We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine bar review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Porec
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Wine bar review”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We were not staying at the hotel but every evening would stop at the wine bar before dinner.

The outdoor seating was perft for enjoying a drink while people and boat watching and (I think) Idi was one of the best informed and most entertaining sommelier we have had the pleasure to be served by.

Go for a glass or two of the best wine istria has to offer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pwils10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denis2808, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your nice comments towards our staff and service at Wine Bar Parentino. We hope to welcome you at our beautiful terrace again soon.
Best regards from Porec
Valamar Riviera hotel & Wine Bar Parentino Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    159
    36
    11
    6
See reviews for
48
371
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rafz, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

There is nothing more to say outside of what others have already said. Please is clean, friendly attentive staff, great breakfast and dinner buffet (we quickly realized that the tourist geared food in Porec is not what you want to eat each night). Rooms are modern, clean, great AC. As others said, stay away from the rooms facing the sea unless you are there in off-season.
Hotel has a private beach which is super well maintained with chairs and cabanas. We were there beginning of August and it was hot. We would arrive on the beach after breakfast around 8am and leave around 12 as the hottest sun and all those seeking some skin cancer arrived.
Beach bar sucks in a major way. Serious review of the menu and prices need to occur. Small bar right on the beach should also increase its size and offer more variety of drinks and beers.

Overall Porec is great alternative to Split or Dubrovnik. Locals suggest I come in September as it is not as crowded and hot although the water is still very warm.

The hotel is higher priced than most others but worth it. If you shop around the various portals you can get a good price.

WIth a little kindness, some tips you will make good friends of the staff who will be happy to make suggestions as to where to eat and go see.

Room Tip: Room facing the rear of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JaroG73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denis2808, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Guests,
We would like to thank you for your nice review and thank you for being our dear guest . Your comments are important to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services. We are pleased that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast, our beaches and our rooms. We feel sorry that we didn’t completely meet your expectations regarding our beach bar offer. We considered your suggestions very seriosly and will try to improve our service in the future.
Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you at our property soon
Best regards from Porec
Valamar Riviera Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed here one night on our way in from Venice via Ferry. Wish I could have stayed longer. The staff: Marina, Nada, etc were the BEST you could possibly ask for. They were helpful beyond the call of duty and made our stay perfect. We actually left some clothing in the closet when we checked out and they took every step possible to ensure that we got our clothes mailed to us quickly and efficiently. The hotel rooms are a little tight, but VERY modern and VERY clean. A nice respite during our crazy 2 week stroll through eastern europe. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faisal q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denis2808, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for sharing your impressions during your stay and thank you very much for your really nice words towards our crew and service. It makes us really proud and happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We hope to see you soon.
Valamar Riviera Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Just got back from a week in Porec and am so very impressed with the hotel and the service that I felt a review was needed ASAP.

The staff are LOVELY! Friendly and hardworking they made our stay that bit more special. The room was kept immaculately (hvala lucija!) and all the staff we met were friendly and welcoming.

The location is perfect to see Porec and nip across to Sv Nikola island for some sun bathing and basking in the blue Adriatic.

We WILL return.

Hvala Svako

Thanks for the lovely holiday

James

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jppbkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denis2808, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Mr James, thank you very much for this great review. We are very happy to know that you enyojed your stay very much at our hotel and especially pleased that you were satisfied with the cleanlliness of the room, kindness of our staff and our beach on the island. We have comunicated to all our crew your nice words which are a great motivation for the future.
Thanks once again and we hope to see you soon
Best regards from Porec
Valamar Riviera team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
712 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for a short weekend trip, an escape from the city. This place is right in the heart of Porec along the main Riviera, a short walk to all of the main sights and attractions in Porec. Guests can also enjoy swimming and club facilities at the various nearby Valamar resorts, with the advantage of being in the city centre.

Rooms are small, but efficient and cozy. I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking to enjoy a very short stay in Porec. Parking is available for a charge.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kangelini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denis2808, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Guests,
We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for you holiday and thank you for sharing your impressions with us and other travellers. We are pleased to know that you had a nice time in Porec and we are looking forward to welcome you at our property soon.
Kind regards from Porec
Valamar Riviera Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Had booked a harbour view room with balcony , was aware of reports of some noise from the boats in the harbour , ok , but with the double glazed doors closed this was reported not to be a problem , but unfortunately i had to go and buy some silencing ear plugs to get peace whilst trying to sleep at night from the hum drum of constant bass lines from the open air night club a few doors along which goes on till early hours of the morning . This did seem to do the trick , so had relatively good sleep , Rooms are a bit small and air con , again ,ok, but not the best i have experienced , Our bathroom had flakey ceiling paint around the heat light ,. which i thought for this type of chic & unique hotel was unacceptable . i did not bother mentioning this to the hotel staff as i feel the room cleaners who have no doubt noticed this ,should have informed management so a quick scrap and paint on a changeover day from the maintenance team would have solved this. Food does get a little boring and repetitive , but for a week was ok .
Loved the private beach opposite , completely relaxing and enjoyable with good selection of sun beds etc . The staff and location of this hotel are excellent and the staff most definately make you feel very welcome . beautiful porec .....................see you soon .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gazzakent63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denis2808, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Dear Guests,
I would like to thank you for staying at our property and thank you for the feedback after your stay, Your comments are of tremendous importance to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services, and they provide us with objectives and directions towards continual improvements. I feel sorry we didn’t completely meet your expectations in the matter you comment to us. We took this really seriously and we repaired the manfuctio in the room immediately.
We hope to welcome you at our property again
Best regards
Valamar Rivera Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We chose this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews and it was so worth it!!! Excellent location right on the harbor, within short walking distance to everything. Hotel is renovated and so comfortable, clean and modern, excellent facilities!!! Service is outstanding both in the hotel and the restaurants, staff is very friendly !!

ROOM: we had chosen a romantic room on 2nd floor with sea view (which you can book only through the hotel website). Room was spacious and very comfortable, with rose petals on the bed, champagne and Rafaello in the room!! Excellent! Bed was very comfortable and choice of additional pillows was just excellent!! Bathroom is clean and toiletries are nice and offered in abundance on check-in. They were not replenished daily though, so towards the end of the stay we had to ask for some extra stuff.

Laundry services offered were very affordable, which was excellent since we had been traveling long way before Porec (we paid 15 euro for 7-8 pieces of clothes!).

BEACH: the hotel has no pool or beach right next to it, however they offer their private beach on St. Nicola island and free boat rides all day long (less than 5 mins ride). The sun beds etc are offered for a charge, which really should be for free for a 4 star hotel.

TRIP TO VENICE: some practical tips on the trip!! The trip was included in our room rate, and is offered thru the hotel by Venezia Lines. Be aware - there are a LOT of people waiting for the boats in the morning and no organization at all, so make sure you choose the line for Venezia Lines. Venezia Lines offers a boat "San Pawl", which is overcrowded and has no outside deck, and it can be a horrible experience since in practice the ride takes about 3-4 hours (instead of advertised 2,5). Otherwise, I would recommend buying a separate ticket for another boat - "Prince of Venice" - which is bigger and has outside decks.

The minus of the hotel is check-out at 10 am, which is waaaaay too early. The hotel should really reconsider this and offer a standard 12pm checkout, like most of the hotels do.

Other than that, excellent hotel in Porec, can't wait to come back!! Thank you Valamar!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on 1st and 4th floor are with balconies. Check out the photo with the room layout to choose a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Savenich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denis2808, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Mr./Mrs Savenich, thank you for choosing our property for your holiday and thank you for sharing your opinion regarding our staff and service. Your opinion is very valuable for us and we will consider them seriosly. It is a real pleasure to know that your enyojed your stay at our hotel and thank you for your nice words towards our crew and service.
Best regards and see you soon
Valamar Riviera Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porec hotels
1.0 mi away
Valamar Diamant Hotel
1.6 mi away
Hotel Laguna Parentium
0.9 mi away
Valamar Crystal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Valamar Isabella Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Palazzo
Grand Hotel Palazzo
#11 of 33 in Porec
298 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Laguna Mediteran
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence

Property: Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence
Address: Obala Marshala Tita 15, Porec 52440, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Porec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Porec
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Porec
#4 Luxury Hotel in Porec
#8 Family Hotel in Porec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive waterfront boutique hotel for adults only located in the centre of historic Poreč Nestled on the picturesque Poreč promenade together with its residence, the elegant Villa Parentino a few steps away, it offers stunning views of the Sveti Nikola island and is just few steps from the historic old town. The hotel is one of Croatia's most stylish hotels and the 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016 winner of the prestigious World Travel Award as ,,Croatia's Leading Boutique Hotel". It is also a true couple's haven as the very first adults only hotel in our portfolio. Hotel also offers a free 5 minute private boat ride to a reserved island beach where you are also welcome to use the resort's renowned service, premium executive packages and facilities, as well as a great personalised experience for couples and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valamar Riviera Hotel And Residence
Neptun Hotel Porec
Hotel Neptun Porec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing