We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Porec
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellant!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My mother and I stayed for 2 weeks in July. We were allocated a room at the back, which had its own lovely view of the rooftops and steeple. Every morning/night you could hear the bells chime and the seagulls squawk! We did see the view from the rooms at the front and it is definitely worth paying the extra for a sea view. (although quite a bit smaller than the rooms at the back). Even worth it with any noise from the local bars in my opinion. The hotel is perfectly situated for catching boat tours and waking around the town. Loved getting the boat, whether the speed boat or the larger passenger boat further along - to the island across the water during the day where we enjoyed walking around the little path, swimming in the sea, lying by the pool, having lunch at the hotel there or in the little cafe. We also enjoyed sitting watching the world go by with a cocktail on the terrace of our hotel after our evening buffet meal. (Food not fantastic but very acceptable) Breakfast was better than the evening meal in my opinion. The girls cooking your food would accommodate all your tastes. As said before if your half board you don't get to eat at any of the very inviting other restaurants. Staff were fantastic! Very professional and obliging, from the chamber maids to front of house, everyone was very helpful. A few little niggles:- Air-con not great. Clothes didn't dry well when you had a room at the back as no balcony. Food in the evening a little greasy for my palette. Outside terrace small and used a lot by the public so getting a table or seat for a drink after your evening meal sometimes a struggle. (Although extra tables were brought out on busy nights) View from terrace out to sea obscured by kiosks and stalls - which could be rectified!
In all a fantastic holiday in a fantastic hotel with fantastic staff! Especially liked the little jaunt over to the island that brought its own little hidden gems!
Some nights in the hotel we had live music with a small band, all very good. Went a trip to Venice-boat leaves from outside the hotel, would highly recommend the trip-but don't buy the lunch package, (very poor) do your own thing or take sandwiches with you, but remember its hard to find somewhere to sit down to eat them! But do buy the shuttle boat to get to the heart of Venice! It can be very hot and a distance to walk.
I had a great holiday and loved all the free music that the town of Porec provided during the Jazz festival.
I would recommend this hotel and area to anyone.
Well done to all the hard working staff of the Riviera, keep up the good work, its appreciated!

Room Tip: Get a sea view on one of the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacksy438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denis2808, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is extreme pleasure for all of us to read Your comment. It is a great honour for all that we do, and such a great motivation. We are very happy that You enjoyed Your stay at Valamar Riviera, an we sincerely hope to have a chance to host You again at our property.

Best regards
Valamar Riviera team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    159
    36
    11
    6
See reviews for
48
371
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Great location if you are catching a ferry and/or want to visit the town. Room was plain but pleasant, although lacking a view of any sort. Ladies on the front desk were helpful throughout. The hotel kindly opened breakfast to guests before the scheduled 7am so that there is time to have a bite to eat before the cat to Venice departs. Breakfast selection and quality is first class. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mundii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denis2808, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guests,
Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays and thank you for sharing your impressions with us and the rest of the travellers. Your comments are of tremendous importance to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services. We really feel happy and proud to know that you enyojed your stay because your satisfaction with our service is a validation of our mission and goal fulfilment. Thank you once again and we hope to see you in Valamar Riviera hotel soon.
Best regards
Valamar Riviera Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Fantastic hotel,super staff,nothing too much trouble especially Anna on front desk.
Food was really good, amazing choices, special mention for Jela who cooked great fried eggs
and much more.
The hotel is in a super setting right on the water front, lovely sunsets to watch over a drink
in the outdoor area.
The rooms were a good size and keeped really clean.
Will certainly recommend to friends and will plan to go back hopefully next year

Room Tip: Twin rooms on higher floors were larger and a/c was less noticable. Bell calling the faithful to ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Malcolm F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denis2808, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guests,
We would like to thank you for your nice review and thank you for being our dear guest . Your comments are important to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services. We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel and thank you once again. We hope to welcome you at our property soon
Best regards from Porec
Valamar Riviera Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at the Valamar Riviera Hotel. We left reluctantly on October 1st. This was the cleanest, and most pleasant hotel that we have ever stayed in at Porec. The staff were all very accomodating and always polite. Special mention for Lucija, who kept our room exceptionally clean and Jela who cooked our breakfasts to perfection. The food was a great selection, and plentiful.
We had great time on the Island opposite. Ferry was punctual (no charge), and the sunbeds and towels were cheap, and the island snack bar was good. All chargeable to our room! No need to carry money with us. Swimming area at the entrance to the sea was kept very clean.
WE'LL BE BACK!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denis2808, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Sincere thanks for your time and effort for complement to our hotel services. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at hotel Valamar Riviera. It is a great honor and a pleasure to read your impressions and we are looking forward to having an opportunity of greeting you again on your next visit to Poreč.
Best regards
Valamar Riviera team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is our fourth stay at this hotel in four years. The standard has never dropped .Staff are welcoming and polite and nothing is too much trouble. The location is excellent on the harbour front. Food is outstanding in all the restaurant facilities .We had a wedding anniversary here .Staff organised flowers and the hotel gave us a special meal and wine on the day. Outstanding service and staff attitude at all times. Be aware that the front rooms with the harbour view can be noisy in high season. Never the less the view compensates .
Thank you Valamar for another great stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denis2808, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for choosing Hotel Valamar Riviera for your holiday and thank you for sharing your opinion regarding our staff and service. It was a pleasure to prepare something special for your wedding anniversary, and we are very happy that you have enjoying it. It is a real pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and thank you for your nice words towards our crew and service.
Best regards and see you soon
Valamar Riviera Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, NZ
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had a single night at the Valamar Riviera before catching the ferry to Venice. The service on arrival was very attentive - we were expected - and we were lucky enough to be beneficiaries of an upgrade to a seaview suite. The accommodation was of very high quality and the location and outlook were great. Right opposite the ferry wharf and just around the corner from the historic old town of Porec - couldn't have been better. The hotel also offered guests a very good rate on evening buffet, which was good quality and great value. Also they allowed early buffet breakfast for travelers catching the ferry so that also was convenient and good value. The whiole experience fitted our expectations and our needs excellently.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank laingfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denis2808, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all let me thank You for sharing Your experience from Valamar Riviera hotel on the web. Your comment is truly motivating for all team, and it is nice to read that we have fulfilled Your expectations. In hope to have a chance to host You again,

Best regards,

Valamar Riviera Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Lovely hotel situated in a great situation on the waterfront in Porec. Second time in Croatia having been in Dubrovnik last year, thought Dubrovnik would take some beating but Porec just did that. Only thing that would change with hotel was that it was on a half board basis (with Thomson) so if you want to eat in the many nice restaurants in Porec you may feel that you are being extravagant when you have already paid for your evening
meal.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enright74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denis2808, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You for choosing Hotel Valamar Riviera for your stay. It is nice to read that You have enjoyed your stay at our property and that You have recognized all our efforts to make guests feel comfortable. All positives You have mentioned in your comment are product of an enthusiastic team that enjoy what they are doing. Guest satisfaction is the biggest motivation for all our staff and we will keep doing so.

In hope that You will choose Hotel Valamar Riviera at your next visit to Poreč I wish You all the best.

Warmest regards,
Valamar Riviera Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porec hotels
1.0 mi away
Valamar Diamant Hotel
1.6 mi away
Hotel Laguna Parentium
0.9 mi away
Valamar Crystal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Valamar Isabella Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Palazzo
Grand Hotel Palazzo
#11 of 33 in Porec
298 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Laguna Mediteran
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence

Property: Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence
Address: Obala Marshala Tita 15, Porec 52440, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Porec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Porec
#4 Luxury Hotel in Porec
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Porec
#8 Family Hotel in Porec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive waterfront boutique hotel for adults only located in the centre of historic Poreč Nestled on the picturesque Poreč promenade together with its residence, the elegant Villa Parentino a few steps away, it offers stunning views of the Sveti Nikola island and is just few steps from the historic old town. The hotel is one of Croatia's most stylish hotels and the 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016 winner of the prestigious World Travel Award as ,,Croatia's Leading Boutique Hotel". It is also a true couple's haven as the very first adults only hotel in our portfolio. Hotel also offers a free 5 minute private boat ride to a reserved island beach where you are also welcome to use the resort's renowned service, premium executive packages and facilities, as well as a great personalised experience for couples and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valamar Riviera Hotel And Residence
Neptun Hotel Porec
Hotel Neptun Porec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing