We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”

Plitvice Lakes National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$94.97*
and up
Small-Group Plitvice Lakes Day Trip from Split
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: National park Plitvice Lakes is considered one of the most beautiful national parks in the world. Plitvice Lakes make wonderful blend of oak forests, meadows, rocks and lakes. You can explore them by walking along the lakes, by electric train or electric boat.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Otocac, Croatia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

You have to see!!!! National Park Plitvice Lakrs is one of the best natural par that I have eve see in my life!! Amazing!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank blondy736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,979 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,398
    1,195
    267
    78
    41
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman, MT
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Easy walk and beautiful views!!!”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We are here in november and the weather was great. We expected snow but what we got was 65-70 degrees. This was completely worth while I think they should call it Waterfalls Park this is the most water falls I have ever seen. Easy level walking, i brought boots, no need bring walking shoes. It is a definite must!!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank montanafirefighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, Minnesota
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Magnificent, well managed natural wonder”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Plitvice is a fabulous walk/ride to enjoy some of the most stunning scenery in Croatia (and Croatia offers many magnificent views). To ensure that crowds can get through efficiently, everything is well managed--you are not on your own, but who cares. Just wear really sensible shoes: we were there with a lot of ice/snow on the walks which no one seemed to care about clearing, so a walking stick would have been useful. But we were happy to be surrounded by such beauty, so that is a small complaint.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank NonnaBegonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Striking nature experience with a lot of walking”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is a must see national park in Croatia that has a unique collection of lakes, ponds, and waterfalls, big and small. Wonderfully clear richly colored water forms a dramatic backdrop to these sights. There is a well engineered series of walkways that allow easy movement about the wetlands. Touring the park involves a lot of walking that can be eased if you take the shuttle to the high point of the park and walk down to the low point.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nampa, Idaho
Level Contributor
153 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“A true World Heritage gem ... with some suggestions/tips”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Wow ... we just experienced Plitvice Lakes over two days -- one with misty rain and the next in brilliant sunlight -- and thoroughly enjoyed both experiences ... declaring it very much worth the drive to get there. Note: there are two entrances to the park, well-signposted, and we used entrance one on the first day, with the park's highest waterfalls, walkways along, around and sometimes over the falls of all sizes, then entrance two the second day, for a magnificent hike from the top of the watershed, down through the valley, following the water as it cascades over travertine limestone formations.
Our suggestions: 1. Take more than one day to fully appreciate the park. It is quite extensive, even within the central area of lakes/waterfalls, let alone the extensive system of hiking trails. This means you need to buy a two-day admission ticket, but it is very much worth the extra cost;
2. Use the ferries and shuttles, provided by the park as part of your admission, to get the most out of your visit. On day one, we enjoyed the big falls at the base near the entrance, then followed the well-marked trails up through the valley, finally taking the ferry across a large lake,to the central ferry transfer stop, then walked up to the tram station (#2) and took it back to station #1. There is a walk from #1 to the entrance but affords you great photo opps along the cliff tops. On day two, we entered entrance two, took the shuttle to station #4, then which takes you to the top of the valley, then walked down with the flowing water, eventually to the ferry, and up to our car at entrance two.
3. There is a charge to park at either entrance (by the hour), costing us 28 kuna each day.
4. We recommend this attraction at any time you can get there, but would suggest the off season time periods (March to early June and Sept. to late Oct.) if you can engineer that. Crowds were pretty large even in early October, so I bet high season would be quite crowded.
5. There are many places to eat inside the park, from snack bar style to full blown restaurant. Our favs were a grill near entrance one and the buffet restaurant at entrance two.
6. It is a wonderful site which everyone will totally enjoy, but it is a hike for even the fit. I would suggest good hiking shoes/boots, at the very least (good treads helps stabilize you on the walkways and wooden bridges), with the knowledge you have to get down and back up from the valley floor. The trams run at the rim level only.
Highly, totally recommended. Other than Dubrovnik, this was our top remembrance of our three trips to Croatia!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Irishwriter1916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plitvice Lakes National Park also viewed

Plitvice Lakes National Park, Central Croatia
Plitvice Lakes National Park, Central Croatia
 
Plitvice Lakes National Park, Central Croatia
Nova Krslja, Plitvice Lakes National Park
 

Been to Plitvice Lakes National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing