We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to sleep; good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Laguna Molindrio Hotel
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Porec
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“A place to sleep; good location”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The Molindrio is located in Zelena Laguna, a small village consisting of hotels, campings and vacation rentals, just a few meters from a small supermarket, souvenir stores and several bars and restaurants. Across of the hotel is the marina, with a small beach (stones & grass), a small supermarket and restaurants. Parking is near the hotel and costs 1 euro per night.
The center of Porec is about 6 km away and can be reached by foot, by a little train (20 kuna per person, 1 way - approx 20 minutes), by bus (price unknown) and by water taxi (25 kuna per person, 10-15 minutes). Just outside of Zelena Laguna are large grocery stores, restaurants, gas stations, etc.
Many excursions leave from Zelena Laguna by bus or by boat (Plitvice Lakes National Park, Venice, Brijuni Islands, Postojna Caves, Fish Picnic, ...). Nearest airport is in Pula.
We ended up in this hotel after the hotel we had booked 6 months earlier called us at the evening of arrival (8 pm) that our 2 rooms in their hotel would not be available until the next day. As it would already be late when we arrived in Porec and we needed a place to sleep, we had no choice but to accept their solution to our problem. As we arrived past 9 pm, dinner was no longer served but for those arriving late, a cold cut (meat) platter was provided.
We spent the night in standard rooms with no balconies and no views at the back side of the building. Both rooms looked rather depressing and dirty (dust, stains, hairs, bathroom trash can was not emptied, ...) and we could not imagine having to spend more than 1 night there.
On the positive side: the breakfast buffet had a big selection of cold and hot dishes and served good coffee. The hotel also seems to have good animation for young and old.
The price of our rooms was Euro 85 for 1 person per night, half board. Very over priced for the quality of the room. We noticed this especially when we moved in to the hotel of our choice the next day that was only 25 euro per person per night extra and was of a whole other level. Since it was a last minute mess-up, we might have ended up in so called "emergency" rooms and these rooms might not give a correct view of the actual condition of the rooms in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SP MD 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Laguna Molindrio Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for having chosen our Hotel Laguna Molindrio and for having found the time to review it here on Tripadvisor. We are sorry to hear your holiday didn’t really have a good start as you started with problems with your booking. However we are glad you managed to stay in our Laguna Molindrio and to know most of our services were similar to your expectations.
We do hope you will come to stay within some of our facility again one day and send our best regards until then.
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    158
    57
    15
    5
See reviews for
119
165
3
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We were glad to stay at the Molindrio which is one the hotels in the Zelena Laguna area. There are many hotels closer to Porec if you want that but for us this hotel was perfect. There is a little train that goes all the way to Porec so it is no problem to get there.

One day we went on a boat sightseeing tour which picked us up at our pier in Zelena Laguna. Very conveniet.

We travelled with our daughter, 4 yrs old we enjoyed the pool and our room a junior suite was great. Very modern and classy. 2 plasma tv and large bathroom. We had the seaview/pool view which I think most of the rooms had actually.

A lot of hotels closer to Porec have a lot going on for older kids but for us it seemed too crowded. I definately recommend the Molindrio. There is a small beach just in front of the hotel or just a 5 minute walk from there. Nice and quiet, though we were here end of June, high season had not yet started.

The food was great, dinner was included in the room price. The variation each night was very good. Service too.

One of those holidays you just want to go back. We had 28-30 C every day!

Room Tip: A corner room had the junior suites with large balcony. Pick one of those if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank icing70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Laguna Molindrio Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear guest,

It is with delight we get to know you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay within our Hotel Laguna Molindrio and appreciated our food and drinks offer and helpful and hard-working personnel.
We would like to thank you for your review about it and invite you to join us again soon within one of our Laguna Porec structures.

Best regards

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We moved here at late notice from another hotel that was not up to standard. We were happy with the room on the top floor that had a small balcony. The hotel was quite large and seemed to be popular with families. Breakfast was included in our rate and was buffet style, plenty of choice and quality pretty good. Hotel is rated 4 star, which is fair. Overall happy with our stay here for 2 nights.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mjj11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Laguna Molindrio Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear guest,

We are very glad you have found the time to send us a review about our Hotel Laguna Molindrio and especially to hear you have enjoyed your time spent there and were satisfied with our food and drinks offer.

Hoping to se you again soon within our Hotel Laguna Molindrio we send you our friendliest greetings.

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartbeespoort, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Small, but comfortable. Maybe not quite the 4 star they claim to be. Super friendly staff. Strange, no coffee in rooms. Breakfast and dinner was fine. Another strange thing was that they gave wine and champagne with breakfast, but none was available at dinner. A lot to do in area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank El-Review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Laguna Molindrio Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for you review about our Hotel Laguna Molindrio. We are glad to get to know you have enjoyed our local food and drinks offer during breakfast and dinner and extremely satisfied you found our hotel personnel "super friendly".
We are looking forward to seeing you again soon in this or also other hotels of our company.
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza Italy
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This easter visited the same Hotel in Plava Laguna. Unfortunately the weather was terrible, and since Easter this ear came early (end of March) it seemed not as well organized or staffed. This year we booked a suite, slightly more expensive but not much difference in room quality.. just more space. The living room had poor quality furniture you would expect of a 3 or 2 star hotel. The mini bar was not restocked for our entire stay. our suite supposedly had a sea view but we ended up with a view of the roof top (:-(()The restaurant had a great breakfast, as it always does, but the dinner menu on Friday, 29 March, was not well stocked and lacked choices. Dinner imrpoved as our stay progressed... I blame the time of year, as this hotel normally provides an excellent dinner meal. Lounge entertainment was not good on Friday and excellent on Saturday and Sunday. Because of the weather, it was our only entertainment!

Room Tip: always ask for a room or suite on the higher floors, if the view is important for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobPortillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Laguna Molindrio Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear guest,
We thank you for your review about our Hotel Laguna Molindrio and for having come back to our facility. Maybe the atmosphere at Easter time isn't the same as during high season but we guarantee you we give our best in order to try to satisfy our clients' needs all year around. Hoping to be able to welcome you soon within one of our Laguna Porec structures we send you our friendliest greetings.
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at Laguna Molindrio in July 2012 for our honeymoon. Seven nights at the hotel felt like heaven!

The hotel is grand with a beautiful atrium, two large swimming pools, two bars and a huge restaurant. The communal areas were impeccably clean, well presented and well serviced. The pools were clean and spacious, with plenty of sun loungers to go around.

The bars offered a variety of cocktails and alcoholic beverages. There is plenty of seating, indoors and outdoors. The bar was the perfect place to laze about in the evenings.

The restaurant offered a beautiful variety of dishes with an abundance of fresh fish and vegetables. The wines were well selected the accompanied the food very nicely. The service was swift and very polite.

The evening entertainment was varied with live bands and acts on every night.

The sleeping accommodation was spacious and the rooms were spotless. We enjoyed the external private balcony with lovely sea views.


The location was good, with shops and restaurants nearby and bike rental only a ten minute walk away. The so-called 'Noddy train' - or Vita Liva - offered a very reliable service to Porec at a low cost. We regularly used the Noddy train - it was a pleasant way to get to the town of Porec.

We had a very pleasant stay and would recommend to anyone!

Room Tip: It is worth booking a room with a sea view. The best evenings we had were spent on the private balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hudson_TD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Laguna Molindrio Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear guest,
We are very delighted to get to know you have chosen our Hotel Laguna Molindrio for your stay and especially for such a special stay as a honeymoon is. This is one more reason to be satisified with what we are doing and to hear that from honeymooners is more than welcome!
It is with pleasure we read you have enjoyed all our services such as the food and drinks (local wine) offer, night entertainment, soft and polite personnel and lovely sea views.
Hoping to see you again soon in our Hotel Laguna Molindrio we send you our warmest greetings.
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Spent a week in September 2012. Fantastic weather at a great hotel.

This is a large hotel, but has plenty of space in the lounges and bar areas. The dining room was also huge. The two pools are a good size and plenty of loungers, but will probably be very busy in high season.

Hotel was spotless, the room we had was to the rear, but with a balcony and got the sun in late afternoon. Nice to sit for an hour and relax. Beds were comfy, but the shower wasn't the best i've had, but served its purpose.

The food at breakfast and dinner was buffet style. Huge selection and quality was good. Eat all you want !. Found it cheaper to buy a litre bottle of local wine with dinner, rather than the normal 0.75 litre. overall, for a quality hotel, the price of drinks was pretty reasonable.

The pool area was spotless and we used the pool towel service. Get a card from reception, hand over for a towel at the pool. Change as required, then at end of holiday, hand over pool cards when checking out. Saves a lot of hassle with your own towels.

The whole resort area around Zelena Laguna was excellent. The other hotels all looked good and the bars and cafes were worth a visit. Entertainment on in the hotel itself, as well as the bars around the resort.

A walk into Porec, will take about 45-50 minutes (fairly quick walk) and it is not very hilly. Nice walk and if you fancy a drink, food or a swim in the sea, plenty of places to stop at. Alternatively you can take the local bus (15 Kunas), road train (20 Kunas ), sea bus (20 Kunas) or sea taxi (25 Kunas).Prices per person one way.

Staff at the hotel were all nice and helpful.

Overall, this was a really nice hotel. The location was excellent and it was the first / last hotel at this part of the resort, so it was pretty quiet outside. It was only a five minute walk to the other bars,cafes, market and shop.

Stoney beaches, but also paved and grass areas to sit. For going in the sea, would recommend buying the mesh sea shoes. In the market they may try and sell for 50 Kunas, but barter them down and get for maybe 30 Kunas (or less).

Would definately recommend this hotel, resort and general area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank William095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Laguna Molindrio Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for having found the time to write a review about out Hotel Laguna Molindrio after having spent there your holiday. We are indeed pleased to hear you have enjoyed various services within and around our facility. We hope to be able to welcome you again and send our best regards until then!
The hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porec hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Laguna Parentium
3.2 mi away
Hotel Laguna Materada
0.8 mi away
Hotel Laguna Mediteran
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Villa Laguna Galijot
Villa Laguna Galijot
#14 of 33 in Porec
155 reviews
0.4 mi away
All Inclusive Hotel Laguna Albatros
0.9 mi away
Valamar Crystal
Valamar Crystal
#7 of 33 in Porec
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Molindrio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Molindrio Hotel

Property: Laguna Molindrio Hotel
Address: Zelena Laguna, Porec 52440, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Porec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Porec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Molindrio Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The completely renovated Hotel Laguna Molindrio is now distinguished by modern and exquisite interiors, while its tradition and hospitality remain unchanged! Apart from the new pools, beaches are also close at hand, as well as grass areas shaded by pines, and a sports centre. You will enjoy the attractive view of the lagoon and water skiers' stunts and you might even join in on the nearby ski lift. Spend a night partying at the nightclubs and enrich your holiday memories with unforgettable moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Laguna Molindrio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing