We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lodge 20 min walk from park entrance 2”
Review of Javorina House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Javorina House
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This isn't the closest lodge to the park, and purely for this reason, I probably wouldn't stay here again. Other than the park, there is nothing to do in this area, even the closest restaurant was practically in the park, and was surrounded by other, closer lodges.

It is around a 20 minute walk at a good pace to get the the park entrance, add another 20 minutes to get from the entrance to the lake, and trust me after a day hiking around the lakes the last thing you want to do is drag yourself back to your room.

The area is full of identikit lodges, so I'm pretty sure the accommodation itself will be very similar wherever you stay. Our room was wall-to-wall wood, with a cute patchwork quilt on the bed. This was the only place in Croatia we stayed with no air con, and although it was a LOT cooler in the night than it was anywhere coastal, we still had a few restless nights because of the heat.

The two woman that ran the lodge were lovely and tried to help us wherever possible. They recommended the restaurant we went to (be warned, it is the only restaurant in the area so expect to queue for a table of you turn up later than 7pm), and provided breakfast each morning.

Breakfast consisted of continental meats, a couple slices of cheese, a boiled egg, a bread basket, teas and coffees and juice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenniferboden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 25 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

Javorina House, which turned out just to be indicated as "Jezerce 22", its address, is a very beautiful house close to Plitvicka Jezera National Park (standing a couple of minutes away by car).
We were coldly welcomed by the owner, but had the chance to sleep in the second floor, which means our room was basically designed "into the roof" itself, and had beautiful wood-made walls, which created a magnificent atmosphere. On the other side, the room was very small, and the bathroom proportionally even smaller. Breakfast was basic but sufficient, the good part of it being it seemed to stay in your grandmother's kitchen...
We strongly recommend this place, due to the room size, only if a one-day visit to the lakes is planned, as it was for us, otherwise probably other structures need to be looked for in the sorroundings.
A final note is deserved, the price being probably slight higher than the one of similar b&b in the Plitvice Lakes area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bomber86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This place was great to stay at if you plan on hiking at plitvice national park. It's only 2 km from the second entrance to the park, breakfast is served every morning and is included in the price. There is cable tv and free wifi. Breakfast is bread slices with butter and fruit jams, instant coffee or tea, and a small plate of cheese slices and sliced meat. The rooms and bathrooms were small, but nice and clean. Parking was free in front of the house. The two old ladies were really kind and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

This charming house is located about 4km (2.5 miles) from the entrance of Plitvice Lakes National Park.

The young lady who takes care of booking and cleaning the rooms is very friendly. We stayed for three nights and walked to the entrance of Plitvice Lakes (it took around 45 minutes, and there is no sidewalk, only a narrow shoulder on the road). I would recommend having a car or taking a taxi if you're not fond of walking (it didn't bother us because we are very accustomed to walking) because of the lack of sidewalks.

Our room was very clean, the bed was firm (but comfortable), and the surroundings are quiet. There is a yard with a hammock, swing, picnic table, and table and chairs.

Breakfast is hard boiled eggs, toast, jam, butter, coffee, juice, meat/cheese plate.

Room Tip: Our room was in the back on the 2nd floor (the 1st floor is the common area). We did not hear any no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joy4wonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank fracianfry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Hart-aber-Fair66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Hasel4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plitvice Lakes National Park hotels
7.4 mi away
Turist Grabovac
Turist Grabovac
#1 of 3 in Grabovac
342 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Degenija
Hotel Degenija
#1 of 1 in Rakovica
607 reviews
5.7 mi away
Guesthouse Hodak
Guesthouse Hodak
#1 of 1 in Seliste
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Rene House
Rene House
#7 of 16 in Grabovac
24 reviews
2.7 mi away
Etno Garden Exclusive Rooms
0.9 mi away
House Ana
House Ana
#4 of 9 in Plitvica
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Javorina House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Javorina House

Address: Jezerce 22, Plitvice Lakes National Park 53230, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Plitvice Lakes National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Plitvice Lakes National Park
Price Range: $51 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Javorina House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing