Going out of the rear of the hotel is the wide path leading all the way to Town very busy with walkers cyclist Rickshaws & "Noddy train" approx £1 single trip. Along the path are numerous things to keeps the children happy ie: Bungy Jumping. Small motorised cars & motor bikes. Adventure climbing park in the woods. Trampolines. Inflatable climbing wall in the sea. Two crazy golf courses. When you reach the end of the path walk through a car park and the Billa supermarket is just across the road.Handy if you forgot the Mosquito repellent.We booked an Istrian Hilltpops excursion through our Thomson rep. A complete waste of money.we were not told that this trip is not suitable for anyone with mobility problems after changing from coach to shuttle bus up the hill there is still a steep walk up a very uneven cobbled road. In the next village the "light lunch" we were expecting was non existent. Just a few samples of Istrian meat cheese & wine. We didn't have any... the flies beat us to it. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay Porec is a lovely place with lots to do very friendly atmosphere.

Room Tip: Our room 514 faced the car park quiet at night full sun during the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jollywalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValamarCrystal, General Manager at Valamar Crystal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you for posting a review on the Tripadvisor community. We are always looking for ways to improve our service and your comments help us a lot.
We are glad you enjoyed your vacation. The place around the hotel and the path to the town is exactly as you described it; many activities and things to enjoy, for adults or children alike.
I will make sure to mention your remarks to the representative.
We hope to see you again this year.
Many greetings from sunny Poreč

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (459)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 459 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

Just stayed at The Valamar Crystal in Porec. Everything that has said in the reveiws is true. The Hotel ,the Staff,the people of Croatia and Porec are truly friendly .What a fabulous place.We are
definately coming again in 2014.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BurnleyLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValamarCrystal, Manager at Valamar Crystal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you so much for the words of praise. It is always a great pleasure to see our guests enjoying themselves on vacation.
Looking forward to seeing you again this season.
Best regards,
Valamar Crystal team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I've been to Porec before and stayed in the sister hotel Diamant. I gave that a good review and will do the same for the Crystal. The area where the hotel is situated is covered well in other reviews. Safe to say my daughter and I still enjoy it!
Lets get rid of a few minor niggles in our opinion...
it has a salt water pool - so we used the Diamant's pool mainly.
WiFi - a bit hit and miss in our room.
The staff, the food, the cleanliness are all of a high standard.
Special mention for Teresa (restaurant), Adis (Aqua aerobics) and the lady from reception who swiftly helped with our issue with the safe (purely our fault!)
If, after researching the area of Porec, you like it; you won't go wrong with the Crystal.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LCFCDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValamarCrystal, Manager at Valamar Crystal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with other fellow travelers. I am sure they appreciate it as much as we do.
We always try to do our best and make every guests holiday memorable. The salt water pool is a matter of personal preference but I assure you that, since the water is pumped directly from the sea, the pool water is always very clean and safe. If you prefer pools with regular water, you can always use the ones of our sister hotels, as you did.
The wi-fi is available in all public areas and all rooms; depending on how many guests are using it at a given time, it can be somewhat slower but we improved it this winter so this year there should not be any issues whatsoever.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and your reccomendation to other is our greatest achievement.
Hope to see you again as our guest.
Best wishes from Valamar Crystal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Amazing holiday in Porec, Croatia. We wanted Italy without the cost! and that's exactly what we got. Beautiful beaches to create a riviera feel. Multi cultural and although busy very well behaved children. The staff at the hotel exceptionally welcoming and helpful - nothing too much trouble. The staff wear badges to show how many years service (some with 35 years and still smiling). Highly recommend the Valamar :-). The food incredible - couldn't really fault it.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValamarCrystal, Manager at Valamar Crystal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for writing this delightful comment. I must say that the staff is, among other things, our greatest strength. Some of our employees have been serving our guests in this same hotel for over 35 years. It says a lot about the quality of our hotel, and it also says a lot about their love for their work. Thank you for recognizing this. We hope to see you back soon.
Greetings from the whole team of Hotel Valamar Crystal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in the Crystal in May. Our room was spotlessly clean and we were lucky to be given a room with an extra bed so had plenty of room. The room had a balcony and a decent shower. The pool was fantastic, again lovely and clean, water at a nice temperature and plenty of sun beds. The food at the buffet was decent - plenty of choice and much better than we expected. The location was good, around a 15-20 minute walk into Porec through a nice well-lit park or along the sea front. There was also a tourist train if you didn't fancy the walk. Worth shopping around price wise - we got it through a package and paid a lot less than the list price shown at the hotel

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValamarCrystal, Manager at Valamar Crystal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your impressions. Our guests are extremely satisfied with our food offer, that is because our chefs are putting a lot of effort and knowledge in it. Good food is an important factor in achieving satisfaction and we are well aware of that. We are glad that you liked our pool and everything we offer in the pool area. It must be mentioned that the water in our pool is saltwater, it means that it is always fresh and clean as it continually comes from the sea and the water is heated. It will be our pleasure to host you again at our hotel.
Best regards from our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This place is definitely worth a visit. It’s a 4 star hotel without the outrageous charges that go with it.
ROOM- For Eur 115 per night (for 2 persons), room 503 is small but clean, adeguately decorated, and cozy. It has a balcony with a view of the sea except that pine trees obstruct the view which is not all that bad. The bed and sheets are surprisingly comfortable. The housekeeping needs improvement though. Supplies (soap etc.) were not replenished. The bathroom sink was not filthy but not clean either.
LOCATION- The hotel is surrounded by pine trees which sets it apart from usual hotels. The sea is just a few meters away from the hotel. We loved the 5-10 min. walk to the old town of Porec. For those who are physically challenged, a tourist train is available near the hotel which goes to the center and back. Alive is one word to describe the city center. Late night walks can be romantic just be armed with a good mosquito repellent. Parking is absolutely free.
SERVICE- I would say the service is rather good. Buffet dinner is included in the price. The dining area staff is so friendly. I don’t usually eat a lot for dinner but with all that food being served, I had to knock myself out. One area for improvement though is the front desk. They tend to be a little bit cold sometimes. A tiny bit of smile here and there won’t be that draining. And the reservation system can be confusing. We asked for a room (didn’t make prior reservation) and they said there were no more rooms available. We went online in the hotel lobby to book one and miraculously got one. Even more remarkable was that a room became available.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank norvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValamarCrystal, Manager at Valamar Crystal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Guest,
thak you for taking the time to share your impressions with us and the Tripadvisor community.
We are glad you enjoyed your room and the location of the hotel, which is somethings almost every guest mentions for being relaxing and, at the same time, so close to the city center.
Our reservations system can indeed at times be slighltly confusing but that is because the availability of rooms changes very rapidly so we advise to our guests to book the room in advance, especially in the main season.
We will definitely take your remarks into consideration and act upon them to further improve our service and be the best we can.
Many greetings from Valamar Crystal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Wow - what an amazing holiday. The holiday blues have truly kicked in now we're back in the UK and away from gorgeous Brulo.

We stayed for 11 nights at the Crystal and from start to finish had such a wonderful time.

The hotel is set just a few mintues walk from the beautiful ocean, surrounded by forest. On the 15/20 min walk around the coast into Porec (which is stunning) you can stop at several cafe's or bars for a quick drink. If it's too hot and you don't fancy walking, you can catch the little touristic train, which only costs 10 Kuna each (roughly £1). Alternatively you can hire bikes and cycle around the beautiful coastline.

We booked through Thompson, who were great. Steve, our rep, was so helpful and had so much knowledge of the local area and things to get up to.

There are so many great things to mention about the hotel that it's difficult to know where to start!

The rooms were spacious, comfortable and airy, and the maids (sorry I don't know any names!) were not only lovely every day when we saw them, but also kept the place spotless.

The food was fantastic - this was something we were fairly nervous of before we went, as we are both quite 'foodie', but we were so impressed! The restuarant, to start with, was clean and welcoming, and despite how busy it got we never had to queue for food. The breakfast options were huge, including freshly baked croissants, pancakes with jams or chocolate sauce, fresh fruit platters, cooked breakfasts...you name it!
Evening meals were also delicious. Fresh salad bars (worlds away from your typical 'Harvester' experience!), fresh seafood being prepared infront of you, traditional dishes and also a sort of 'Italian' station, with gorgeous pasta, pizza and risotto options.

The pool area was great, and the terrace bar felt classy and provided welcome shade to cool down with a delicious Ozujsko beer or cocktail (or English Breakfast Tea if you're that kind of Brit!).

Although we were just travelling as a pair, the families who had children seemed thrilled with the entertainment and 'Maro Kids Club' which many of the children went to. Lots of the children were from different countries but it was lovely seeing them all dancing and singing in the evening together at the 'Maro Disco' and the animation team working with the kids were all so, so lovely and friendly!

The staff at the hotel were really one of the main highlights of our trip. I didn't realise how much of an impact it would make on the quality of our time there, but it really did. Despite staying at some good hotels in the past where the staff are polite and friendly, at the Crystal they were honestly so wonderful that we felt sad to say goodbye and wished we could bring some of them home!

I wish I could remember more names to mention. I think it was Vesna and Thereza, and also the twins Luka and Marin, in the restaurant who were always cheerful and making sure everything was good for you. The restaurant manager (sorry can't remember his name?) was always around to welcome guests with a friendly smile too.

Also Dominik and Velimir are two guys who managed to make us laugh a lot and make sure we had everything we needed.

The animation team staff all seemed really lovely, but Mia and Adis kept us laughing during aqua aerobics and always smiled and said hello.

The person who we will miss the most, without a doubt, is a wonderful man called Goran Saje, who works in the lobby bar and out on the pool terrace. From the start of the trip he made so much effort to make us feel welcome, giving us advice about the local area, and in particular being patient with me when I kept changing my mind over which cocktail to have next! The staff at the hotel work very long, hard hours, and despite the incredibly hot weather he was always so warm and friendly. He went out of his way to look after us and we will miss him making us laugh all the time. He was a real star.

We were sad to say goodbye, the Crystal and everyone in it were so lovely. It would be wonderful to return one day and we would certainly come back to the same hotel.

Croatia is very easy to fall in love with - be warned!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValamarCrystal, Manager at Valamar Crystal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Guest,
We appreciate the time you took to describe in so much details your stay in Valamar Crystal. Your words of praise, especially for our staff, make us all fell very accomplished and proud of our job.
As was mentioned before, the location of the hotel is perfect be it for relaxation seekers be it for ones that want an active holiday and sightseeing.
Thank you for mentioning our employees by name, they were all very pleased to read your comment and send you their best regards.
Hope we will see you as our guest in the future.
Warm greetings from Poreč

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porec hotels
0.1 mi away
Valamar Diamant Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Laguna Parentium
1.4 mi away
Valamar Zagreb Hotel
Valamar Zagreb Hotel
#7 of 33 in Porec
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Valamar Rubin Hotel
Valamar Rubin Hotel
#11 of 33 in Porec
310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Laguna Mediteran
0.9 mi away
Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Crystal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Crystal Hotel

Address: Brulo 2, Porec 52440, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Porec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Porec
#4 Romantic Hotel in Porec
#5 Luxury Hotel in Porec
#5 Family Hotel in Porec
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Porec
Price Range: $106 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Valamar Crystal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family hotel in Poreč giving you the perfect choice of entertainment and activities Guarded by the deep shade of pine trees, the Valamar Crystal Hotel and its great variety of family rooms, animation activities, playgrounds and innovative entertainment programmes represent an ideal choice for a fun packed family vacation. Take a short walk or a tourist train ride to the centre of Poreč to discover its rich heritage or relax by the pool or nearby beach while your children enjoy the wonders of Maro Club. For a great gastronomic experience visit the show cooking buffet restaurant. If you are looking for a new sporting challenge or would like to benefit from first-class wellness facilities, go to the nearby Valamar Diamant Hotel and treat yourself to our superb wellness centre or spend some quality time playing sport on the wide range of sporting grounds available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Valamar Crystal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valamar Crystal Hotel Porec
Kristal Hotel Porec
Kristal Hotel Valamar Crystal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing