We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthy winner of TripAdvisor's No 1 ranking in Porec”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Porec
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worthy winner of TripAdvisor's No 1 ranking in Porec”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The above badge is proudly displayed outside the hotel and in our opinion it is richly deserved. As mentioned in other posts, the hotel is perfectly positioned across the road from the harbour and the Old Town is round the corner the back of the hotel.
We were given a large room on the 4th floor with a bath (we expected a shower, but this was better for us) which overlooked the rooftops of the town.
All the staff at the hotel were exceptionally friendly and went out of their way to be helpful, especially when we mentioned that we are vegetarians . As we had booked half board and there was not a great deal on the buffet for us to eat, the restaurant manager Kristina went out of her way to cook something for us each evening and served it to our table !Breakfast was delcious and eggs were cooked instantly in front of us.
The only (small) niggle is that the air conditioning in the room did not work very well but it was over 30C outside so perhaps it wasn't surprising.
We do not usually see the hotel manager except to complain, but in this case we felt we had to tell him how high the standard of the hotel is and how much we enjoyed ourselves..
We shall return!

Room Tip: Choose one on 4th floor if possible. We had one facing the Old Town and the view was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoggoneUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denis2808, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank You for sharing Your comment on Tripadvisor. We are all so happy to read that You have recognized all our efforts to make You feel happy and satisfied staying at hotel Valamar Riviera. It was a pleasure to work with You, and we are all looking forward to host You again at our property.
Best regards
Hotel Valamar Riviera team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    158
    33
    10
    5
See reviews for
46
363
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

OK if you want to you can find fault but where is perfect . Ok I didn't have a seaview but room 324 had a nice view of a church tower and lovely red rooftops . The room was large , the bed was huge , the room was clean ok the towels were a little thin but clean and changed on a regular basis . The breakfast buffet was very good and the omelettes cooked by Jela were excellent . I also found the buffet in the evening to be very good especially if you like fish , the fresh tuna cooked in front of you again by Jela was lovely . I found the staff were all exceptionally friendly helpful and eager to please . The town of Porec is lovely and the 3 minute boat ride to use the sunbeds on the island a nice little jaunt , I had a great time and hope you do to .

Room Tip: Try to get a seaview or a room on a higher floor will give a better town view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denis2808, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Sincere thanks for your time and effort for complement to our hotel services. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at hotel Valamar Riviera. It is a great honor and pleasure to read your impressions and we are looking forward to have an opportunity of greeting you again on your next visit to Poreč.
Best regards
Valamar Riviera team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Having paid for a old town view was very disappointed to get a view of air conditioning units out of a very small window. After moving rooms they made me feel like they were doing me a favour!!! Do not stay in room 118.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 118
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 18Anon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denis2808, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, let me thank You for sharing Your experience on Tripadvisor. Regarding to Your comment about moving rooms, I assure You that there was no problem at all for anybody on the reception desk to give You another room. The hotel was full in that period and there can be some difficulties with choosing rooms, but all our staff is always on disposal to do everything for the guests.

In hope that You will give us a chance to host You again,

Best regards.
Valamar Riviera team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bled, Slovenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Despite all the reviews we were positively surprised, nice clean apartment close to the sea, a lot of animation and evening entertainment for the kids, clean and warm sea, great holidays!

Couple of days before I was there with a group and everything was great too!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ziva G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denis2808, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You for sharing Your comment on Tripadvisor. We are all glad that You have enjoyed Your stay at Valamar Riviera hotel, and that we positively surprised You.
We all hope to have a chance to host You again.

Best regards

Valamar Riviera team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford-on-Avon
2 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I'm writing this as a coach tour manager from my room at the Valamar Riviera.

It seems that Porec is dominated by Valamar. The Riviera is most certainly a very stylish hotel and very well run and the feedback from all our clients is very positive. But...

If you're going to stay here, insist on a room that has a balcony and overlooks the harbour. The room I have is at the back of the hotel, and whilst it has all the modern conveniences you would wish for, it feels very dark and dingy, almost depressing, with only a very small window that has no view at all. Awful.

There is a very good choice at mealtimes, help yourself from the buffet. But it can get a little busy and chaotic.

I did order a glass of 'house wine' and to me a house wine should represent the quality of the establishment. It was truly awful and undrinkable. When I mentioned this, the comment I got was ' OK, just leave it on the side'. !!!

Nice hotel but definitely not four star.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewastevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denis2808, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

first of all, thank You for sharing Your comment on Tripadvisor. I am really sorry that our house wine did not satisfied Your taste. Speaking about the answer You got from waiter, I assure You that it was misunderstanding. We put all our efforts to make guests feel welcome at hotel Valamar Riviera, and we will keep to do so. We sincerely hope to have a chance to host You again and to show us at our best level.

Best regards

Valamar Riviera team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

PROS
Location is right across from sea and on the main tourist street with wine bars and restaurants, the old town area with all the tourist sides is right behind, so you can walk everywhere from here
Ferry stop is 100 feet from Hotel
Bus stop is about a 15 minute walk
Staff is very friendly, every single contact I had with anyone working at hotel was positive
I booked ocean view room and when checked in, got a room with view to a wall, reception staff was quick to correct error, and my room had a beautiful ocean view
Breakfast buffet is amazing, tons of choices and included in room price
Reception staff was the best ever
As a solo traveler felt safe at all times
Hotel bar bartenders and waiter were very nice
Room was of good size, bed very comfortable, all very clean
Room service was fast and club sandwich delicious
Rooms have a mini bar
Will come back, and back and back!
Stay at least three days in Porec to see it all

CONS
That I had to leave too soon
The complimentary St Nikola island boat from hotel wasn't running at that time so no beach
I didn't eat dinner at Hotel so can't comment on that

Room Tip: Get an ocean from room, the higher floor the better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherides-reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denis2808, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

first of all, thank You for sharing Your comment on Tripadvisor. The main goal of all our staff is to make guests enjoy in hotel Valamar Riviera. It is real pleasure for us to read that we have fulfilled Your expectations, and that You have enjoyed Your holiday at our property.

We sincerely hope to have a chance to host You again.

Valamar Riviera team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

A very nice smallish hotel in the centre of town, just steps away from the old town centre and right on the sea front opposite the swish yachts. excellent location. very modern, I think recently refurbished. A bright and modern buffet restaurant which was often busy. It is quite a small buffet area so it was a much more pleasant experience when quiet. Always a good choice of excellent food and you had the option to have breakfast on the outside terrace but you have to walk through reception and bar with you plates of food from the buffet. Not an option for dinner though, as this area turns into the A La Carte Spinnaker Restaurant in the evening to attract outside trade. A nice bar terrace with comfortable sofas and chairs. No pool or sunbathing area at the hotel although you can get the boat across to Sveti Nikola Island free of charge, a 5-minute journey. This is the home of the sister hotel Fortuna and there are loads of areas to sunbathe there. You have to pay for sun-loungers anywhere on the island but beach towels are free to hotel guests. They advertise a private beach for Valamar Riviera guests but this is a shingled terrace and is not in any way private as anyone can use it and you still have to pay for loungers as hotel guests even on the so-called private beach. The rooms are equally modern and fresh with wooden floors and lovely bathroom. The rooms vary in size, many of the sea view rooms are smaller although not all. A few sea view rooms have balcony and would get direct sunshine for much of the day and are likely to get some noise in the evening from the local bars and restaurants, but good views of the lively sea front. All rooms have air-con. None of the rear rooms have balcony. We had a larger size room without sea view, on the back of the hotel overlooking the backs of the old town centre buildings. A very pleasant room, and very cool when it was hot outside and quiet at night. Not a particularly attractive view but we didn't expect one. Excellent efficient and friendly staff throughout. We had the fortune of good weather all week and had a thoroughly enjoyable time in Porec.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms mostly smaller and possibly hotter and noisier than non-sea view rooms. Sea view room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denis2808, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank You for sharing Your experience from Valamar Riviera hotel on the web. It is nice to read that You have noticed all our efforts to make guests feel good at our property. You comment is a great motivation for all our staff.

We sincerly hope to have a chance to host You again.

Best regards

Valamar Riviera team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porec hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Laguna Parentium
0.9 mi away
Valamar Crystal
Valamar Crystal
#7 of 33 in Porec
430 reviews
1.0 mi away
Valamar Diamant Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Valamar Isabella Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Palazzo
Grand Hotel Palazzo
#11 of 33 in Porec
289 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Laguna Mediteran
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence

Property: Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence
Address: Obala Marshala Tita 15, Porec 52440, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Porec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Porec
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Porec
#3 Luxury Hotel in Porec
#8 Family Hotel in Porec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive waterfront boutique hotel for adults only located in the centre of historic Poreč Nestled on the picturesque Poreč promenade together with its residence, the elegant Villa Parentino a few steps away, it offers stunning views of the Sveti Nikola island and is just few steps from the historic old town. The hotel is one of Croatia's most stylish hotels and the 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016 winner of the prestigious World Travel Award as ,,Croatia's Leading Boutique Hotel". It is also a true couple's haven as the very first adults only hotel in our portfolio. Hotel also offers a free 5 minute private boat ride to a reserved island beach where you are also welcome to use the resort's renowned service, premium executive packages and facilities, as well as a great personalised experience for couples and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valamar Riviera Hotel And Residence
Neptun Hotel Porec
Hotel Neptun Porec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing