We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to spend a week in Croatia” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Laguna Molindrio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Laguna Molindrio Hotel
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Porec
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A great place to spend a week in Croatia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

The initial impression of the hotel was pleasing - really clean, staff smiling, lovely swimming pools. However, when we got to reception (about 12pm) we were informed that not only were our rooms not ready but also we were not able to have the room we booked with a balcony and sea view. We were very disappointed as we were only there for a week and it meant we couldn't unpack or get settled. We were informed that our room would be ready at 10am the next day. Our first room was extremely small and had no view at all - if we had been staying for a week in this room we would have been very disappointed. When we went to reception the following day to ask for our new room key we were told that all our belongings hads been moved to our new room. I thought this was a bit strange as the bell boy packed our clothes and toiletries - I would have preferred to do this myself really. (He also left everything that was in the bathroom so that had to be found and returned to us later). When we got to our new room the balcony was nice and had a partial sea view and a lovely view over the swimming pools. Waiting for us was also our compensation for not having the correct room on arrival - a bowl of fruit! We did not think this was adequate as you could help yourself to fruit at the buffet every night so was not particularly speical or what I would consider appropriate compensation.
The new room was also very small but better than the original one. The bathroom, or rather shower rooom, was a good size and the shower excellent. There was always plenty of hot water and it was of a good pressure (howvver the shower head often fell out of the holder which was annoying). We didn't have a double bed though which is what I had booked.
The air conditioning worked well and was quiet. Don't expect to be able to get much in the way of TV - only about 3 english channels. (Fine for us as we spent all our time at the pools really).
On the first day we couldn't get sun beds so we had to join the Germans and put our towels down on the way to breakfaast each morning. Some people were really unreasonable and put their towels down in the morning and didn't turn up until 5pm! What a waste. The sun beds are free and you can also get tokens for towels as well.
The pools were lovely, very busy but then it was peak season.
The staff were generally really nice and all worked really hard, especially the maids, some who also seemed to be waitresses.
The buffet breakfasts and dinners were amazing! No complimentary drinks at dinner but wine and champagne at breakfast! Every day there was such a variety of foods. I'm a fussy eater and I found something every night. The food is so fresh and lots is cooked right in front of you. It was fisherman's night on Tuesday and the variety and quality of fish was second to none. Breakfast was also great - cereal, pastries, hot drinks, cooked breakfast, omlettes, yoghurts, rolls, toast. I cannot believe someone has commented that there was no baked beans! You were in Croatia, did you really expect Heinz?! There was soooooo much choice, lovely fresh produce, we certainly did not miss beans!
My partner used the gym about 4 times and was impressed with the equipment. Everything worked well and there was a good range of equipment - cross trainer, treadmill, bikes, weights, bench etc.
We did two day trips; Venice and Plitvice Lakes. Venice took two hours by boat. It was really busy and very expensive (as expected really). We went with Atlas and if you choose to walk to Mark's Square rather than get the boat they offer, be warned, they walk really slowly and treat you as second rate citizens because you haven't bought their exta trip. On the boat they try to sell you lots of extras. We didn't buy any - we just bought a 12hour water taxi ticket for 16 euros each which meant we could hop on and off the water taxis as often as we wanted and it was a great way to see the city. I'm glad I wasn't staying longer than a day - found it a bit over rated and very expensive but glad I've been.
Plitvice Lakes were beautiful but a 4 and a half our coach trip either way was too long and with hind sight I don't think I would have done this trip, maybe gone to Lake Bled which was closer instead. We had to rush round the Lakes and the 3 course meal at a local restaurant which was included in the price was really awful (the vegetarian option was a bowl of pasta - literally! No sauce or even parmesan, just boiled pasta. I was glad to get back to the hotel buffet the next night! The Thomson guide was brilliant - so knowledgable and really entertaining. She told us all about the war in 1991 and spoke personally which made it really interesting. Perhaps they should offer an overnight stay at the Plitvice hotel as then you could really enjoy this amazing national park.
Porec is a lovely historic town, I preferred it in the evening. The little train is quite reasonably priced at 15kuna each way. We enjoyed a drink in the Torre Rotunda which used to be a fort for the town.
The Hotel Molindrio had a lot going for it - the staff, pools, view, bay and amenities nearby but we were disappointed about not having the correct room on arrival. I'm not sure the rooms reflect 4 star - no bath or tea and coffee making facilities and generally very small, however the hotel itself is most definitely 4 stars.
The Thomson rep, TJ, was lovely. He was happy to answer questions and didn't push trips and excursions. The transfers were only about 45 minutes from Pula airport and were really well organised. We thoroughly enjoyed our week in Croatia, especailly since the weather was so amazing and would definitely return, however probably to a different region so we got to experience something different.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Laguna Molindrio Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear Sirs,
We thank you for your detailed review about our Hotel Laguna Molindrio and about your stay in Croatia. Very pleased to hear you have enjoyed our food and drinks offer prepared by our local chef. On the other hand we are very sorry about the problems you have encountered with your room. We know a bowl of fruit doesn't compensate our mistake. Our personnel tries to be always helpful and to find the best solution for problems that occur especially in the peak season but it is not always possible to find the best one. Hope you understand that.
We appreciate you informed us about people putting towels on pool sun-beds early in the morning and not using them until late in the afternoon. This is not the first time we get such a warning, we will see if things can be arranged differently but it depends very much of the guest itself. As they say, „the nicest but yet the most difficult jobs are those when working with humans“!
We hope to see you soon in Laguna Molindrio or in another hotel of any other Laguna Poreč hotel.
Best regards,
Laguna Poreč
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    148
    53
    15
    5
See reviews for
113
159
2
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

Just returned from beautiful Croatia and fantastic hotel. This hotel is very clean and its staff are all friendly and helpful. We stayed for one week and felt this was not long enough so definitely booking for two weeks next year. The food was plentiful with a lot of choice catering for all tastes. This hotel is in a great location overlooking the laguna with breathtaking views from sea view rooms. Porec is well worth a visit by either water taxi or train which both stop a short distance away. I would recommend a visit to Plitvice Lakes which is stunning.

Room Tip: Book a seaview room for fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Laguna Molindrio Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear Sirs,
We are extremely delighted to hear you have spent a great holiday at our Hotel Laguna Molindrio and for taking the time to write a review. We are looking forward to your next visit!
Kind regards,
Laguna Poreč
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dursley Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

We have just returned from this hotel and we loved it! Fantastic clean modern hotel lovely food and friendly staff all I wish is that we had longer! Porec is wonderful and so beautiful with its crystal clear coves and pine trees its so relaxing. The place is extremely clean too unlike other places in Europe we have visited porec town has lovely cobbled streets and pretty coloured buildings making this holiday one we will definetly repeating soon

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonbooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Laguna Molindrio Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear guests,
We are delighted to hear you have enjoyed your stay at our Hotel Laguna Molindrio and that you liked our little sea town. We do put much effort into maintaining our hotel as well as the whole town. Looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotels!
Laguna Poreč
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

The best part of this hotel was the view from our balcony, restaurant and bar. The sea view and lagoon was so peaceful and beautiful, definitely worth the extra for a high floor sea view. Pool area was good, nice Jacuzzis and pool, but usual fight for sunbeds - put towels on before 7am to get the best. Food was good, plenty of choice which varied over the week. Very comfortable beds and reasonably quiet air con. For the most part service was friendly and excellent by all staff, the room was cleaned spotlessly with fresh towels every day, and bed sheets changed mid-week, all the reception staff were very helpful. Just one exception - at the pool bar on one occasion when we were totally ignored by a dark haired woman - she seemed more interested in her sandwich than serving us! Louie (shortened name) in the bar upstairs was excellent, very professional and attentive even though very busy he still managed to be friendly and gave us perfect service. Thomson rep TJ was approachable, friendly and informative, and we would definitely go with Thomsons again. The Thomson guide Maristella on the Plitvice Lakes was really good, funny, entertaining and knowledgeable. We really enjoyed the Plitvice Lakes and Venice trips, but the BBQ boat trip to Vsar and Rovinj not as good as we hoped. Overall, we had a fabulous time and would definitely recommend this hotel, more like a 5* than a 4, and would love to go back. My husband thanks the hotel for the bottle of wine and birthday card he was surprised to find in the room - really nice touch.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChilledOut_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Laguna Molindrio Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear guests,
We thank you for having chosen our Hotel Laguna Molindrio for your holiday and for having found the time to write a review about it especially because it is a very positive one! Our facility is indeed situated in a nice lagoon and offers stunning views to the sea. We try our best to offer fresh quality food and our personnel is trained to be highly professional but at the same time friendly and helpful. Special attention is dedicated to details such as little birthday presents as in your husband's case.
We are looking forward for your next visit in Poreč.
Laguna Poreč
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

Molindrio is a beautiful and modern hotel, well located with a very convenient touristic train to the beach (as the one near the hotel is small and not very attractive) and 2 nice pools with free transats and bath towels.
The buffet (breakfast and dinner) is excellent with a numerous choice of food which should satisfy everyone whatever his nationality. The buffet was refurbished very often and despite previous comments, we never had to wait for the beverages : all the staff was extremely helpful and kind as soon as you treat them good and smile to them !

The only negative point was that the rooms were really small : we had 2 rooms with a balcony on the groundfloor with a view on the laundry so that we did not have the opportunity to stay long time.

I would like to thank the animation team ( 3 young women), especially Justina for their kindness and incredible dynamism to try to get participation of all clients to the different activities : aquaaerobic, waterpolo, beach basket, table tennis etc.. sometimes without success but always smiling.

In one word : great hotel and nice staff. (very few french people,majority were german or italian clients).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gkm60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Laguna Molindrio Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear Sirs,
Thank you for your kind feedback about out Hotel Laguna Molindrio. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the time spent in our hotel, its location and our rich food offer. We try to give our best in order to offer the best possible service.
Delighted to know about your friendship with our animation team. Even if it seems an easy job to do tourist animation can be a difficult task and that's why our teams train hard and try to entertain our guests in the best possible way they can.
We sincerely hope to have the chance to have you as our guests in our hotels again.
Laguna Poreč
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed 2 days in this hotel. I paid 162 Euro for the night for a parc view and I had no view on the park just a view on the roof with some noise. Food is good but the beverage are not included and you have to wait a long time when you want to drink something cause the women takes other commands in the same time.

There's a mini club with 2 young womens (open just one hour in the morning and in the afternoon). The ladies never come to say "hello" or playing with my child 4 years old, it's a shame !!

We have order a mojito at night and it was so bad.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Laguna Molindrio Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear Sirs,
We are very happy to hear that you spent your holiday in our hotel and that you enjoyed the food prepared by our local chefs. We are trying to always offer new delicacies and to satisfy various types of clients. On the other hand we are sorry to hear about problems with your park view room. It is always possible to ask for a change more times in order to find a solution if possible, unfortunately this doesn't seem to have been your case. We thank you for the comment about mini club employees, we will definitely take that into consideration when hiring people for the upcoming season.
Nevertheless, we do hope you will spend some more time in one of our facilities maybe another time in the future and send you our best regards.
Laguna Poreč
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ro-Ploiesti
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

This hotel is just what you want, clean, modern, it has nice staff and great, really great food!
The pool is perfect!
The beach is very small, and not very comfortable, but you can go in other places.
Conclusion: great!

Room Tip: 10 eu on the receptionist
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CorfuRo_Ploiesti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Laguna Molindrio Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear guests,
We thank you for your positive feedback about our Hotel Laguna Molindrio. Delighted to hear you have enjoyed our local food offer, effort we put in cleanliness and friendly staff.
We hope to see you again in Hotel Laguna Molindrio!
Best regards
Laguna Poreč
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porec hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Laguna Parentium
3.1 mi away
Hotel Laguna Materada
0.7 mi away
Hotel Laguna Mediteran
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Valamar Diamant Hotel
0.3 mi away
All Inclusive Hotel Laguna Albatros
0.5 mi away
Villa Laguna Galijot
Villa Laguna Galijot
#12 of 33 in Porec
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Molindrio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Molindrio Hotel

Property: Laguna Molindrio Hotel
Address: Zelena Laguna, Porec 52440, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Porec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Porec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Molindrio Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The completely renovated Hotel Laguna Molindrio is now distinguished by modern and exquisite interiors, while its tradition and hospitality remain unchanged! Apart from the new pools, beaches are also close at hand, as well as grass areas shaded by pines, and a sports centre. You will enjoy the attractive view of the lagoon and water skiers' stunts and you might even join in on the nearby ski lift. Spend a night partying at the nightclubs and enrich your holiday memories with unforgettable moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Laguna Molindrio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing