We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value within walking distance to the park”
Review of Guesthouse Sven

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guesthouse Sven
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent value within walking distance to the park”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Excellent location within walking distance of entrance 1 to Plitvice Lakes National Park.
Large, clean room with small but adequate bathroom. Small balcony with lovely view over front garden and a waterfall from the national park in the distance. Table and chairs in room to enable self-catering in shared kitchen. Tea and coffee provided. Also cut-crystal juice and wine glasses! Grocery stores a short drive away.
Our room was on the second floor and the wooden staircase had very shallow steps making it a bit awkward to carry suitcases up two flights of stairs, but it was nothing that a reasonably able-bodied person couldn't manage.
Guesthouse Sven is very good value for money and an excellent location for seeing the superb wonders of Plitvice Lakes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2travel244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
24
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Nice, clean room and near the entrance of the national park. Easy walk on a path there from the house. Our only issue was the quality of food in the area, do your research or cook meals for yourself in the kitchen provided for their guests.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Big_Sky_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, CA
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Super nice couple runs the place - Coffee and tea are available in the communal kitchen and everything you need to prepare your own meals as well (except the food of course!), there is a market within a few miles. The room was very clean and comfortable. It's an easy walk directly across the street to the park making this an excellent location for your visit to Plitvice. Enjoy!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the terrace of our room - you can view falls from there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hindsight_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Guesthouse Sven is just an 8 minute walk from the Plitvice Lakes entrance and bus stop. The owners are very friendly and the rooms are spotless. My only complaint is that the flimsy shower curtain kept wrapping itself around me as I showered. The bathroom floor kept getting wet from the shower as well. I think a thicker shower curtain would solve the problem, but whatever. Anyway, that's really the only issue I had the whole time I stayed there. If I ever return to Plitvice Lakes, I'll stay at Guesthouse Sven.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a room with a view. You get a nice view and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob_Lawblah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Although I envy those who's planning a trip to Plitvice Lakes...I have a a great advice for you - don't look for any other place, choose Sven guesthouse! Seriously!
Perfect location, only 5 min walk to the main park entrance and great place to stay! Clean rooms, not too small and too large. Small kitchen with fridge, coffee machine, kettle and cutlery. We had a room with private balcony and the view was fantastic. We could even see some waterfalls!
There was no AC and although it was hot outside the rooms were fine.

I have to say few words about Silvana - the owner (or manager)! She was so sweet and helpful. My friend had some allergy problems and we asked if there were any pharmacy stores around. We didn't have a car and it was dark, almost 11pm. Silvana called her friend and then drove in the middle of the night to get us a medicine. We were so thankful! She saved out vacation! :)

I would highly reccomend this place to anyone going to Plitvice Lakes!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rovshana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

The guesthouse Sven is very nice located near to the Entrance#1 of the Plitvice Lakes Park. There is a bus station a bit after the guesthouse, if you travel in direction from Zagreb to Split. The room was very clean, tidy and well organized, eventhough it was a small one. The owners were helpful and friendly. There were fresh towels and liquid soap. There was a common kitchen corner with all the necessary dishes, cutlery, microwave, refrigerator, kettle, etc. The environment was quiet and we were able to take rest on fresh village air, listening to the sheep's and goat's bells in the neighbourhood.
There are a food shop and souvenir shop near by the National Park Entrance#1 and also a restaurant, offering drinks, snacks, sandwiches and basic dishes.
It was a nice stay and we would definitely stay there again and would recommend that guesthouse.
----
IMPORTANT: If you are travelling by bus. When you reach the bus stop on Entrance#1, it is not recommended to take the main road backwards to the guesthouse, because it is very unsafe and dangerous. It is much better to pass the entrance and to take the forest trail on the right side (starting just behind a big information board for the National Park Plitvice Lakes. It will lead you directly to the main road, just across the road sign leading to the guesthouse.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SDBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Location! Guesthouse Sven is only 300 metres from the north entrance to the national park. Walk across the road out front and follow the walking path around to the entrance of the park. The bonus is that you can leave the car at the guesthouse and avoid parking fees. The rooms are well equipped and comfortable with small neat bathrooms. There is also a communal kitchen to use. The owners were very friendly and made recommendations to us where we could get something to eat in the area. The only thing I can fault it on was that there was no air conditioning and it was hot! 37 degrees. It made it hard to sleep. But for such a good price you can’t have everything and it is not that temperature all the time!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngeinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plitvice Lakes National Park hotels
4.7 mi away
Turist Grabovac
Turist Grabovac
#1 of 3 in Grabovac
307 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Jezero
Hotel Jezero
#4 of 9 in Plitvice Lakes National Park
846 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bellevue Hotel
Bellevue Hotel
#6 of 9 in Plitvice Lakes National Park
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Degenija
Hotel Degenija
#1 of 1 in Rakovica
561 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pansion Breza
Pansion Breza
#6 of 102 in Plitvice Lakes National Park
101 reviews
3.0 mi away
Villa Lika
Villa Lika
#2 of 102 in Plitvice Lakes National Park
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Sven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Sven

Property: Guesthouse Sven
Address: Rastovacha 8, Plitvice Lakes National Park 53230, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Plitvice Lakes National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Plitvice Lakes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Guesthouse Sven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing