We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Porec
Certificate of Excellence
Austria
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“very nice!”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

unfortunately we only stayed for one night. but it was wonderful!
the interior is really well done in a marine style. the bed was 2 m wide (i guess) and very comfortable. we were very fortunate as we were on the 3rd floor with a wonderfull view over the harbour and a little balkony. the bathroom had a good size as well and was equipped with a nice rainforest shower and a seperate bath tub.
the reception and breakfast room are about 80 m away in the main building.
breakfast was nice, but as there were too many guest they were lacking some things like cuttlery and cups. but when asked they straight away brought it to you.
as it is in the harbour area, there is limited access and your car will be parked a bit further away, but the concierge will get it for you any time.
as a guest you got the possibility to go to the island in front of the harbour - for free. the boat leaves every 1/2 hour.
the only thing i can criticise is that the receptionist was not really very helpful and seemed a bit confused and that they keep your passports in a small box just under the desk - which is not very safe to my liking! the internet did not work in our building.
in general we had a very nice time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ausseertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    153
    33
    9
    5
See reviews for
44
346
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

The Riviera was by far the best hotel experience I've had in years. This is down to a number of factors - genuinely friendly, professional and helpful staff, smart decor, spotless clean rooms and communal areas and great location. We felt relaxed and truly welcome during our stay. The fantastic selection of food at dinner and breakfast was prepared and cooked to an excellent standard. Our room had a fantastic sea view and while it was a bit noisy when the window was opened it was a sacrifice worth paying to watch the beautiful sun-sets. Our room was spotlessly clean and really spacious, with lots of storage and a great bathroom (with bath and shower). It was so quiet. No banging doors or people stamping up and down the corridors or above your head. We stayed at the hotel for one week and were really sorry when the time came to check out… we would highly recommend this hotel to friends and family. We would particularly like to thank the staff who made our stay so memorable and hope to see them again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Paperface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalibor M, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, October 22, 2011
Dear Guests,
Thank You very much for your really nice comments regarding your stay in our hotel. It is a real pleasure reading them They are very motivating to our crew and in the same time a proof that we are on the right way. It is our aim to always be there, for all our customers and trying to make their holiday an unforgettable experience. Your kind words are much appreciated from all our staff. It made us really happy and proud.Thank You once again and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome You at our property again.
Best regards from Porec
Valamar Riviera Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perpignan,France
Level Contributor
88 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Stayed 3 nights in the extraordinary hot spell of weather at the end of Sept. Had room with balcony overlooking the port,but not noisy, as the double glazed patio doors drown out the sound. Room a bit on the small side,but clean and comfortable. Breakfast excellent...on a par with hotels in the far east for those who know there. Parking is a little problematical. They try to take your car to a remote car park well outside the town,but if you insist,they will find you a space right outside on the quayside. The sister hotel on Sveti Nikola has its own rocky beach,and is a 5 minute free ferry trip away. Porec is a nice little place ,albeit a bit tourisy,but not tacky like some Spanish and French resorts. Did not eat in the hotel,as there were so many tempting restaurants (we found both Konoba Aba and the Ulixes the best),and the food was a revelation considering the last time I was in "Yugoslavia" was over 25 years ago ! Whilst not cheap the Valamar Riviera is excellent value for money and very professionally run and managed. We will return.

Room Tip: Look out for ones overlooking the port. they have super views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank johnPerpignan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalibor M, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Dear Mr John,
Let us thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays. It makes us really happy and proud hearing that you were satisfied. We appreciate a lot your impresions during your stay. Thank you once again and we hope to see you soon
Best regards from Poreč
Valamar Riviera Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

So pleased we chose this location. Service was excellent. Hotel was clean and comfortable and in a great position in an interesting town. Access to the private beach and to the pool on the island opposite was quick and easy. We would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrandMrsKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalibor M, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, October 8, 2011
Dear guests,
Thank You very much for staying in Valamar Riviera hotel and thank you for sharing your impressions during your stay. We appreciate your comments and we hope to see you at our hotel very soon.
Best regards from Porec
Valamar Riviera Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Having lived and worked in Porec a couple of decades ago, I still vividly remember the quality and level of accomodation and services one could get at that time - which makes this new experience even more exciting. The hotel, formerly known as Neptun, is an excellent choice for a business gathering, which was our case. The rooms are nice and very clean. If you are lucky, or by special request, you can get a sea view, although the back view to the old town is also nice (if you don't mind being awaken by church bells at 7 each morning). The buffet is plentiful with excellent choice if dishes. What makes this hotel something worth recommending is the level of services and the quality of staff. From hotel manager, to receptionists and waiters, everyone was extremely forthcoming and willing to assist us in all our requests. I am very happy that
I have chosen Valamar Riviera for our management retreat. And the Indian summer made it really a trip to remember.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SvetlanaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalibor M, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
Dear Svetlana,
Thank you very much for your kind words towards our team and service. They were much appreciated from all our staff. Also, It was a pleasure hosting your business gathering. Its our goal to always be there and to make your stay enyojable. We will continue with our good work and we hope to welcome you at our hotel soon.
Vidimo se uskoro!!!
Lijep pozdrav iz Poreča
Valamar Riviera Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

This hotel has been recently refurbished and although the rooms do vary, our was at the back - it was a good size and our view of the street made for a more interesting and quieter stay. The food is great, even as it is a buffett they do cook to order. Prices are good and even the mini- bar was not expensive. We had a hire car which the hotel staff parked for us and returned it when we needed it at no additional cost. (except tips) You can use the ferry to the island for free as well.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalibor M, Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your holiday. We are very pleased to know that you enyojed your stay. This is a proof that our "ship" is sailing on the right way. We'll keep up the good work and offcourse aim to improve in the future. Thank You once again and we hope to welcome you at our property again.
Greeting from Porec
Valamar Riviera Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

The Valamar Riviera is an excellent choice if you aren't too worried about having a pool. The staff are very friendly and helpful, I requested a change of room and it was organized the next day. The first room was huge with a living area two wide screen TV's, a coffee machine but no balcony. I think a balcony is essential to watch the sun go down with a G&T. The rooms are very clean and the breakfast is great, fresh fruit, pancakes, eggs made fresh on the spot, couldn't fault it apart from the lack of lids for the teapots!!!
On the first night we tried the hotel restaurant and I had a lovely risotto, so it's worth a try. I would steer clear of the cocktails, I had two and neither were very good. You can't have a marguerita made with lemon and a mojito made with dead mint!!
If a boat trip is your thing there is plenty of choice on your doorstep and I would recommend the boat 'Kristian' to Lim Ford or Rovinj. Great trips and we saw dolphins which was a treat.
We also did the Venice trip which is well worth the 349KN. My advice would be not to get sucked into buying maps, shuttles, taxi boats etc on the ferry as they are a real rip off. €7 for a lager on the boat is daylight robbery.
I would certainly recommend the riviera hotel and the free taxi boat over to the island beach was a real plus as the other Valamar hotel on the island would not allow us the use their pool and there was not another one to use nearby.
Thoroughly enjoyed my stay in Porec and the Riviera hotel was excellent.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony it's worth sacrificing the size for the view. I moved room for no extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arjwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riviera2, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
Dear guests,
Sincere thanks for your time and effort for complement to our hotel services. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at hotel Valamar Riviera. We feel sorry about the dried mint in your cocktail and we immediately instructed our bartender to give more attention of mint selection. Thank you one more time we will keep up the good work and hope to have an opportunity of greeting you again. Best regards
Valamar Riviera Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porec hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Laguna Parentium
0.4 mi away
Valamar Isabella Hotel
1.0 mi away
Valamar Diamant Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Laguna Mediteran
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Palazzo
Grand Hotel Palazzo
#11 of 33 in Porec
269 reviews
0.9 mi away
Valamar Crystal
Valamar Crystal
#6 of 33 in Porec
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence

Property: Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence
Address: Obala Marshala Tita 15, Porec 52440, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Porec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Porec
#3 Luxury Hotel in Porec
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Porec
#8 Family Hotel in Porec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive waterfront boutique hotel for adults only located in the centre of historic Poreč Nestled on the picturesque Poreč promenade together with its residence, the elegant Villa Parentino a few steps away, it offers stunning views of the Sveti Nikola island and is just few steps from the historic old town. The hotel is one of Croatia's most stylish hotels and the 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016 winner of the prestigious World Travel Award as ,,Croatia's Leading Boutique Hotel". It is also a true couple's haven as the very first adults only hotel in our portfolio. Hotel also offers a free 5 minute private boat ride to a reserved island beach where you are also welcome to use the resort's renowned service, premium executive packages and facilities, as well as a great personalised experience for couples and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valamar Riviera Hotel And Residence
Neptun Hotel Porec
Hotel Neptun Porec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing