We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good old-fashion hotel with very professional staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Palazzo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Palazzo
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Porec
Certificate of Excellence
Pula, Istarska, Croatia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good old-fashion hotel with very professional staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in Porec! Grand Hotel Palazzo has a breathtaking view both to the sea and the old city of Porec. We had a free upgrade from a classic to premium room(which was realy spaciouse, around 50 square meters!), free parking and the attitude from the hotel's staff was just great. Many thanks to Dejan, the front desk manager!

Breakfast was very reach, with a lot of fresh fruits and perfect choice for any taste. What I didin't like was dinner, as I know Croatian food very good and I can compare, it was too pricy and boring.

As for wellness: it is situated on a ground floor and has an open heated pool, I assume it is a perfect place to stay during warm days! I didn't like the massage, but the spa zone is worth to visit.

All together, the hotel is very well decorated in old Austrian style, beds are huge, and my baby got a comfortable baby cot.
I recommend it!

Room Tip: First we got a classic room 207, and it's the room with a HUGE terrace, perfect for summer! View...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    91
    38
    10
    3
See reviews for
27
173
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ware, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We recently stayed in this hotel and would highly recommend it. The location is ideal as it is close to all amenities and the marina. We had a room with a sea view - wardrobe on the small side, but we managed by using the shelves. The bathoom was a generous size and everywhere was kept immaculately clean. The air con was a little noisy at night. We found all members of staff to be helpful, professional and welcoming. We stayed half board ; breakfast was plentiful with an excellent choice and we could not fault it. The evening meal was also very good with high standards of food, presentation and service. Choice was limited to the main course only ( out of three options) with the remaining courses being a fixed menu, but we enjoyed all the meals and liked the convenience and comfort of eating in the hotel. All in all, a wonderful holiday in lovely Porec; so much to see and do. Thank you Hotel Palazzo.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a quiet room, away from the cafe-bar on the ground floor. We had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine_970_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Fantastic location, close to all restaurants and marina. Lovely large room with view but wardrobe could have been larger. Staff very friendly and helpful especially at breakfast. Only niggle would be pool bar service which was a bit hit and miss. Overall though a great holiday with a good choice of restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glynis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
358 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is a lovely hotel – attentive, helpful and friendly staff, a high standard of accommodation, and a faultless location. We were warmly welcomed, helped with our car and luggage, and given a voucher for a complimentary glass of wine which we thoroughly enjoyed that evening at the wine bar on the terrace.
The only meal we ate at the hotel was breakfast because there are many lovely restaurants nearby. I was a little disappointed by slowness in resetting tables, as well as replenishing items on the buffet which had run out, refilling the samovar with hot water etc. This is not the fault of the staff who were very helpful and responsive but in a hotel of this standard you shouldn’t have to point things like this out. We had no problem with the range of offerings at breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyTeviot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We have just returned from an 11 day holiday at this hotel and we could not fault it in any way. We found all the staff to be extremely pleasant, helpful and efficient, whether they were reception staff, chambermaids or restaurant staff. The hotel itself was lovely, nicely furnished and decorated and always clean and, as others have already said, the position of the hotel could not be bettered. Our room (406) which was quite spacious, unfortunately didn't have a balcony but did have the most wonderful views as we had two windows which looked out in different directions, both out to sea and over the marina. The only niggle was that the wardrobe was not really large enough for 2 people staying 10 or 11 days, it was a bit of a squash.
We were there on a half board basis and, therefore, had dinner in the restaurant every evening and I can honestly say that there was nothing that we didn't enjoy thoroughly; we thought the standard of cooking and presentation was extremely high.
So, all in all, we would be very happy to return to this hotel and would certainly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gadab0utgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Lovely hotel. Great location for a super holiday the staff are very helpful and the area is beautiful. Make sure you try the 'yellow submarine ' and a trip to Venice is quite pricey but well worth while.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dubanovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATHENS
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is our second time in this hotel in Porec and although we had a wonderful time, I must admit that service seemed quite poor compared to the first time. It has deteriorated over the past year. The village of Porec is absolutely beautiful and the hotel is set in an excellent location. This is its greater asset. The rooms are good, some bigger than others, some have beautiful views while some others don’t and some need better maintenance. Those with the view are quite expensive though. No value for money especially in August. The pool is nice and refreshing and there was a lovely pool bar last year that served drinks, that was completely abandoned this year! Furthermore, breakfast was not as good as it was last year. During a windy day we had breakfast indoors. Apart from the fact that there were not enough tables for all the customers and we had to wait for one to be available, there was nobody in charge present to facilitate the situation, and later on, after we had found a table to sit, I couldn’t find a waiter to place an order for coffee. There were all disappeared for quite some time in the kitchen. And unfortunately, there was no refill for fruits or for any other item on the buffet…
Its restaurant, in which we had dinner last year, was good. Additionally, the hotel has a nice coffee shop around the corner that I believe it is the best in Porec!
To sum-up, I would recommend this hotel for its location but not for its service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SANDRA12ATHENS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porec hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Laguna Parentium
0.1 mi away
Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence
0.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel Mauro
Boutique Hotel Mauro
#11 of 33 in Porec
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Valamar Diamant Hotel
1.8 mi away
Laguna Molindrio Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hotel Laguna Mediteran
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Palazzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Palazzo

Property: Grand Hotel Palazzo
Address: Obala Marshala Tita 24, Porec 52440, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Porec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Porec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Palazzo 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Palazzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing