We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Plitvice Lakes National Park
from $121.50
More Info
from $101.80
More Info
from $104.10
More Info
from $92.60
More Info
Reviews (13,401)
Filter reviews
6,113 results
Traveler rating
4,885
880
225
75
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,885
880
225
75
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the bus national park beautiful place next morning boat ride avoid the crowds ticket office big waterfall every turn early in the morning natural beauty high season two days day pass long walk arrive early visiting croatia
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 6,113 reviews
Reviewed today

In late October 2018 we took a Viator Plitvice Lakes Private Tour. We took the private tour as this was shorter than a group tour. Our guide was terrific. We got on really well. He was a mine of interesting information. We stopped for coffee at a village along the way which amazing. The houses were built alongside a small river. Some houses at the top of the steep river banks had water running around and under part of the buildings and down into the river, amazing to see. At the Lakes there are toilets, and restaurant. On the day of our tour it was raining intermittently and cool. The Lakes even in overcast/raining conditions were superb, with the water so clear and a lovely blue. On a sunny day they would be spectacular.

The Lakes on their own are worth the trip, but the other country side and the information provided added to the value of the trip. Excellent value for money. We did not do the boat trip at the Lake owing to the wet and windy conditions. There are a number of walks of varying time/length. The path we went on lead down into the valley. We saw a whole range of people doing the walk with some quite elderly and still managing to do it. Their can apparently be quite a lot of visitors.

Thank Barrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed today

We visited as a group of friends, and I also visited with family at a young age. This place is definitely for those who love to walk, and enjoy nature. Plenty of forest, river, waterfalls, caves, and animals, ducks and fish. We visited in early summer, it is an enjoyable walk, the only problem are the crowds, especially on tight paths. The food selection is weak, so I'd recommend preparing ahead of time with snacks and drinks, possibly lunch.

Thank danielsimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago

On the weekend we visited, the weather was cloudy, rainy, and cold -- and it was still an amazing place.

Thank Roam825734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago

This place is amazing and it worth every minute you spend here. But there are some cons.
At first, you should be prepared that it will be crowdy and that you might need to wait in a queue for a boat.
Then you better plan your route: parking and directions in advance. The park is extremely big and it is really hard to cover the whole park during one visit. So not to waste your time, patience and money think of your route in advance.
Maps are completely useless as they have no information how long would it take you to go from point A to point B.
When we were going there, we were told that this is excellent place and that we would spend there 3-4 hours walking but in fact we have not seen even a half of this park during 3-4 hours and we were compeletely exhausted.
So be prepared.

Thank Андрей Р
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Simply, you cannot say you visited Croatia unless you visit this place. Every corner of this national park is breathtaking.

Thank MohammadAlHamad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We loved it here, in november,foggy only a handfull of other tourists incredibly well kept and an absolutely stunning walk though lakes and waterfalls... there are not many places like this

Thank Martyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlitviceLakesNP, Manager at Plitvice Lakes National Park, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your review. We are happy to know that you have recognized the beauty of National park Plitvice lakes and had a good time. Hope that you will visit us again and see the beauty of the park in other season :) Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

I gave the Plitvice Lakes a rating of 3 by taking a personal average of two things:
1) I would rate the national park itself quite high as it's absolutely gorgeous, but 2) i would rate the overall organisation of the national park itself as pretty low.

If you're like me, and did a whole lot of research about the national park in advance, please let me assure you that it's actually nothing as to what you may expect in terms of organisation. I read a lot of articles/blogs discussing various trails, and I even chose the 'trail' that I wanted to do in advance and printed a map of it. The 'trail names' itself for me where pretty pointless to be honest. The parks are not well signposted at all in my opinion, and one could either get lost, or could either walk around in a circle and not know where they're going even if you try your hardest to follow the signs. If it wasn't for my mobile maps, I honestly would've been very confused.

I very much recommend familiarising yourself with the overall map/layout of the park ONLINE before visiting the national park. This will give you an idea of your start point and end point, and what you'll do in between (e.g. follow the walking trails only, catch a bus, or catch a boat).

Everyone online seems always discuss 'entrance A and entrance B' where you buy your park tickets from. Oddly, we drove from Zagreb and put Plitvice into the GPS and completely missed the entrances, and yet were able to freely enter the park? I thought this was odd. We stood is a guesthouse not far from the big waterfall, and were surprised that the locals actually live in the park... The evening we arrived there we freely walked around and saw the waterfall without a ticket. The following morning the guesthouse host asked if we wanted him to buy the park tickets for us which we were so grateful for as he implied that being caught without a ticket could spell trouble. He bought us the tickets, but again, not one single person checked to see if we had tickets or not.... The only time you need tickets are for the boat across the lake, which you could avoid if you so wished.

The park has routes/paths that are very overcrowded and some where there's noone around in sight. As much as I dislike hoards of tourists, I would nevertheless suggest sticking close to them, as you could get confused where you're going.

There aren't many places around to eat, so either pack your own lunch/snacks or research online beforehand as to the exact location of the cafes/restaurant. We ate the Croatian restaurant and the meal was pretty decent.

Overall, the lakes are beyond beautiful. The water is so incredibly clear you can see all the fish in it. There are no animals (at least I didn't see any) except for ducks and fish. When we were there, there were people of all ages and sizes walking the trails, including elderly folk with walking sticks, and parents with prams. I would recommend that if you're not as fit or you have an injury (e.g. sore ankle, etc.) to NOT visit the national park. I'm quite fit, and I nearly broke my ankle a few times from boulders, tree roots and branches all over the place. Please, please, please, DO NOT take your infants with you, unless you stick to the open spaces (not within the tight areas). This is not only super inconvenient for everyone else trying to walk, but it's so unnecessary to put you and your child in that environment.

Long story short, the national park is definitely a unique experience when visiting Croatia, but you only need a day max to walk it.

1  Thank Michelle2567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlitviceLakesNP, Manager at Plitvice Lakes National Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

We thank you for your review.

From your description, we can see that you haven't used official entrances of the park (entrance 1, entrance 2 or auxiliary entrance Flora). Our seven sigthseeing programs are marked by letters but if you want to follow them and not get lost, you need to use official entrances: https://np-plitvicka-jezera.hr/en/plan-your-visit/activities/lake-tour-programmes/ . Also on our website you can find button: how to get there which explains you everything about state road which leads to our park entrances and bus lines: https://np-plitvicka-jezera.hr/en/plan-your-visit/how-to-get-here/

In addition for marked sighseeing programmes, we have mobile app which can also guide you through the park and gives advices for what to visit in area: https://np-plitvicka-jezera.hr/en/mobile-app-of-plitvice-lakes-national-park/ Our recommendation is to take 1 or 2 days for park visit and one more day for experiencing more of surrounding of the park (horse riding, caves, ranches, adrenaline parks,... you can check them on our mobile app :) )

We hope that you will come back and that you will enjoy next time even more :)

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This place was so crowded it ruined it for us, especially for the crazy high price. It was literally wall to wall with people, huge groups from tour buses who didn't seem to know how to move out of the way of people trying to get by them. And this lasted all day.

Go to this place in off season when the water is higher and the crowds are smaller.

Thank OlympiaWA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

I am glad I visited in October, because the crowds in the summer must be horrendous ! The scenery is breathtaking but there are very few places where you can stand and set up, say, a camera on a tripod. Boardwalks throughout the park are narrow, although when there are paths they are adequate. must be ddisabled if not impossibe. We walked through the park to a large lake where 'shuttle boats' then take you across the lake to finish the walk. Obviously there are huge lines waiting for the boats (although there are toilets and a restaurant at the 'docks'. its probably easier to just retrace your steps if you dont fancy queuing - but as stated before the boardwalks are narrow (no handrails) and could get a bit dicey ! However, notwithstanding, a fantastic experience - if you dont mind crowds. The park is open 365 days , so if you want to get 'arty' photos witha tripod choose a quiet time of the year. I went in October, the leaves just beginning to change colour, so stunning scenery.

Thank Trevor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It is a definite Yes for the To Do list in Croatia.
There are a lot of different trails for the people visiting to choose from depending on your liking and the stamina to walk.
We started from Entrance 1 and did the Trail C. It would take you about 4-5 hours to complete this trail. If you don't mind walking then you should definitely go for this route only! As the views on this route are simply stunning!
But if you dont wanna walk too much then go for Trail B as you can experience the park with most of the waterfalls and the boat ride as well.
And if you belong to the group who wants to just do it cause everyone does this national park when in Croatia or you are not able to walk for too long then just go for the Trail A, the shortest of all with minimalistic walking. It would ideally take you about 1-2 hours to complete this trail.

It is most definitely the best national park trails I've ever been to.
The views are simply stunning! You face any direction and you feel like clicking photos of that view.

1  Thank themuteguytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlitviceLakesNP, Manager at Plitvice Lakes National Park, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your review. Its very important to do some research before arrival (as you did), in that way you can manage to avoid the crowd, study the trails and decide which one is more suitable for you. Maybe even visit some more destinations near National park. We are happy that you had a great time and enjoyed in pure nature. You are always welcome! :) Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews