We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleek haven in prime position”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Palazzo
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Porec
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Hotel Pallazo is a sleek and stylish palace in the swankiest position in town. It's where the biggest yachts tie up... and yet it's welcoming and modestly priced. Super clean and super designed. The rooms are large. Not many of them have balconies but lots have large windows and sea views. Whisper quiet aircon made hot nights pleasant. Great buffet breakfast and a lovely terrace to eat and (later) to drink on. The best thing is the position right at the tip of the town. You can wander amongst Porec's old streets, walk or cycle in either direction along the lovely coastline (avoiding the obscenely enormous package hotels) and, in the evening easily escape from whatever mayhem is happening in town to a haven of peace. Nice helpful staff too.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Feckenhamsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Palazzo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 305 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2012

Perfekt!
This must have been ours best holiday! We have allready booked 10 days this summer!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fulagubban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

Stayed there two nights in the absolute low season, I would have thought they would give me a very nice room, but had to ask for a change to a room with balcony and harbour view if possible they managed but hidden in a corner, bathrooms and rooms adequate but looking at the beauty of the architecture I found the renovation done without taste, felt like an upmarket motel instead. Breakfast however was very nice large selection buffet style. Free wifi in the rooms and fast it was indeed. The town itself isles absolutely gorgeous, so clean, so historic, if you visit this region a must to see with your own eyes.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Deepsapphyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

We stayed for one week in August and loved the hotel. The hotel occupies the prime location and appears on postcards of Porec. In the evening it's the best place to have dinner and watch the sunset. Our room had a sea view and was quiet. The food was superb and we thoroughly enjoyed the steak. As I have anaphlaxic shock to prawns the waiter/resses happily changed an amusee bouche or starter if it had prawn in it. The staff were fantastic, friendly yet professional, we thought that they were a real asset and helped us learn a few more words of Croatian too! There is a small pool and an outside bar was under construction the week we stayed. A couple of evenings hosted live music which was delightful. There is a steam room and jacuzzi which is part of a 'Wellness centre', here you could collect pool towels or have a treatment if you wished. The Palazzo is an elegant place to stay in the perfect location, a stone's throw from old Porec where you can soak up the atmosphere and bustle, then return to the sanctuary of the hotel - a top spot!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank suitcasetogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We spent 3 nights during the off season (it is very quiet in this part of Croatia in Dezember). The hotel was very nice and many rooms have views of the water, both in the old renovated portion of the hotel and the new section. Some have both views and balconies. Price is based upon size and location. Ask for a water view.

Included was breakfast which was well done and an excellent start to the day. Overall the hotel is a good bet if you are going to be going to Istria. Also included is a Spa which includes the usual amenities, although the outdoor while filled with water was a bit cold to swim in this time of year. Given the time of year the cost was minimal and an excellent value.

Room Tip: Ask for a water side room.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Porec is a sweet little port town. The Palazzo has the prime location at the end of the peninsula and a short walk to the pier where the catamaran sails for Venice in the early morning. The room was above average but nothing exciting tho on a very rainy day it didn't seem bleak due to floor to ceiling window/door to the patio overlooking the sea which was gorgeous even in the bad weather. Some nice sites to see when the weather cleared up. They graciously provided a breakfast to go when we rushed off to catch the ferry in the morning. Very nice all around.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NPWNewYork_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We have spent a week with family in this hotel back in July. I've been to Porec already, but the first time into this hotel. It is fully renovated, with an aristocratic charm, but still very modern and cosy. The location is excellent, no building is blocking the view of the sea. It has a nice pool area just 2 steps from the sea (you can't swim at this part, as it is not a beach, but the view is beautiful). The breakfast is also nice experience, sitting on the terrace just next to the beach, watching the ships and the birds when enjoying the substantial and yummie breakfast - well, that is the real summer experience.
The rooms were spacious with beautiful bathrooms and a small terrace (view to the see).
We will come back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dittimitti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porec hotels
0.1 mi away
Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence
1.0 mi away
Valamar Diamant Hotel
1.7 mi away
Hotel Laguna Parentium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Valamar Zagreb Hotel
Valamar Zagreb Hotel
#6 of 33 in Porec
275 reviews
1.0 mi away
Valamar Crystal Hotel
0.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel Mauro
Boutique Hotel Mauro
#10 of 33 in Porec
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Palazzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Palazzo

Address: Obala Marsala Tita 24, Porec 52440, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Porec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Porec
Price Range: $99 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Palazzo 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1910, in the contemporary style of the Austro-Hungarian Monarchy, the former “Hotel Riviera“is the first hotel in the rich cultural and historical heritage of the town of Porec whose guests were aristocrats. The hotel was renovated in 2009 with respect for the original architecture, and after many years it opened its doors once again, under the name of „Grand Hotel Palazzo“. The hotel offers its international clientele a union of luxurious architecture of a past era and comfort of first-rate modern catering. Surrounded by the deep blue Adriatic Sea, with a view of the harbor and just a step away from the picturesque historic centre of the town of Poreč, the hotel offers its guests total comfort, with many recreation and relaxing possibilities: elegantly furnished rooms and suites, an outdoor swimming pool, a secluded wellness and spa zone, a space for seminars and congresses, as well as a restaurant and a café. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Palazzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing