We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect secluded location for Plitvice lakes visit”
Review of San Korana

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plitvice Lakes National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
San Korana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2012

San Korana is well situatued for a visit of the lakes. The host is friendly and has good advice on what trip to follow in the park. The house is situated next yo a small river which on hot days is very refreshing (and very clean water) for a swim. The rooms are adequate and spacious enough, a little basic but more then adequate. Very friendly reception. We stayed 2 nights. Henk & Petra

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Henk001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 132 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2012

Our host, Iveca Luketic, was a really nice & knowledgeable man. He gave us clear instructions by cell phone on how to find his private accommodation, one of several houses in a pretty hamlet by a stream & waterfall just outside the National Park. His welcome was warm & very informative as he used to work for the National Park. We learnt the best ways to approach the area where the lakes & waterfalls were so as to get the maximum scenic impact. We occupied 2 comfortable bedrooms with en suites on the top floor of the 3 storied house & cooked & ate in the kitchen & dining room on the floor below. The kitchen was well equipped. We prepared all our own meals & it was very convenient to have a small supermarket a couple of kliometres away on the main road. Our bedrooms were warm, comfortable & quiet. Ivica has a number of pets including a miniature pony and a large, very well behaved dog. Thanks Ivica for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed in the Lakes for 2 nights and were so pleased with our choice to stay at Sobe San Korana.

Ivica is a real character and makes you fell extremely welcome. He was able to give us some great pointers on which routes to follow in the park and where you can get the best views in the area. He is a true inspiration and is it is fascinating to here him talk if his family, Croatia and the Parks. We only had a couple of days in the park and for us his advice was extremely
helpful!

The location is idyllic and very peaceful and whilst many of the B&B that we saw were on the main road, here you can easily forget the rest of the world exists. The Lakes themselves were only a short drive away but a car is essential. The B&B is in a small village where many if the neighbouring properites are also open as B&B and you are free to wander along the river through the meadows where there were many little waterfalls to see on along the river.

The accomodation is basic but clean and a bargain for the rate he charges. We opted for breakfast which was an additional five euros well spent. I am vegetarian and Ivica made me delicious cooked omelettes on both mornings. We had choices of cereal, toasts, cooked breakfasts and nothing Was to much trouble.

We would strongly recommend you Sobe Sane Korana.

Tanya - UK

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TanTanTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

i stayed two nights here with two other ladies and a baby. We just loved this family and the hospitality. They were very knowledgeable about the park and had good pointers on what route to take and what to see. The place was a little difficult to find but we felt that was part of the adventure and charm. It felt like staying with family(in a good way)! Very welcoming, putter in and out of common kitchen and sitting area when you want. coordinate meals at a good time for everyone. come and go as you please. sitting on the porch chit chatting. We really enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and beautiful surroundings. They have quite a few pets (they stay outside) but if you have allergies thats something to be aware of.
I know that Ivica had asked the other guests to give us some privacy during our meals in the common area since we had payed for breakfast and dinner, we still had some other guests pop in asking if they could use the kitchen. We certainly didn't mind its nice to get to know the other guests, but if you are looking for complete privacy and exclusive use of the common area and kitchen be aware that its probably pretty hard for the hosts to enforce this.
Overall a great place to stay, relax and soak in the surroundings.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank over_under13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Ivica Luketic invites you into his home that is in one of the most beautiful locations I've seen. We were there in May with friends with which we frequently travel. The water was running very fast when we were there and all the falls were beautiful including the ones on Ivica's property. He is such a welcoming person and, as he did for another reviewer, he had a tarp out for us to park on. It was such a thoughtful thing to do and very welcome as it had just been raining and it really helped us keep the mud down. Ivica is such an interesting person and I wish I had gotten more time to talk with him. His animals are all friendly and adorable, pony, dog, and puppies. The rooms are small, but well appointed and the beds are very comfortable. He also prepares a delicious omelette for breakfast. Because Ivica worked at Plitvice Lakes National Park, he has a wealth of information to help you have a great visit. We stayed there 2 nights and my husband, who is the gardener in the family, was out helping Ivica plant fruit trees one day when we had returned from the Park. Such a beautiful area to stay in and the price is very reasonable.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sac2Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

San Korana is a three story house. We stayed in the second floor(I mean first floor in European custom) with two single beds attached. My daughter stayed in a single room on the same floor. The house served breakfast with reasonable price. Here are the summary of our stay.

Positives. Location. It is only 5 min. drive to the Plitvice park. Breakfast is nice. Lukic is doing good job for preparing omlet and toast. We liked it. The price. It is the best cost-effective I guess. Great view around the house. You can see waterfalls around the house and the town.
It can be noisy but, I was glad to see lots of water and the blastering sound of the waterfall
at the house. It is only for a few days. We loved the noise. But I heard that there is no waterfall in summer. So, we were lucky to visit during May.

Negative. No Wi-Fi. But, Who cares Internet in Plitvice ? Small rooms. But, who cares about the small rooms near Plitvice ? Weak electricity capacity during night time. We used electric heaters at night and there were a few power cut off. So, I reduced the heater power and turn on the power switch. This happened every night. But, no big trouble. I could manage it. But, someone should watch if the heater is working at night.

Overall, this is a nice and cheap lovely place with great view and sound. Cannot beat the price and location. I strongly recommend this place for some old couple who wants something local flavor. The owner Lukic is lovely person.

Here is how to find his house from the main road coming from Zagreb.

"when you start from Zagreb, just follow: Karlovac, Slunj, Rakovica, Grabovac. In addition you will see many billboards for the National Park Plitvice lakes, wrapped it runs along the main road in the direction of National Park Plitvice Lakes.
After Grabovac, you will see, CAMPING KORANA, but you're still driving the main road a few hundred meters away, and when you see a restaurant DEGENIJA, go another 800 meters and turn right off the main road in the direction, JOSIPDOL, PLAŠKI, SABORSKO. On the main road stands Selo KORANA also. Just follow the label when the Selo Korana and went down into the canyon to the river, runs along the upstream about 300 meters. When you see the waterfalls, you'll see my house over the falls too. SANKORANA 15.


GPS coordinates of my place: 44.924034, 15.615306."

That is very accurate description from Lukic.

"

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TotoroNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

I visited on my birthday and we stayed 2 nights there . It was just as other people suggested - rustic, quiet and a true treasure. We arrived by car and it was snowing and raining on April 8th. The owner, Ivica, had prepared for us to arrive and put a tarp down on our parking area, which he wanted us to park on to protect from mud on the tires. I have never seen this kind of thoughtfulness as a host. His wife baked us a birthday cake and his family was visiting him on Easter holiday. He is a lovely and caring person which displays by showing care for his lovely pets, including the most friendly dog, a cat, a couple of puppies, and a miniature pony. This was the highlight of Croatia trip-Plitvice National Park. It took us 4 minutes to drive from San Korana to Plitvice. We had all day to explore the park. As Ivica suggested we took C course and I was amazed with this natural beauty.We explored villages, the river, and the waterfall was flowing strong. We have seen many old water mills in several villages and Wallnut tree flowers were blooming everywhere. We stayed in a double room for a bargain price with breakfast included. A kitchen was available with a mini refrigrater, a clean shower room and hot water was available all day. We listened to birds chirping and the sound of the water was a true meditation experience. My daughter stayed in a double bedroom with a shower, a microwave and a hot pot. Both rooms were warm and the bed was comfortable. A nearby restaurant was less than a 5 minute drive and the food was excellent. I strongly recommend this to a couple or family.

ChristmasCactus

Room Tip: The front side was sunnier and sound of the river was more audible. The back side was quieter. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristmasCactus313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plitvice Lakes National Park hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Degenija
Hotel Degenija
#1 of 1 in Rakovica
611 reviews
3.6 mi away
Villa Mukinja
Villa Mukinja
#5 of 9 in Plitvice Lakes National Park
137 reviews
3.9 mi away
Villa Jezerka
Villa Jezerka
#2 of 9 in Plitvica
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Plitvice Villa Verde
Plitvice Villa Verde
#2 of 108 in Plitvice Lakes National Park
158 reviews
3.7 mi away
Turist Grabovac
Turist Grabovac
#1 of 3 in Grabovac
343 reviews
2 mi away
Etno Garden Exclusive Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Korana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Korana

Address: Korana 15, Plitvice Lakes National Park 53230, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Plitvice Lakes National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Plitvice Lakes National Park
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to enjoy fresh and clean air of Plitvice Lakes, and experience the charm, peace and serenity of Korana Etno Village. Visit us and see the magical harmony of colors of nature, as well as playfulness of river and waterfalls that flow right beside our house, and whose little drops create spectacular sounds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sobe San Korana Hotel Plitvice Lakes National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing