We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding stay in Porec”
Review of Gargamelo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gargamelo
Ranked #1 of 27 Porec B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding stay in Porec”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The penthouse suite was gorgeous with three clean and comfortable bedrooms, two well appointed bathrooms, nice sized flat screen TV, large living & dining room area, and kitchen too. The dining table had seating for 6! On top of the rooms being so comfortable, the terrace and numerous windows gave us a beautiful view of the Adriatic. We felt like pinching ourselves for finding such a wonderful apartment.
The young manager, son of the owner, put this place over the top. He went out of his way to take care of our needs including having a special dinner cooked for my husband and then bringing it up to the third floor terrace. Then breakfast the next morning was quite a spread, so many choices fresh and yummy.
We would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Penthouse suite has so much space and gorgeous views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler97027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    38
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
41
48
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This was a pleasant surprise! We were on our way to Porec, saw the travel center sign, pulled in and WOW! We're we surprised. The room was the cleanest we have found on our whole two week trip through Croatia. The price was very reasonable and the food was excellent and oh so fresh.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Katiems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We found this hotel by chance as we had driven to Croatia and had not booked accommodation.the hotel was full but the manager was extremely helpful in finding us alternative accommodation for four nights.He was then able to give us a further three nights at his hotel although in a different room each night.This was not a problem for us as on the last night we experienced the pent house suite.Fantastic with amazing views.
The hotel provided a good buffet breakfast, the rooms were good value for money and spotlessly clean and the manager was very helpful and friendly.
We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I wasn’t expecting much, but still left disappointed. When we arrived the room was full of flies and there were little black bugs crawling on the windows. We had trouble with the shower because the drain was completely clogged. The walls are thin and we had noisy neighbors till almost one in the morning. The walls in our room had water pipes running through them and there was a lot of noise every time someone ran water. For some reason the pipes were very active around midnight when we were trying to sleep. Breakfast was also a bit disappointing.

On a positive note the room was a great size and had all the amenities we needed like A/C and wifi. If you can sleep through anything and don’t care about breakfast this would work just fine.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We found this hotel to be very satisfactory. It was extremely clean and the owner very helpful. Granted it was the low season and very quiet so we don't know what it would be like when busy but we were very happy with our stay. It is some distance from the city centre however definitely not impossible to walk if you have a reasonable level of fitness. We enjoy walking around the towns we visit when travelling as we feel it is the best way to explore so it suited us.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissPhoGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porec hotels
3.1 mi away
Villa Laguna Galijot
Villa Laguna Galijot
#12 of 33 in Porec
150 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Laguna Materada
3.5 mi away
Hotel Laguna Parentium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence
2.6 mi away
Valamar Crystal
Valamar Crystal
#6 of 33 in Porec
418 reviews
5.2 mi away
Kastel Pansion & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gargamelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gargamelo

Property: Gargamelo
Address: Dalmatinska 10, Porec 52440, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Porec
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Porec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gargamelo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 1.5 km from the beach, Gargamelo Restaurant & Gastro Pension is a family-run guest house offering bright rooms with air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and free private parking. Guests can choose from a range of rooms and apartments. All apartments come with fully equipped kitchen and a private balcony. There is also a shared garden. Gargamelo Pension also houses the family-owned restaurant, which serves traditional Croatian dishes accompanied by local wines. Buffet breakfast is also available. The guest house is located in a quiet area of the ancient city of Porec, with its historical centre just 2.5 km from the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HostelWorld so you can book your Gargamelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing