We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good, quick food”
Review of Poljana Restoran

Poljana Restoran
Cuisines: Croatian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Brisbane
Level Contributor
79 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“good, quick food”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We ate in the self-serve part of the restaurant for lucy during our walk around the lakes. The minus was, that none of the meal we wanted (which were stated on the menu) were available, so we had to choose something else. But the meal we get instead, was good and cheap.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbora G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    64
    58
    19
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Like a bad canteen from the 70's.”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Readers. Please do not eat here. Buy some nuts and some fruit and sit out in nature. Do not put your body through having to eat here.

It's a frozen-vegetables-boiled-to-death with soggy-oily-chips and a bit of lettuce affair.

If you have a car, drive FAR AWAY!!! (unfortunately we didn't and had to suffer through this meal...our bodies have only just forgiven us).

Really Mr Manager - you are in such a prime location! Come into the future! Serve amazing fresh food that matches the environment you're in!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Objective View of a Wordwide Traveller”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

1. We arrived arround 13:00 to have something to eat in the restaurant which was nearest to the entrance of Plitvice National Park. A guy at the entrance didn't let us come in... We asked for the restaurant and he said in a bad english: "there is no more restaurant here..." We were a bit surprised, with my friend, but for our second day in Croatia, we had already understood that some establishments were abandoned, somehow by their owners... Pretty strange... Anyway we had to go back and try to find another restaurant. We asked to some other person in an other parking about the Poljana restaurant and he indicated exactly where we came from. We went back to the same place, and asked for Poljana restaurant. The guy let us enter, finally.

When we arrived in the restaurant, on a sunny tuesday of june, it was literally empty, and a bit sad... We came in and tried to go to the restaurant part, which was really empty, around 13h30. At that moment some waitress who looked pissed off asked us what we were doing here. We asked for the restaurant, she looked at us and said, sorry only with 1 hour anticipated reservation. So we went to the self service.

The food was ok, overall, not incredible but not bad. However the service is so poor, that I would definitely recommend any traveler to croatia, to always prepare their meal before going to Plitvice National Park, or just head up for a Sandwich.

I took a Goulash with rice, it was ok but really to salty... My friend took some potatoes, chicken and salad... She didn't really like it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aabenraa, Denmark
Level Contributor
128 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Poljana is good food for less money!”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The self-service part is very good, and prices are low. Like 4 euros for a maincourse. The menu is big, so there will be something for everybody. The terrasse is nice, and has a good view.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrederikBertelsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
345 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We ate in the full service restaurant, and the food was very good. Some of the local dishes were excellent, and at a very reasonable price. This is the best place to eat at the second entrance to Plitvice National Park.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank BethanieKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poljana Restoran also viewed

Plitvica, Plitvice Lakes National Park
Rakovica, Plitvice Lakes National Park
 
Rakovica, Plitvice Lakes National Park
Plitvicka Jezera, Plitvice Lakes National Park
 
Rastovaca, Lika-Senj County
Plitvice Lakes National Park, Central Croatia
 

Been to Poljana Restoran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing