We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical place!”

Plitvice Lakes National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$146.83*
and up
Plitvice Lakes Private tour from Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: National park Plitvice Lakes is considered one of the most beautiful national parks in the world. Plitvice Lakes make wonderful blend of oak forests, meadows, rocks and lakes. You can explore them by walking along the lakes, by electric train or electric boat.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Magical place!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

we have been in Croatia in September 2012 and among other destinations, we visited this nature wonder. i haven't seen anything like this. I felt like in heaven... 16 beautiful lakes, emerald color, big waterfall and hundred of small, such fresh smell in the air.. Priceless! Just amazing!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,716 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,189
    1,157
    258
    74
    38
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“heaven on earth”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

i have been to some beautiful places in the world,but these lakes in the winter time,with clear blue skies,and the snow down ,to me looked likr heaven on earth.the scenary is breathtaking,and even though we spent over 4 hours there,it wasnt enough.to see partly frozen waterfalls,even the highest in croatia,and frozen lakes is absoloutely,well i cant describe it.it is so stunning.if you ever go to crotia,if you miss the lakes then you havnt seen the true crotia.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank markfretwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“World Heritage Listed - Worth a visit”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This park is generally mentioned by "word of mouth", rather than being very well known in Australia. When you visit Croatia it is well worth it to extend your visit to this magical place.
Within the park itself it is very well organised to make the most of certainly allow a day if you can.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jlo_joanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Go early”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Try and go early so you can beat the crowds. It is a lovely well maintained park with lots of waterfalls to enjoy as you walk along the boardwalks.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Yukonliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing nature”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Plitvice Lakes are a wonder of nature, a place where one can evade from daily life into a fairytale. The water of the lakes is of a blue colour you never knew existed and everything is so pristine and wild it amazes you. I liked very much how they managed to arrange the park in such a harmony with nature. At the entrance you pay a fee and you can choose your own itinerary. At the wharf we decided to walk and not take the boat and it was such a nice walk through the forest on the lakeside, I haven't seen so many butterflies in my life. We spent quite a few hours there, but never got tired of it. Near the park, there is parking. I am eagerly waiting to go back there.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Bogdanica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plitvice Lakes National Park also viewed

Plitvice Lakes National Park, Central Croatia
Plitvice Lakes National Park, Central Croatia
 
Plitvice Lakes National Park, Central Croatia
Nova Krslja, Plitvice Lakes National Park
 

Been to Plitvice Lakes National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing